We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Musees de La Citadelle

Les Musees de La Citadelle
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

It was my first time in Villefranche and it was wonderful! The Citadelle is just amazing, there were a splendid garden and an open air theatre! The view from there is beautiful and there are some musees really interesting in it! It is really close to the town and beaches !

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Some of the best views ever -- and free of charge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We arrived in Monaco as part of a Mediterranean cruise. I had read in a tour guide that Villefranche-sur-Mer was one of the most picturesque spots on the Mediterranean -- so we decided to take the train from Monaco and spend most of the day.

Having now visited Villefranche in person, I can report that we found it to be one of the most beautiful places on earth.

The train ride from Monaco is very quick and was quite inexpensive. When you exit the train station, you immediately begin walking through the wonderful, little village -- atmosphere off the charts and a view and photo opportunity at every turn.

Along our walk, we bumped in to the Musees de la Citadelle and just wandered in. We are so glad we did! Amazing views, beautiful landscaping -- just a joy. (Free of charge, too!)

We'd gladly return to Villefranche-sur-Mer if we get the chance. A cruise ship is a very cost effective way to see it, as well. Taking the short train ride from Monaco or Nice is easy enough. (The train station in Monaco, by the way, incredible)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Impressive indeed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We loved wandering about La Citadelle... no charge to do so... and it brings visions of ancient days to mind... a great place to daydream awhile. While we were here, we also came upon a semi-circle of the most beautiful blue-flowering trees on the Citadelle grounds... in full bloom at the end of June... not sure what kind they were, but they were stunning.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fab views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Always a pleasure to return to Villefranche and visit the Citidal, the gardens and the museums here. No cost to get in and wander through the old fort. Stunning views over the upmarket resort and it has an open air theatre/cinema screen as well. Take a stroll round the outside of the Citidal beside the sea afterwards.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Les Musees de la Citadelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

visited many times, but always return as views over Villefranche and its harbours are wonderful. Musees always very interesting and varied, and this year there is a beautiful garden below the walls of the fort and an open air theatre.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Musees de La Citadelle also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Musees de La Citadelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Musees de La Citadelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.