We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bistrot de la Rade

Le Bistrot de la Rade
15 Rue du Poilu-Vielle, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
0954591882
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $29
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leysin, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've had our best meal here while on vacation at Cote d'Azur. Ordered baked camambert w/fig jam for a starter, rizzoto with scalops and sea bass for main dish; all was beautifully presented and very tasteful. Very good red wine per glass! The dessert was an ordinary creme brulee. The service was very good, timely and professional. We'd definitely come back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    51
    6
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food & charming service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We chose Le Rade having wandered around Villefranche looking at a lot of menus & restaurants. The menu looked very nice as did the menus in a number of other restaurants. However what made us choose La Rade was the charming waitress who we spoke to on our initial browse. She was so friendly & welcoming that we decided to go back there for dinner. What a good decision, We choose the foie gras to share for starters which was just as well as there was more than enough for both of us in one serving. It came with a fig jam & ginger flavoured bread - really delicious. My wife had Magret de Canard for mains & I had the Cote de Bouef. Both were perfectly cooked & full of flavour. The waitress who served us was the girl we met when we had looked at the menu initially. Leah is a lovely young lady who was attentive & friendly throughout the meal. She made us really really welcome & her friendly manner certainly enhanced the enjoyment of dinner for us. Our bill came to €86.00 including a bottle of wine which we felt was good value for the delicious food and excellent service we had received.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes
1 review
“AVOID this trap ! A EVITER ! Mites in the food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Please avoid this so called restaurant.
The crayfish ravioles were disgusting.
The sauce tasted like water, the ravioles were VERY thick, and cherry on top, i found two mites in the sauce. No need to tell you that i didnt finish the plate nor anything else.

The salmon tartar was so covered in soy sauce you couldn't taste the fish anymore, and i have my doubts about its freshness, and believe me I know my food ! We didn't finish it either.

The men was rude and completely ignored our complaints.

Do not be fooled by his pretty face when he will try to get you in !


A EVITER ! Ravioles epaisses, sauce insipides, accompagnées de mites!
Tartare de saumon pas frais !
Serveur désagréable et pas un geste !


  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous, highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Can't believe this restaurant is only no 18 it should be rated in the top 3, we found it by far the best of all the eateries when we were there last week. We ate there on our final evening. Extensive menu, we chose the menu gourmand €34 a head for 3 courses. Our starters - foie gras pate maison with fig chutney & gingerbread, salmon tartare with mint, mango, lemon & garlic croustades were superb. Mains of filet of boeuf with a cep sauce & sea bass with petit legumes, beautifully presented and delicious. Desserts were strawberry shortcake & a chocolate mousse cake were beautiful. Service was charming & efficient.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place,must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is the place u must come and eat amazing food great service, organic food prepared so delicious. Everything was great and location perfect to stop eat and relax no noise then continue explore beautiful villeranche

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de la Rade also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot de la Rade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bistrot de la Rade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.