We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Welcome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Welcome to your Saves list
Hotel Welcome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Warwickshire, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

The hotel is in a superb location with wonderful views from all the front rooms.The rooms are average and this is only a 3 star.
The breakfast is 13 euros each, with extra for bacon & egg, omelette etc so we found better value in the town. You can have breakfast on your balcony but only limited choice for 13 euros!
The town is large but mostly houses and big villas. There are about 20 shops near the hotel that will only keep you occupied for an hour or so, the remaining few shops are about half a mile away up the hill (Spar & good fruit & veg shop)
Monte-Carlo is 14 mins & 5 euros away by train,(avoid the 0900 crush) and Nice is 3 euros on the bus (walk up the hill & catch the 100 to the town centre)
Restaurants are brilliant, we favoured the Cosmos next to the hotel and Au Clair Obscur in little alley behind the hotel. Also at the back of the hotel was a super place for cheaper lunches, salads etc ( right behind hotel, beach end of the 3 dining places)
Beach is 5 mins walk away, very good and safe. Pebbles get courser as you walk round the beach but less people. The parasols and chairs are a bit close together, better to buy a parasol for 10 euros.
Pelican Boats opposite hotel hire out boats, we had a little 6 seater with sun canopy for £40 for 4 hours and went around the headland towards Beauliu Sur Mer - well worth a trip.
All - in- all a lovely relaxing place, not a lot going on with an average hotel in a brilliant spot.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    88
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
186
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford Surrey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Hotel Welcome.
We booked it as a direct result of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed!
The hotel has a lovely situation right on the sea front. Villefranche is a picturesque Riviera town that has not been spoilt by 20/21st century tourism.Yes there are tourists, and some pretty big cruise ships come in to the harbour, but nothing spoils the atmosphere here, which is typical laid back French.It's well situated near to Nice,Monaco, Menton, and there's a good train service to all the coastal towns, as well as to Grasse.

Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the sea. We had a superior room, probably worth paying the bit extra, as French hotel rooms are generally on the small side.
One piece of advice, the balconies are quite narrow, and being so high up could feel a little unsettling - not for those who suffer from vertigo!
Very helpful hotel staff, especially Laure, Magali & Olivier on Reception.Nothing was too much trouble, and Laure gave us several very good recommendations for local restaurants ( try Le Serre) and attractions ( Villa Rothschild).
It's not cheap, but then nothing on the Cote d'Azur is, and we reckon that it's worth the money.

  • Liked — situation
  • Disliked — narrow balcony
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

Easily the best location in Villefranche. Fantastic mountain and harbor views from almost every room. 5 minute walk to the awesome swimming beach. Close to the Citadel, train and bus stations. The Cocteau museum, and great restaurants are right there too. My suggestion for a perfect day: wake to a leisurely breakfast on your balcony watching the fishing boats tool around the harbor, walk down to the beach and lie in the sun while waiters bring you cocktails and yummy snacks. Head back to the "wine pier", connected to the Welcome for sunset drinks (make friends with Dominique-he will treat you right!) Then have dinner at any of the great restaurants along the waterfront or in town (our favorite was "Eschallote" in the old town). Back to the Wine Pier for a nite cap, and you have found your heaven.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

I stayed at Hotel Welcome with 2 girlfriends for a girls weekend in the south of France. When I was in University I lived a couple villages away from Villefranche. There is no forgetting the harbour and beach area. One of the better beaches in the area. My friends and I really enjoyed ourselves.

The accomdation was extremly clean and in a great position right by the little port. We didn't have a lot of noise and it was very relaxing waking up to water outside your balcony.

There are lots of restaurants to keep you busy as well. We had some really nice meals out by the water when we were there.


If you are trying to decide where to go at in the south of France I would recommend Villefranche and Hotel Welcome. It won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location in Villefranche
  • Disliked — Rooms could be bigger
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

We stayed here for a week in June, following the recommendation on the trip adviser website and we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect!! I would really recommend it, especially the bar in the hotel and the wonderful restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

My wife and I have just spent 10 nights at the Welcome Hotel and what a great holiday we had. The staff were fantastic, spoke excellent English and excused our poor French! What a great location with some great restaurants around! The breakfasts, whilst pricey, were plentiful and fresh! The Wine Terrace was a great place for pre and post dinner drinks and for general people watching! We enjoyed excellent meals at Le Cosmo and Loco Loco. The buses are a good way to get around and cheap too! A journey to Menton (1:30) cost 1 Euro 30! (as did all bus trips - so the further you go the better the value). Whilst we were there the trains were on strike so we only used the train on 1 day - effecient as ever! Villefranche is brill! A great (but busy) beach and don't forget to view the Chapel
We will return!

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

an excellent experience.away from the bustle of the cote de azur area, yet close to everything, villefranche is the place to base yourself, and hotel welcome is an automatic choice.the views from the balconies were spectacular, and the hotel staff were perfect.

our tour company for the riviera, did not show up, and our entire day was about to be wasted.the hotel staff went out of their way to fix us up with another tour operator, and he really saved the day.not only that, the young woman in front desk kept calling our inital tour operator, who ultimately agreed to give us a free shuttle service to nice airport as compensation.

the water, the beach, and the charming village.....and hotel welcome puts it all together

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pricey
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome

Address: 3, quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Welcome 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between nice and monte carlo, its 35 air-conditioned rooms overlooking the bay and cap ferrat since december 2002, all our rooms or suites have a balcony with sea view. They are equipped with a safe, a tv, a minibar, a hairdryer, direct dial telephone and free wireless access (beach towels on request). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Welcome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer
Welcome Villefranche Sur Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Welcome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.