We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a meal with family and friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mayssa

Le Mayssa
9, Place Wilson, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
0493017508
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $109
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great Place for a meal with family and friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I believe we have now been to La Mayssa three or four times. We have celebrated one or two birthdays and enjoyed eating both inside and on their wonderful patio deck. Very good service, nice fish, good ambiance. Pricier than some of the other seafront restos but really has the picture perfect setting which makes it worth the cost

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    49
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tenby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a little bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We tried La Mayssa for a special birthdya night out but were not thta impressed sadly.The waiters were polite but distant , the room was half empty and had little atmosphere and as it was a windy night we were not able to enjoy the view as much as we would have liked. The food was pleasant but we could have easily found this standard anywhere on the seafront. We did enjoy our selction of sweets however but would not return to this venue again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great setting lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were attracted by the rooftop position and arrived at about midday after an early start and a long drive. Initially we were the only table occupied and were a bit concerned that we may be making a mistake. Anyway we became engrossed in the menu, ordered and enjoyed the fantastic view and our drinks, as we were eating our first course we realised that most of the tables were now occupied. One thing to note the umbrellas are some sort of mesh and dont block all the sun so it does feel quite hot in mid August, would be fine most of the year. Good food and service, quite expensive for lunch but we felt it was worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Initial great welcome and good service got a little stretched to say the least after a large group arrive.
I had the entrecote with fried potatos which is what 1 got nothing more,nothing less.My had grilled squid which was a little rubbery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I dined at Mayssa, in Villefranche sur Mer on the evening of 15/9/2012. The view from the dining balcony was magnificent; the bay with shimmering sail boats and yachts,mand the massive walls of the citadel. Unfortunately, contrary to previous reviews, the food was very disappointing. The so-called foie gras consisted of two thin, hard slices of pâté which acquired its taste through the accompaning chutney and the avocado and crabmeat salad consisted of unripe dice of avocado and crabmeat which did not have all of the shells removed. The two cotes de boeuf mains were so fatty as to be barely edible. The maitre d'hôtel, in a dismissive manner, said that the quantity of fat was typical for that cut of meat (that cut should be silky,and not covered with globs of fat). The wines by the glass and the desserts were ordinary. One should expect much more for a tab of 150 Euros. (note: we eat out at least 4 times a week).K

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mayssa also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Mayssa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mayssa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.