We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That French Riviera Feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue de l'Ange Gardien | Basse Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
picton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“That French Riviera Feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

If you want to be close to the hustle bustle yet in your own little piece of heaven, then this property may be for you. Located around 15 minutes by bus to either Nice or Monaco, the location is its best asset. Although small, it is great value offering a separate bedroom, private
washroom and combined livingroom/galley kitchen. Each unit has either a balcony or terrace. We always choose a sea view and request a high floor. After a busy day, nothing is better than sitting on your verandah with a glass of wine overlooking the yatchs and shimmering waters of the bay. You will pay extra for the view, but it is will worth it.
No need to rent a car as the bus stops right in front of the property. You can travel from Nice as far as Menton on the Italian border for just one euro! Nothing fancy, but great value for longer stays.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    44
    19
    12
See reviews for
82
38
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

This part of the world is not cheap to stay in - huge villas behind gates and gigantic yachts - and the land prices reflect the fact it is a desirable area. As a result the apartment was very small for the amount charged for it.

The complex was rather tired, and the glossy pictures on the Pierre et Vacances website, belied reality. The mini-market was definitely on the mini-side with a strange array of goods, although the bread was excellent, albeit expensive.

The beds were uncomfortable, but we enjoyed watching the cruise ships with their sparkly lights through the gaps in the garden's palm tree fronds. The kitchen area was average. All in all we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry you were disappointed with the size of your apartment. Our website and brochure do outline room dimension, sizes, furnishings and equipment available, but the price of accomodation does factor in the location. We have logged your review on the resort and mini-market and will pass your comments onto head office and our management teams. We are committed to improving our standard of accommodation whenever we can therefore your feedback is very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Villefranche-sur-Mer hotels

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

After reading some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor I was a bit worried about having booked this Pierre & Vacances residence. However, we had previously stayed at a super residence in La Baule and hoped that the one at Villefranche sur Mer would be just as good. It was!

Although we were only a party of 3 (2 adults and 1 teenage son), we deliberately booked an apartment for 6/7 people (based on the room sizes quoted on the P & V website where we made our booking) so we had plenty of space. The apartment was in a good state when we arrived and although we were quite close to the trains, the noise wasn't too bad at all. No noise could be heard from the nearby main road. A large party of Canadian students were staying at the residence and although they were a bit noisy when they met up around the pool for a couple of hours each afternoon, they were in no way offensive and were kept well under control by their tutors.

We made good use of the pool which was well-maintained. The people running the poolside cafe were also responsible for the hiring of the sunbeds around the pool. Entry to the pool was strictly for residents and the cafe served good quality and reasonably varied food. We did hear that the pool and cafe are let out on an annual franchise so other visitors may well have had different experiences in the past.

I used the onsite laundry a couple of times, 5 Euros per wash (including soap powder) and also went to the shop, also onsite, for bread and other basics.

The walk to the cafes/restaurants and bars on the seafront at Villefranche took about 10 minutes. There were a number of steps to contend with but overall it was a lovely walk along the beach with plenty to look at both during the day and evening. Going in the other direction, the walk to Beaulieu also took about 10 minutes with just one steepish hill to deal with. Otherwise, again, it was a lovely walk along the seafont. The best supermarket is in Beaulieu (SuperU), right next to the train station.

We had travelled from the UK by train so didn't have a car with us. To be honest, this didn't matter - the buses from Nice to Monaco and beyond stop right outside the residence and each trip costs just 1 Euro per person, per trip. The trains are a bit more expensive but again give easy access to most places along the coast from either Beaulieu or Villefranche stations. Beware, though, that if there's a cruise ship visiting Villefranche queues for the ticket office at that station in the mornings can be quite long, especially if you're going towards Monaco!

The overall quality of food in the cafes/restaurants in Villefranche was excellent, if a bit expensive in some places. We had good value meals in Loco Loco, a small restaurant with just a few terrace tables set back from the seafront in the old town but you need to get there early as the tables fill up very quickly each lunchtime/evening. Les Corsaires on the seafront was also very good, although a bit more expensive. Staff in both restaurants appreciate it if you can try to speak a little French but they all spoke excellent English and did so very willingly.

The beaches at both Villefranche and Beaulieu are kept clean and the water quality was excellent but don't expect sand, except on private hotel beaches! The public beaches are mainly quite gritty and so a bit uncomfortable to walk on barefoot.

