We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
2 Avenue Albert-1er, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna Region, Austria
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I only spent a couple of nights here but this hotel is really horrible, dirty and run down. The bathroom is completely moldy, I was so glad when my stay was over. Two ups, friendly staff and nice view but not enough to make up for rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    12
    14
    11
See reviews for
6
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was worried by the negative reviews for this hotel, but I took a gamble and it paid off! If you are expecting an American sized hotel, then you should immediately look elsewhere. If you don't mind the authentic, older building, European hotel, close to the old town, then this is the place for you. This is a hotel in right by Old Town Villefranche; it was just what we were looking for in our stop on the Riviera. The rooms are postage stamp small, but clean and neat, with AC! Our room had a balcony with a view of the harbor, so we sat out and enjoyed the sunsets before heading to the port for drinks and sinner. The staff was absolutely charming and very helpful. It is a hike up the small stairs, but we considered it worth the trade to be so close. No nightmare scenario of smelly bathrooms or horrible rooms, it wasn't the Ritz, but we weren't expecting or paying for the Ritz. The road below our window was VERY noisy at night, so you will either need earplugs or you will have to close the door at night. We closed the door and all was well. Perfect for our brief three days in Villefranche--I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view--preferably the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I would recommend only a room on the 3rd last floor (but no lift) with sea view as more quiet.
Wi-Fi, AC, TV, confortable bed, no shower door (so bathroom gets flooded).
Good location, near the city centre (5 min walk), very close to bus stop, 15min from train station but hilly – thus to be avoided if luggage.
Breakfast is 10€, expensive considering the quality.
Staff friendly and helpful.
In line with a 2 stars hotel, hight rates but that's the Riviera...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very basic hotel with simple rooms and run down furniture and carpets. In a great location that provides wonderful sea view. Convenient to bus station and many cafes and restaurants. Breakfast not included and not all staff speaks English. Luggage elevator out-of-order, leaving only a cramped, narrow stairwell.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

London, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have long thought that the Riviera was the worst hotel in Villefranche so why did I book it? I hate to admit it but when I discovered that my favourite, the Darse, was full I thought I had booked the Provencal but somehow ended up in the Riviera! The entire hotel is shabby and run down with little attempt at modernisation since about 1970 or so. The one saving grace is that the rooms on the seaward side do have a great view. I won't make the same mistake again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view. Rooms on the main road side are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

20 minutes from Nice Airport by taxi. We stayed here for 4 nights and the views over Ville Franche was breathtaking. 10 min walk to the main town and very quite which was great. Town gets busy in the evenings so it was nice tog et away from that. Rooms are comfortable and have been recently been refurbished, bed and pillows very comfortable. Bathrooms are very modern, only downside was that the shower head is not fixed to the wall so you have to hold it over yourself and there was no shower door so the floor got drenched! Only one mirror which is in the bathroom. But these are minor things. Each room has it's own balcony and we sat here every morning have our bought in breakfast, local boulangerie only 10mins walk away. Breakfast is €15. No fridge in the room which wasn't a problem for us but one evening an another hotel guest asked about one and one was put in her room for her. Handy for drinks etc. Staff were friendly, pool is very private and we sat out each afternoon in a gorgeous terrace area. Wifi is free only in reception/terrace area and this was just a lovely place to relax and have a drink. We ate in the restaurant on the last night and the food was a little over priced but great none the less. Bus stops right outside hotel and you pay only €1 to go to , Beaulie, Eze, and Monaco which was great value, only thing is the bus gets full very easily so I'd recommend either the early morning bus or later in the afternoon, or walk the few minutes to the town and when people get off there's more chance of getting on.

I would highly recommend this hotel and we plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 109 and as this is the top floor we had a better view, higher floor numbers are ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

hotel - reception - all the old and smell
room - dirty, stinking, old bedding
bathroom - disgustingly, unhygienic and there even was mould on the shower wall
view - hahaha - you can just watch the noisy main road

I think the dream of a peaceful and romantic vacation you fade away very quickly.
I recommend you do not choose in any case this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: 2 Avenue Albert-1er, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.