We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Welcome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Welcome to your Saves list
Hotel Welcome
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3, quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Located in a picturesque setting on a small bay east of Nice, the hotel is a great base for day trips all along the Côte d'Azur by car or train. The hotel sits on the waterfront near excellent restaurants some of which feature live entertainment. The sidewalk dining is great for people watching and enjoying the Mediterranean character of the area. Breakfasting or watching evening pyrotechnics from your room balcony are unforgettable experiences in this fine hotel. The staff are impressive in both helpfulness and friendliness. Valet parking is available at a flat daily rate but time-based public parking is only steps from the hotel. We used the latter option and found that it was less expensive overall.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    97
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
200
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotts Valley, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The views are second to none! The stay couldn't possibly be any better. The staff are very attentive, kind and fun!! Will be back there again! The breakfast was superb and the service was excellent. The staff really was top notch from the reception to the maid service and the Wine Pier. Can't say enough!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful stay at this lovely hotel. What a fab location!
Room 59 with it's two balconies was superb.
A big thankyou to Charles for his drive from the airport and to all the staff for the helpfulness.
We will be back!

Room Tip: 59 superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Enjoying water front views, and located in beautiful village. The staff made our stay very memorable , enjoyed the breakfast and the good coffee.
Many good restaurants in the village. We hired the hotel yacht for a half a day, and the skipper was very professional , it was a highlight of our 4 week stay on France.
We had adjoining rooms for our children, which worked well for our family

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Everyone was exceptionally kind, from the accommodating reception to the bar staff that made fresh mint tea when I wasn't feeling well. I saw a VERY slightly larger room on the 1st (American 2nd) floor, but preferred (and chose) the (almost imperceptibly) smaller (and cheaper!) room ("Comfort"?) on the 5th (I believe) floor, which had a much bigger view of the water, including the coming and going of various boats and ships (and more diffused street noise). It did have a much smaller balcony, but that was OK for me. The front of the hotel receives full hot summer sun in the mornings, so the late afternoons and the evenings are best for relaxing on the balcony and taking in the views, and all you have to do is drift downstairs to a nearby restaurant for dinner at 7, then head back up to your balcony to watch the moon come up over Cap Ferrat. Heaven. Good to know when arriving: "Octroi" is the name of the bus stop if taking the 100 bus from Nice. Get off the bus and head downhill and always towards the left (so you end up on the left/east side of the old fort, NOT the right/west). I believe the 81 bus (?) is another good option (less crowded). Buses along the coast are frequent, but when I was there there was a train strike, and the buses were utterly mobbed (sometimes so full they wouldn't even stop to add more passengers), and everyone was pushing quite rudely to get onto the buses when they did stop. No fault of the hotel, all this, just fair warning about the reality of buses when under duress. To get back to the normal 100/81 bus stop from the hotel involves walking up many steps and somewhat steep streets, so you should be able and prepared for that if relying on buses. And be aware that buses don't run late from Nice back to Villefranche, so it is safer to dine in Villefranche! The train station is a mostly level walk away, perhaps 10 minutes, but there are also some stairs to get up to the actual tracks. Stairs are a fact of life in this little hillside town (except to the nearby public beach or to the more expensive restaurants that line the waterfront). I found my balcony view so interesting and calming that it was truly hard to think of leaving to go see anything else, but if you are up for a walk, the Rothschild villa across the bay on Cap Ferrat was interesting, the (included) audio commentary very good, and the gardens were beautiful. Loved the quaint Villefranche waterfront much more than Nice. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms ("Comfort", I believe) on the higher floors are almost as big as the low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just returned from celebrating our wedding anniversary at Hotel Welcome. I had spent some time identifying a suitable destination on the Cote d'Azur that would be charming, reasonably buzzy, but not as developed as Nice or as intense as St.Tropez. Villefranche-sur-Mer seemed promising and the Trip Advisor reviews of Hotel Welcome persuaded us it would be the right place to stay despite being a little more expensive than we had planned. It all turned out to be so right - Villefranche is indeed charming, always something happening on the water, the beach is clean and the water clear if you want to swim, and the old pedestrian area is full of atmosphere and a good number of interesting restaurants, and there is a beautiful walk round Cap Ferrat if you feel so inclined. The Hotel itself is delightful, and the staff just the same. Our room, like nearly all the rooms, overlooked the bay, and we had a balcony which was perfect for soaking up the atmosphere. The bar staff even brought cocktails up to our room with no fuss at all. Before our trip I had liaised with both Charles and Julien about the booking and recommending restaurants and they had been so helpful; whilst we were there we met them, and Olivier, and everyone was so pleasant to us. We realised it is a family run hotel - and it really shows - on our last day they were able to allow us an extended checkout, having carefully checked when the next guests for our room were to arrive - it was so clearly run by people who cared about their guests, and they were so good about helping us with the transport problems we encountered on our last day. The breakfasts were also lovely and fresh and served in the sunny 'conservatory' area which overlooked the bay and boats and we felt privileged to be sitting there as people walked by. We felt really comfortable in the hotel and felt it was in the best position in Villefranche - just a stroll away from the quayside and the beach and the interesting pedestrian old part of the town just behind the hotel, and with the most wonderful views. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Villefranche has to be one of the most stunning places in Europe. The quays along the bay are dotted with small restaurants, quaint shops and there is a small beach that is arguably one of the best maintained. when the sun is shining, there is literally nothing like it. We stayed at the Welcome Hotel, well positioned on the quays with the most spectacular views of the bay. our first impressions - the desk staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were small, but nice. However, there was no coffee making facilities in the room, there was no restaurant in the hotel and unfortunately, the hotel seems to have no internal sound insulation, which means you can hear guests conversations next door, the opening and closing of their wardrobes, their visits to the bathroom and it is particularly bad at night, as all the hotel sounds are amplified. You definitely need to bring earplugs, as the cobblestone road outside the hotel encourages cars to rattle, particularly the early morning trucks and vans, guaranteed to wake you up every morning at 6.am, assuming you get to sleep in the first place... The buffet breakfast is simple and can be dependent on a little bit of luck, as sometimes they have more than yogurt and baguettes, such as scrambled eggs and tiny sausages, other times not. The coffee is good and once you get past the feeling that the breakfast waiting staff are serving out a sentence by working there, it can be enjoyable to watch the comings and goings on the quayside while sipping your morning coffee. Its not a bad hotel, but with just a little effort, it could be fantastique!

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper, as the hotel appears to have absolutely no internal sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Welcome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welcome

Address: 3, quai Amiral Courbet, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Villefranche-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
#1 Family Hotel in Villefranche-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Welcome 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel by the sea, within walking distance from the beaches, in the heart of Villefranche-sur-Mer old town activities. Next to the Jean Cocteau Chapel 'Chapelle saint Pierre', Charmin hotel in a warm and family atmophere. All 35 rooms have air conditionning, sea view and a private balcony. Free access to the sauna for our customers (private sessions). The Wine Pier,, the hotel wine bar is open year-round everyday. Breakfast is served on the veranda with a full warm & cold buffet or continental breakfast available in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Welcome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Hotel Villefranche Sur Mer
Welcome Villefranche Sur Mer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Welcome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.