We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting close to excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mayssa

Le Mayssa
9, Place Wilson, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
0493017508
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $108
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Getting close to excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a beautiful view, combined with a courteous staff, led by a young blonde girl whose name I wish I could remember. During our visit, the terrace was cool to cold with wind and we were offered blankets and a portable heater. The food is very good and i had a seared Tuna and Debbie steak and pommefrites. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    49
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a local merchant. We enjoyed a fabulous lunch from the rooftop patio with a stunning view of the harbour. The service was wonderful - we could have stayed there all afternoon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful water view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This restaurant is difficult to see from road. It is at the marina parking lot. The views are spectacular from the tables and the food was superb. Well worth the visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“You can do better..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Based on the recommendation of our concierge and TA reviews we dined at Le Mayssa and were really disappointed. While the view of the harbor is lovely with sailboats and the mountains, the food is not great- average, nothing special especially for Villefranche, kind of felt a little touristy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“dinner with panoramic port view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice rooftop restaurant with outdoor terrace seating. Perfect for semi-casual dinner as you watch the boats come and go over great food (nice selection of fish) and French wines.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mayssa also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Mayssa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mayssa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.