We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Epoque

La Belle Epoque
2 Place Charles II d'Anjou, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This restaurant is placed in a calm area and has a nice view on the sea from the terrace. The food is good and the service as well. The menu is also very rich and various.
I would suggest this If you are looking for a good quality/price restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why rated #23?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Much much better than that! Think is a local hangout, so enough said. Mussels were great, service great,house rose beautiful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Convenient location, decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The restaurant is located conveniently near several bus stops in the middle of Villefranche sur Mer, and is open long hours daily, making it a good choice for off-peak hour dining. We had arrived mid afternoon with suitcases and dogs in tow, and needed to kill time before move in to our vacation rental. The young front of house woman very kindly allowed us to park our luggage in a corner of the restaurant while we dined.

The food itself, alas, is only average. Our lunch -- my husband's salad and my tapas plate -- were better than typical American diner food, but somewhat below the standard we have come to expect when dining in France. That said, although uninteresting, everything seemed freshly prepared.

La Belle Époque has an enclosed terrace with a sea view but, even though it was actually closed off to the outside, there were several people smoking in the room, which of course filtered in to our adjacent dining area.

Given enough time in Villefranche, we would probably go back for another try, given the warm welcome we were given.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's more miss than hit. I went to this place when I first got into town. No dice. Not very good. Then I went again as I was taking classes in the area and the school organized a dinner at the same venue. Well same result. The meat was chewy and not warm or chewable, the creme brulee was cold. It might have been good if it was hot but can't say so since I never got a hot meal there. Don't go. Their Belle Epoque has come and gone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, service & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had eaten dinner here during a previous visit and had lunch here during this trip (Nov '12). Having somewhat smaller appetites, we shared a salad nicoise, a cheeseburger and a creme brulee. The salad was a little light on tuna but otherwise delicious and plentiful. The cheeseburger was a wonderful surprise. Per our server's recommendation, we ordered it medium, and were reminded that French medium is somewhere between rare and medium-rare by American standards. The hamburger was quite thick, with perfectly carmelized onions, an unusual cheese (maybe gruyere?) and a very flavorful slice of tomato. The creme brulee was in the customary French shallow, oblong dish and was predictably delicious. We complemented the meal with a half-liter of house (provence) white wine, and were pleasantly filled for less than $50. We definitely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Epoque also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.