We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a budget travel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Patricia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Patricia to your Saves list
Hotel Patricia
Avenue de l'Ange Gardien, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Florianopolis, SC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great for a budget travel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

It´s cheap, it´s clean, breakfast is good, free parking, free wifi. The owners are a very nice couple who gave us many tips about the region. You can walk to Cap Ferrat or drive to Nice and Monaco easily. It was excelent for us, no problem at all!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    45
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
18
81
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

My husband and I, along with my brother and his wife, stayed at the Hotel Patricia for three nights. It was the first three nights of our 16-day journey through the country of France. There was no better way for us to start our vacation. At the Hotel Patricia you are made to feel more like a guest in someone's home rather than a guest in a hotel/motel. The service is very personal. Even though some visitors may feel the rooms are small, what is most important to us is how very clean the rooms and ensuite bathrooms were. We were very content with our accomodations and would stay here again if we found ourselves in the part of France again. The breakfast each morning was wonderful. We enjoyed our evening walks from the Hotel into Villefrance-sur-Mer for dinner. This is a great location for any time spent in the French Riviera. Very centrally located, but not in the hustle and bustle of the larger city of Nice nearby.

Room Tip: Best room: 2nd floor w/balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We've just returned from a super-relaxing 8 days at this lovely little pension. Franck and Joelle (along with their adorable retriever Mira!) run a friendly, laid back and stylish little B&B in the charming French Riviera resort of Villefranche. They're helpful and informative and carry all the usual leaflets and info on local attractions that you will need. The continental breakfast is excellent and can be taken in the pretty enclosed garden complete with lemon tree. They even have a small bar and welcomed us with a couple of very welcome cold beers when we arrived! Our bed was very comfy and the room, which had ensuite toilet and shower, was well appointed and spotless and was cleaned/beds made every day. There's no aircon but at that price what do you expect? It didn't affect our sleep anyway as the room was cool enough and there is a fan in the room if you need it. It's a pleasant 15 minute walk into the old town of Villefranche but an even shorter walk into Beaulieu Sur Mer which we found had the better beach. Equally nearby is St Jean Cap Ferrat. The train station at Beaulieu is 10 minute walk away and has a good sized supermarket right next door. Loads of places to eat and drink in Beaulieu and Villefranche. Three handy tips when eating in any of the restaurants - 1. ask for 'une carafe d'eau' to get free, chilled (and perfectly tasty) tap water instead of expensive bottled water, and 2. for wine, ask for 'un pichet du vin rouge/blanc/rose' to get the house wine which is always decent, rather than the more expensive named and bottled variety - pichets come in small and large sizes up to 1litre. 3. most restaurants do a 'menu' - set priced with either one or two courses which are better value than eating from the carte. The whole area is very affluent, gorgeous and fascinating. Nellcote, the house where the Rolling Stones recorded Exile on Main Street, is literally round the corner on the next street down. We saw the most jaw-dropping fireworks off Cap Ferrat one night to mark the annual Venetian Ball and lost count of Bentleys, Rollers, Aston Martins, Ferraris etc but you really don't need that kind of money to have a wonderful time on the Riviera if you stay at this place! Perfect in every way and we really hope we can go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Super clean, friendly owners, tasty breakfast, very cute, inexpensive. There are only a couple of downsides- and they won't even matter to a lot of people I don't think - are 1) it's about a 15 minute walk along the water to the heart of Villefranche. I actually liked this. About 5-10min. walk to train station and 20 min. walk to bus station. 2) there are occasional trains you can hear go by but that was never an issue, and I'm a light sleeper. 3) rooms are small (very pleasant though, and, remember, it's not America, things are just smaller in Europe). Make sure to look for sign from road to help find it and don't miss the walk around Cap Ferrat for amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

After various stays in acceptable and more formal hotels and inns, this hotel and its hosts were indeed a breath of fresh air. Warm, informative, hospitable, accomodating. They made everything easy. Personable without ever intruding. Couldn't have asked for more.
The hotel is walking distance to 2 lovely beaches, a short bus to Nice, but thankfully not in Nice---- thus much more relaxing. Only concern might be that certain rooms might be a bit warm during the summer months, though some are equipped with air conditioning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

went to hotel patricia after reading reviews on tripadvisor. travelled with husband and two teenaged daughters. agree with many previous comments. Hotel was spotlessly clean. Hosts were always pleasant and helpful. breakfast in pretty garden was lovely and good value. 7.50 for cereal, bread, pastries, cheese,yoghurt, fruit and plenty of everything. Great location. 5 mins walk to beaches at villefranche or beaulieu (our favourite). lovely 20 mins walk along sea front to villefranche centre with countless restaurants and bars.
and the downside?
girls were in room !. This is as small as a room with 2 single beds can be. Girls found it claustrophobic. Moved to room 12 with no fuss at all. Room 12 is bigger (but not big). we were in room 2. Small room but adequate. Nice sea view. only problem was noise. No air con, so windows had to be open at all times. Trains are noisy. Didn't check watch but they seemed to run for good part of night.
Conclusion?
Lovely friendly hotel but not for light sleepers.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel was a great value. It had views of the harbor and was within easy walking distance of the beach, the town, and the train station. The owners were absolutely amazing. When we first arrived they gave us maps of the area and gave us some idea of where a good place to go might be. The next morning we went to the beach and came back before taking the train to Monaco. They noticed the tire was flat on our rental car and they insisted on changing it for us so that we could enjoy our last day. The only drawback to this hotel was the train that went by outside. It didn't bother me sleeping, and even if it had I might still stay there again. This was really a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Patricia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Patricia

Address: Avenue de l'Ange Gardien, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#2 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small charming hotel, spirit guest house, 5 mn walking to the beach, wifi, car park, garden; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Patricia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Patricia Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Patricia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.