We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Villefranche sur Mer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Regence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Regence to your Saves list
La Regence
2 Avenue Marechal Foch, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cotswolds, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Villefranche sur Mer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I booked for a party of 10 to stay in La Regence in early June for 6 nights. We found it very welcoming, well situated and reasonably priced for that part of France. It is situated on a quite busy road - the double glazed windows minimises the traffic noise - and it is only a short walk to the beach, harbour and restaurants. The Nice-Monte Carlo bus runs by the door and it is a 15 minute walk to the railway station. Our room was comfortable with a multi-speed ceiling fan to keep it cool. Our bathroom was fine, although some of our companions mentioned they had small bathrooms. No TV or tea-making facilities but you can get beverages from the bar downstairs at any time. I would stay there again if I revisited the area.

Room Tip: Room 1 is situated on the side of the hotel and avoids most of the noise from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
59
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I have been using La Regence for the past twelve years and always received a warm welcome. The Hotel is easy to find and well situated for all local ammenities including bus and coastal railway. I would highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

I visited La Regence in October. I had to stay in Villefranche only for 1 night so I decided for the cheaper solution. People are warm and welcoming. The place is very easy to find, close to the center of the town and to the bus stop for going to Nice. The building and the rooms are nice, comfortable and quite. It was a very very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Betty and Thierry are welcoming and friendly, and the hotel's Chez Betty bar is an institution. The center of local social life in Villefranche, it attracts a lively and sometimes eccentric crowd of friendly residents. The rooms are tidy and clean and a good budget value in an area with steep prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the end of September 2011. The host Thierry is fantastic, as is the beautiful Betty. Room was clean and staff were friendly and welcoming. No airconditioner but there was a ceiling fan which was more than enough. Had a good look around all of the accommodation options and this was by far the best option for me.

Melanie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

A lovely cafe hotel where we received a warm welcome, and enjoyed the ambiance of the cafe. Betty and Thierry were good hosts. The cafe was always enjoyable for an expresso the bar was at affordable prices.
The rooms were clean and good value. The location is great, just a short walk to the restaurant area. The railway station is an short walk.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Excellent small hotel in a good location. It is a family-run botel and it is very good value for this area close to Nice and Monaco. We have stayed here many times and never have been disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Regence

Address: 2 Avenue Marechal Foch, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 15 min of the international airport Nice Côte d’Azur, La Regence - Chez Betty is a 10 rooms' charming family hotel, ideally situated in the heart of the provençal city Villefranche-sur-Mer. As a small tourist village, located between Nice and Monaco, Villefranche-sur-Mer is especially famous for its natural bay, know as one of the most beautiful around the world … Departure point for any trips on the French Riviera, you will be able to visit the surroundings areas.The hotel La Regence – Chez Betty benefits from 40 years of know-how and friendship in order to make your stay an unforgettable moment. The rooms were renovated at the beginning of January 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Regence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.