We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple room with amazing views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La FLore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La FLore to your Saves list
Hotel La FLore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 boulevard Princesse Grace de Monaco, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Everett, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simple room with amazing views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked a room with a view and balcony, and would highly recommend spending a few dollars more for this. We enjoyed waking up every morning to the amazing scenery with the water and sailboats.

The rooms are basically furnished but very clean and modern. The big windows and natural lighting was all we needed for decoration.

We would not recommend the breakfast. It was high cost for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    40
    6
    5
See reviews for
31
46
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The hotel is on a main road but the rooms at the back are reasonably quiet and we had a great view over the bay, from the balcony. The room was basic and a bit old-fashioned but the view made the relatively high price worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights at the end of April. We got bus 98 from airport into Nice, then bus 100 to Villefranche. We stayed in room 43, with a balcony, and a spectacular view over the harbour. The room was clean and tidy, but rather basic, with a fridge and safe, but NO tea and coffee making equipment. Beds were comfortable,and clean, and we got fresh towels every day for the compact, but adequate bathroom. Staff were helpful and friendly, willing to give advice on how to get to places, even printing pages from the internet for us. Hotel is on a bus route, which we used to go to Monaco/Monte Carlo and the village of Eze bus 83 from Eze Gare. The train station is quite a good walk away, and up a very steep hill when coming back to the hotel.

The thing that concerned us was the fact that the room was on 2 levels, with a double bed downstairs, and a single and double upstairs. This was accessed by an open staircase, which was a bit rickety, and unsuitable for children. Also the upstairs room had a very sloping ceiling, which made it difficult to stand up, we are not very tall, but even so could not stand up straight.

The breakfast was 12 euros per day each, and was very good, but beware, as on leaving we had to pay a tax of 0.8.euros each per day. This may be standard in France.

I would return there, as overall it was a beautiful place, and the view was lovely [even though it rained].

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I booked a room for the night at this small hotel close to the a well known language school that I was going to attend for one month. While I live in Southeast France, I was flying back to France from the UK the night before the course began. Rather than make the trip all the way home to Menton and have to make the one hour trip back early the next morning I chose to go from the Nice airport straight to VilleFranche and spend the night at Hotel La Flore. It isn't fancy but it appeared clean and OK for one night. It was late when I got ready to go to bed. Imagine my surprise when I pulled back the blanket and top sheet to find a very large area in the center of the bottom sheet covered with bug waste and casings. I dressed and went down to the desk and was told that "it was impossible". I insisted that the clerk come up and see. If I had been traveling with my car i would have left immediately but I wasn't and by now neither trains or busses were running. I demanded another room. The clerk did come up and check and told me that what I was seeing not from bugs but rather sand. I told him that it was not sand and that it was bugs however if it had been sand it should not be between the bedsheets. He gave me another room down the hall. I was fearful that it would be there same however the bed was clean. The next morning the day clerk insisted that what I saw was not bigs but sand. Needless to say I will not be recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
624 reviews 624 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We picked this hotel due to the fact it had guest parking and this also resulted in a good location with amazing views over the hotel. The hotel itself is a bit worn out and in a dire need of reconstruction, however the rooms were comfortable and the service was really great, especially the breakfast was hosted by a very lovely and welcoming lady. The hotel has a pool which was a plus and the bottom floor had a lovely terrace where we spent our evenings. The seaside is a bit further down the road, about 15 minute walk, but we took it as an opportunity for lovely walks in Villefranche-Sur-Mer. The town itself is a great pick if you want to spend your holiday on the Azure Coat, and this hotel is a good moderate choice.

Room Tip: ask for rooms on the ground floor if you wish to have a large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Very good hotel with great views. The room was quite spacious with plenty of wardrobe space. It was just a short walk to the centre of town and also the port. Free parking was a great bonus. You can get the bus to Monaco or Nice on the road almost outside the hotel. The one negative was that having stayed in about 10 hotels during a road trip in November, this was the only hotel that charged for WiFi. They had a computer in the bar with free Internet access but it was a bit awkward to use as it was on a very low table.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The terrace off the room offered a beautiful view of the bay. The room was large and had a loft which easily accommodated our family(2 adults and 2 older children.). The bathroom was a little small and the front desk wasn't that friendly. Although that might have been a language gap.). All in all we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La FLore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La FLore

Address: 5 boulevard Princesse Grace de Monaco, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La FLore 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from the beginning of the 20th century, this charming 3-star hotel with sea view has been completely refurbished. It provides modern accommodation while retaining its original Provencal style.Hôtel La Flore features smart and functional rooms decorated in a Provencal style. Most of these lovely rooms offer a spectacular view over the Mediterranean Sea and some have a balcony.Overlooking the stunning Villefranche harbour, Hôtel La Flore enjoys a quiet south-facing location between Nice and Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La FLore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La FLore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.