Overall, we were very happy with the residence, its facilities and location...and best of all the weather was super too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

We booked this place mainly because of the wonderful location and in addition they accepted our dog.
We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with sea view. This apartment had a beautiful sea view, but had an unbelievable small bedroom facing the noisy Bass Cornice. Also, there were broken tiles, especially in the living room and the apartment was not in overall well condition. We asked for another apartment. They gave us for the same price an apartment with a bigger bedroom and more space, although it had only a small sea view. This apartment was basically ok (needed some paint jobs) with a kitchen well equipped for summer cooking. Noise at certain times from the train.
Good points: The Swimming Pool, good pool chairs etc., fenced in parking (code access) and location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien, responded to this review, December 2, 2010
Thanks for posting a review. We wanted to personally apologise for the negative aspects in your review, particularly the level of maintenance in the room you were given. We are glad that our staff managed to find you a more suitable room to suit your needs. Many of our sea view rooms are now scheduled for upgrade to improve the residence. We're so glad you enjoyed the swimming pool, the security of the property and the central location the residence benefits from. We hope you choose to consider Pierre & Vacances the next time you visit France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Stayed in a couple of other lovely hotels in Villefranche before our booking for 4 nights in L'Ange Gardien. Arrived to a friendly reception, nice enough pool with a good view. Then went to level -3 to see the suite (sized for 6 to 7 people). It was tiny, smelt damp, was dirty, the beds were so short my husband was hanging off the end., the kitchen was so old the cupboards were sagging in the middle. Reception didn't seem surprised to see us back and offered us another room which was slightly better, but still in miniature size. The bedrooms especially the bunk room was like a small cell with barred windows. After enough complaining and a very cross receptionist we managed to get a contract from head office signed to promise to reimburse our money. I'm sure that was only because my husband speaks fluent French and she switched into French when she got cross. Leaving at 6pm on a Saturday with 1 child and a baby and nowhere booked to go to was better than staying in that room. We have travelled a lot and never been to a 3* with such terrible rooms. Also for a 3* I would expect air conditioning in such a hot environment. Thankfully we found Hotel Saint Michel which was a hugely pleasant surprise and far excelled the 2* which it is.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

My family and I stayed here for 2 weeks in July. We spent a week here in June last year, and enjoyed Villefranche so much that we decided to return, but this time for 2 weeks. The accommodation is fine as long as you are expecting space which is small but clean and functional. We experienced a lot of noise from the traffic last year, but this year our appartment was quieter........Until, the dreaded arrival of a group of students from Blyth Education, Canada who arrived during our second week. They had a clearly blatant disregard for other guests and residents who were on holiday, trying to relax. They were extremely noisy and constantly used obscene foul language within earshot of everyone else. Having 2 young children who understand English, I had to speak with them directly to tone down their language in front of youngsters. They couldn't seem to care less. The noise was so bad that we were forced to spend evenings out of the apartment just to keep away from them. The noise and disruption was so bad on one night that I decided to go to reception to complain, only to find a Security Guard had appeared as he had already received a telephone call from another resident who had also complained. The supposed person who was meant to be "in charge" of the Blyth students was summoned. How could he have been "in charge" if he wasn't even residing at the same residence as the students?....To cut a long story short, our holiday was destroyed by the disruption caused by these students, who manged to disgrace the reputation of Blyth Education. Alcohol had clearly been consumed by the students. On the one evening I tried to avoid them by going to a waterfront bar for a soothing and relaxing drink, to find two female students from Blyth, already under the influence, sitting at the table next to me, slapping down Daddy's credit card and "chugging" (to use their venacular) cocktails.
My message to Blyth Education in Canada, is please do not send your students to stay here. It is not appropriate to send unsupervised students (a large number of them) to upset rsidents who are on holiday/ My message to Pierre Vacance is please do not accept any bookings from Blyth Education students. My message to future guests is do come here to enjoy a practical but simple holiday, just check there are no Blyth Education students there when you plan to stay. (I belive they are due again in August 2009.) I will only return again if P&V can guarantee that Blyth students will not be there. Be warned.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

The apartments have been recently refurbished. We stayed in a studio for 5,but i certainly wouldn't recommend it for more than 2 people. They were small but very clean. Studios have one set of bunk beds. We didn't use them-slept on the couch.
The kitchens are small but well equipped with dishwasher etc.. We would definitely go for a one-bedroomed apartment next time.
Service was poor. We arrived at 1pm and had to wait 3 hours before we could book in because the reception was closed for lunch! None of the facilities are open early during the year- swimming pool, supermarket and poolside bar.
There is a very busy road on one side of the apartments and a train track to the other so when booking your apartment be sure to ask for one that is at least on the 4th floor. Personally I would go for the 6th floor if possible, you'll avoid the traffic noise and have a wonderful view.
Location is good but it certainly wouldn't be good for people of reduced mobility. The main access to the town is down about 40 steps.
The beach is very stoney and has very little space. Don't come here for a beach holiday.
The apartments are closer to Beaulieu than Villefranche but the walk to Villefranche is beautiful.
I suppose the big question is would I recommend this place? Well accommodation in Villefranche is terribly expensive and it was all we could afford. I certainly woudn't miss out on staying in such a beautiful town- by far the best on the Riviera! If you do travel don't miss Eze village. It was the highlight of our trip

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the size of the apartments
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien

Address: Avenue de l'Ange Gardien | Basse Corniche, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful haven overlooking the bay of Villefranche, one of the most beautiful harbours of the Cote d'Azur. Direct access to the beach with amenities and shops nearby. Impressive views of the azur blue sea from the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence - l`Ange Gardien Hotel Villefranche-Sur-Mer
Pierre And Vacances Residence - l`Ange Gardien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances Residence L'Ange Gardien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.