We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou so much for a great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glan Clwyd Isa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodfari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glan Clwyd Isa
Save
You added Glan Clwyd Isa to your Saves list
Aberchwiler, Bodfari LL16 4BT , Wales   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Perfect Venue Offa's Dyke
Ranked #1 of 4 Bodfari B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thankyou so much for a great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed in the coach house for a week upon arrival we were shown to the cottage and shown how to use the fasilerties and asked if we would like any more logs for the fire which in this day and age is so rare to find people so caring the cottage was fantastic realy cosy and romantic and the seanery around the cottage were amazing and the wildlife supurb and i want to say a special thankyou to hughie for letting me fish his lake i enjoyed catching lots of trout and i carnt wait till next year to visit you both again thanks for a great holiday

callum and millie

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
46
12
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Bodfari comes at the end of the first days walk, and we were made very welcome by Hughie and Linda. Homemade scones on arrival, wonderful room and a delicious hot bath. We enjoyed this lovely old house with its set of resident ghost stories and were made to feel at home in this beautiful setting with its view of the Clywdian Hills- which are the next days walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at Llyn Clywd ready for a well needed family holiday with our twin boys, we were also joined by our in laws and were wowed immediately by the stunning location & scenery! We received a very warm & friendly welcome from Linda who showed us to and around our cottage and we fell in love with the place immediately.

The cottage is modern & clean but still retains a rustic feel to it, each room is very spacious & housed the 6 of us comfortably.

We visit the local supermarket in Denbigh which is only a 10 minute drive away & stocked up well for the week making sure we got plenty BBQ food just in case we got chance to use the built in BBQ that Llyn Clywd homes in its patio area, thankfully we got chance to use it a couple times during the week!

The location of Llyn Clywd was great also as we were less than 15 miles to the nearest beach which made it easy to make a quick visit at the drop of a hat.

The Grounds in which the cottages are set are absolutely stunning!! And also very peaceful. We even did a spot of fishing in the on site fishing pool & had a lovely walk down the fields through the cows & horses to the river.

We were treated to a glorious sunny day while we were there & took the opportunity to use the swimming pool which is surrounded by tall bushes making it private, while relaxing on the sun bed's you would've thought you were abroad.

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our time here & have already booked up for 2 weeks next year and can't wait to return!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Coach House, and it was my first night walking the Path from north to south. The welcome we recieved from Linda and Hugh was fantastic and we sat down with fellow walkers from New Zealand, to tea and scones within miutes of our arrival. The room we had was comfortable, but not en-suite, but the bathroom was just across from our room and was very clean and useable. The food was superb, we had the honour of having Hugh and Linda's son cook the evening meal, which was as good as it comes. Lovely setting, lovely people, what more can you ask . Just get Hugh talking Rugby!!!

Room Tip: Our room had a huge double bed, really comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
consettgashead
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Like many other reviewers we were walking Offa's Dyke, and very much appreciated the lift from the path when we arrived and back to it as we left, also the lift to and from the pub for our evening meal. We also loved the tea and scones when we arrived in the really welcoming farmhouse kitchen.

Our room was very spacious, and the bathroom (of which we had exclusive use) across the corridor. It is, of course, a matter of personal taste, but we did miss having a TV and our own tea and coffee making facilities, though were were provided with glasses and a large bottle of mineral water.

Breakfast was excellent, and the conversation very pleasant as we sat round the table with other guests, also walkers, and were regaled with stories of the bulls Hugh had had dealings with, as well as some useul education about those to to avoid (dairy bulls) and the ones not to worry about (beef cattle).

The setting is lovely and this is a very pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The cottage is delightful and the owners have invested in quality furniture and fittings which means comfortable evenings on the sofas and a very big bed which is the only one that my partner and I have ever agreed was comfortable. How it managed to be soft for me and firm for him I don't know!
The setting is secluded and accessed via long drive with a few potholes but you soon forget about those when you corner the last bend and see the beautiful Welsh farmhouse and cottage with expansive open grounds and spectacular views as a backdrop. We walked to the river some days (which you would need wellies for in the Winter) and had great fun In the swimming pool on the sunnier days.
We took Ruby, our Labradoodle, who loved every minute including the walk in Chester park which has the same name as Chester's premier hotel, the Grosvenor. try the award winning brasserie after browsing in the Tudor Rows. Both park and hotel are five-star. We recommend local Ruthin for shopping and lunch and Denbigh for history buffs. What more can you ask for a week's escape to Wales. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed in Llyn Clwyd in July for a long weekend, we arrived feeling stressed due to our work load and left 4 nights later revitalised and rested!
The cottage we stayed in 'Llyn Clwd' was modern yet rustic, with white walls and the original beautiful wood beams on show. the setting was idylic with a view over the mountains and the private lake.
we enjoyed fire pits and BBQ's, there is plenty to do and see locally and more importantly the peace and quiet was just what we needed!
We are already planning another stay there soon!

Room Tip: Llyn Clwyd, one of the self catering accomodations has views overlooking the mountains and the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glan Clwyd Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glan Clwyd Isa

Address: Aberchwiler, Bodfari LL16 4BT , Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Bodfari
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bodfari
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glan Clwyd Isa offers stunning accommodation which is set on a small farm In Denbighshire, in an area of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glan Clwyd Isa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.