We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly privately owned hotel, perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate to your Saves list
Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate
8, boulevard de la Corne d'Or | Moyenne Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly privately owned hotel, perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have recently returned from our 6th stay in this lovely hotel. We return each time because we know the area very well and this hotel is ideal for us in every way. Firstly there is ample parking directly outside the hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The bedrooms are comfortable, all with sea views. The beds are large and comfortable and the showers are hot and powerful.
Breakfasts are a delight, taken on the terrace in the sunshine or in the dining area with open views to the sea.
Evening cocktails are enjoyed watching the sun set over the med.
The hosts Eric and Laurence and their staff are charming courteous and helpful.
We couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when we are visiting the South of France.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririlolo, Gérant at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Bonjour,

Thank you very much for your kind message. Each time we try to make our best for you. it's a real pleasure for us if our guests enjoy their stay.
See you another time with pleasure.

Best regards,
Eric DEWILDER
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
54
93
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to La Fiancée du Pirate at the end of December 2013. The weather wasn’t so good but Laurence and Eric the owners were so helpful that we had a great stay.
They arranged for us different tours in the area. In the afternoon we had tea in the comfortable lounge. Our room was perfect, yellow tones, king size bed, amazing view when the sun appeared…
I Highly recommend this hotel.
Mark H

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed at the Pirate in September 2013. I had a terrible room and since the hotel was full, couldn't be moved. The management was very hostile - the wife of the owner should not be in hospitality. I'd booked for 4 nights, and on the first day gave notice of my preference to stay just 2 nights and ensured that (having given 2 days notice) I could depart after 2 days without penalty. When I came to check out, I was charged for 4 days - the extra 2 days being a penalty. When I asked the manager for an explanation, he physically assaulted me, ripping my jacket and breaking my glasses. Very 'Fawlty Towers' but far from amusing. AMEX refunded the extra cost and all was well financially, but it was a harrowing experience. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur Mc KAY,
Vous êtes une personne qu'aucun hôtelier ne voudrait avoir dans son hôtel!!!
Suite à votre réclamation, j'ai envoyé votre dossier à American Express et à mon avocat qui nous ont donné tous les deux raisons car j'avais toutes les preuves de votre mauvaise foi et du fait que vous êtes parti sans payer. La police que j'ai contactée vous a recherché dans le village sans vous retrouver...Il m'ont envoyé une "main courante" qui témoigne de votre mauvais vouloir et j'ai prévenu le syndicat des hôteliers qu'un certain monsieur MAC KAY critiquait négativement l'hôtel pour partir sans payer afin que tous les hôtels le sachent.
Vous aviez l'une des plus belle chambre de l'hôtel au niveau supérieur avec deux fenêtres, une superbe vue sur la baie de Villefranche sur mer et le Cap Ferrat.
Mais quand on ne veut pas payer on essaie de trouver de mauvaises excuses.
Nous avons 92% de clients satisfaits et même si nous pouvons commettre des erreurs, les clients pourront voir que vos critiques par rapport aux autres critiques sont injustifiées.
D'ailleurs comme vous l'écrivez, nous étions complets à cette période en septembre...
Eric DEWILDER
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stopped at this place because we were getting tired, it was getting late and we needed to find a place where to stay. We were driving towards Nice coming from Montecarlo and we saw this hotel by the road and decided to check it out. I'm really glad we stopped. We are sad that we got there a little bit late and left before breakfast, so we were not able to enjoy the pool at the hotel, but we did have a nice glass of wine when we came back from dinner before we went to sleep.

The service was great. They were very helpful and they recommended a great restaurant for dinner. A seafood place that I just can't remember the name and can't really see it in google map but what I can see is the restaurant beside it, which is called Brasserie du Col. This seafood place was excellent, don't miss it.

Our room had a great view of Cap Ferrat and was very quiet at night. We didn't stay for breakfast so I can't comment on that, as we were leaving early to go to Eze, but everything else was excellent.

I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Merci pour votre avis,nous avons fait le maximum pour vous satisfaire même si vous n'êtes pas restés très longtemps...peut-être une autre fois avec plaisir.
Très cordialement,
Eric DEWILDER
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the little bungalow down by the pool. It was a private cabin of our own! Very clean and spacious. Unfortunately it was too cold to swim but the pool looked great. Only disappointment was that the wifi did not reach down to our room. No view from that room but we did not care about that because views abound everywhere in the area and we did not need one from our hotel room. We did not pay the extra for breakfast but there is a bakery down the road. Also a nice restaurant easy to walk to. We did not find Villefranche sur Mer very easy to explore from the hotel but we used it as a stopping point for Nice and Monaco and Eze. Perfect location for driving destinations in the area. Free parking on the street right in front of hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calimesa, California, USA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a great stay at La Fiancee du Pirate in October; stayed 4 days, enjoyed every minute. Located on the Moyenne Corniche just east of Nice, it is up the hill from the ocean at Villefranche-Sur-Mer. While not on the ocean, the views from the dining area, of the coast and Saint- Jean- Cap- Ferrat, are unbelievable. Only minutes from the old town in Nice, it is also only 8 km to the magical village of Eze, with fabulous Monte Carlo just beyond, as well as the beautiful harbor and village of Villefranche.

The rooms, while not the biggest, certainly are not the smallest; beds were comfortable, rooms spotless and quiet, bathroom good with tub, shower and lots of hot water. Lounge chairs just outside room gives one a good view down to ocean, great place to relax, catch up on email; good wifi service.

Morning breakfast was great; good breads, croissants, muesli, cereals, fruit, juices. Eggs to order as well as fresh-made crepes/ pancakes by the owner, Mr. Dewilder; excellent coffee to drink while soaking up the view.
Mr. and Mrs. DeWilder were wonderful hosts, willing to provide information about the area and things to do.

If you are not familiar with the area, finding the hotel (in fact, any hotel in the Cote d'Azur) can be interesting; but having a European GPS (TomTom works well) is a must and worked like a charm, just be sure to put in the street address, as not all GPS units will have the hotel listed in its places of interest/ hotel list. Also, unlike other hotels I have visited in the region, La Fiancee has free parking available, a definite plus. Having stayed at another hotel in Nice, I had to pay $25 + € nightly for parking; made the "reasonable" hotel price much more expensive. Driving the roads on the Corniche was wickedly fun and exciting, can't wait to do it again.

Any smart traveler would be wise, not just for this hotel, but any hotel, to research google maps and its street view to find hotel and surrounding locale. Doing this can save a lot of time and frustration, and you won't be surprised.

Thank you for a great vacation to Nice, Mr. and Mrs. DeWilder; we hope to see you again on our next trip!

The Hochs

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were just looking for one night and found this lovely hotel on our way.
We wanted to “sleep only” but behind the street level we found a very nice spot.
Comfortable and large sea view room with king size bed. Good and full buffet breakfast (try the scrambled eggs & the pancakes), outside on the terrace with tables overlooking the bay and Cap Ferrat.
Staff is so helpful and give a nice atmosphere like “home away from home”.
Instead of 1 night we stayed 5… Need I say more…

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ririlolo, Propriétaire at Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Bonjour,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We always try to do our best and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Eric DEWILDER
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate

Address: 8, boulevard de la Corne d'Or | Moyenne Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Villefranche sur Mer, Côte d'Azur Nice sea view and pool between Nice and Monaco We have double rooms, twin beds rooms, triple rooms, quadruple rooms and two nice bungalows, WIFI gratuit dans tout l'hôtelFree WIFI access at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fiancee Du Pirate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fiancee du Pirate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.