We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Downing Arms

The Downing Arms
Mold Rd, Bodfari | Denbigh, Bodfari LL16 4DW, Wales
1745-710265
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bodfari
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A good country pub Bass ale and solid food we both enjoyed thanks . A bit tired in places but a good local

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    6
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Welcoming; good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We received very courteous, thoughtful and efficient service. A table was waiting for us with the candle lit. There was a good choice of food on the blackboards and helpful recommendations. The portions were generous (huge in the case of the 'cod and it'), the food tasty, the prices reasonable and the atmosphere friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The most wonderful, kind owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

In May 2013 I was travelling the Offa's Dyke Path with 2 other girls and the man who owns this lovely place let us stay in the garden. On behalf of my fellow travelers we would like to once again say thank you for your wonderful hospitality. Wales is not only a beautiful country, but it is also filled with the kindest people.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional pub disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked table and received a good welcome on arrival. Old fashioned pub with plenty of character. Good varied and extensive menu, reasonable prices. Starter of cheesy garlic bread which was lovely only problem was that only half way through eating it the waitress arrived at table with our main course. It was only when I explained that we hadn't finished our starter did the waitress take our main courses away. This took the edge of the evening and we didn't really enjoy the main course when it was returned to our table later. I did explain the position on paying and did receive an apology.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub with resturant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We was visiting wales over the Bank holiday weekend at the quaint little pub was holding a fund raising event "HOG ROAST" The pub itself was very busy with what seemed regulars all seemed to know each other and very friendly.
Small little park area to keep children entertained, beautiful fast flowing stream running down the back of the pub. They had accomadated all with table and chairs all out the back. There was entertainment on that evening from 6pm artist called John Sellers ....Good artist even better after the 9pm water shed haha !!
All Staff were all lovely and friendly and helpful even though they were rushed off there feet. I had the chance to speak to the landlord and ask if he would mind me selling a few football cards for my son who is 12yrs old and a 1st Dan in karate he was raising funds for new equipment for the club, The lardlord happily obliged and the artist announced it... Wow what a great response !
I would like to take this oppertunity on this site to say a massive thank you to all the staff and regulars who helped. Lovely pub

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Downing Arms also viewed

Llandyrnog, Denbighshire
 
Mold, Flintshire
Hendrerwydd, Denbighshire
 

Been to The Downing Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downing Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.