We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overlooking the old town and bay of Villefranche sur Mer to Cap Ferrat from the terrace.
Overlooking the old town and bay of Villefranche sur Mer to Cap Ferrat from the terrace.
Overlooking the old town and bay of Villefranche sur Mer to Cap Ferrat from the terrace.
Lounge area with recessed kitchen in background
Master  Bedroom with Mahogany Bed, firm mattress and reading lamp per guest.
Master Ensuit Bathroom with bidet, bath, stand-up shower and glass enclosure.
Guest Bedroom, twin beds, wardrobe and full length mirror on left and traditional 'provençal sh
Villefranche-sur-Mer
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hitchhike...
Peachland, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“this should be your first choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

this property is exceptional, well located and convenient to shopping, restaurants, transit and most importantly, it enhances the experience of staying in Villefranche. The apartment itself is very well maintained, spotlessly clean and is outfitted with quality furnishings and appliances. There are two bedrooms/two baths. The master bedroom has an ensuite bath, the second bedroom has an adjacent bath. The view is spectacular! The sliding glass doors to the large deck open fully to showcase the wide view from both inside and out. It's a lovely spot to relax with a book and glass of wine after a day of exploring or just to watch the activities in the bay, check out which cruise ships are in when you get up in the morning and soak up the sun.

We have stayed in Eamon and Eileen's adjacent one bedroom apartment twice and recommend it equally as enthusiastically. We have always found Eamon very easy to deal with, he replies promptly to questions and has options for payment which make international transactions easy. Sue, the manager, is a tremendous help and has as a wealth of information about the area to share.

We will definitely return to one or the other of these apartments depending on how many are in our party. Renting from Eamon and Eileen will always be our first choice.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: quality of the apartment
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ripanne
Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A most comfortable apartment with a view to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spent a week in this lovely apartment, and the weather could have been better but the apartment and it's convenience to the amenities made up for this. We walked to Cap Ferrat and Beaulieu, took the bus and train to Nice, Monaco and Ventilmillia. There was much to do without need for a car, the taxi met us at Nice Airport and Sue was waiting at the apartment with helpful advice and guidance. It would be difficult to fault such a well maintained apartment, and everything was spotlessly clean. The restuarants and bars of Villefranche were all near at hand and the terrasse with a view over rooftops to the blue Mediterranean cheered us on rainy days.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The view of the town from the balcony
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
hitchhike...
Peachland, BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

we have stayed in this superb apartment twice now, once in winter months, most recently in September/October for a month each time. Each season has its own charms, both were most enjoyable and were enhanced by the quality of the apartment. It was a delight to wake up and see from every room the cruise ships that were in the harbour. The air in Villefranche is extraordinarily clear so the wide view from the balcony to the town and harbour below let us enjoy the view with a glass of wine after a day out and about. The apartment is spotless and meticulously maintained. It is complete with all amenities including a washer, dishwasher, stove, fridge, etc. There is wifi so we were able to connect with the internet whenever we pleased. The apartment is close to shops, restaurants, three boulangeries and excellent public transit. It is about a 15 minute bus ride into Nice, about 20 minutes the other way into Monaco. The first time we stayed, we rented a car that we ended up using only three times. For our most recent visit, we had learned our lesson and had no difficulty getting around by efficient and affordable bus or train. We can say without reservation that this is the best of many vacation rentals we have stayed in, in many countries and we intend to return again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: layout and condition of the apartment plus access to the main road
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
rescue72
Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, loved it, would recommend to anyone. perfect location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This property is perfect. First of all, the master bedroom is roomy and has a great onsuite. The other bedroom is also great with two double beds. Both bathrooms were perfect. I love to cook and this place will not let you down. All appliances are new and work great. There is a BBQ which I used almost every night. Although we ate out for lunch, I enjoyed shopping at the local market and at the local butcher shop. The butcher is a great guy and is only a short walk down the street. The views from the deck is breathtaking. You can also open the patio doors and you have a huge balcony!!! Our family had a wonderfull time in Villefranche Sur Mer and would return again. The people there are very friendly and ready to help. This brings me to the people who take care of this place. They are also wonderfull and helpful. Again nothing bad to say. Only positives!!

It is worth mentionning that this is not our first time renting an appartment and so my review is based on past experiences. This appartment has been renovated perfectly with absolutelly nothing missing. As a Canadian, I did not want for anything. The coffee maker was just like home so we were able to have a pot over the deck each morning. The croissant however were not like home, they were wonderfulll!

I could go on and on, however, if anyone has any questions, you are welcome to contact me at "pchevalier11@sympatico.ca"

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location within Villefranche sur Mer and how clean the place was.
Liked least: Our vacation was too short
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
chrismoun...
maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Convenient, and oh, my-The View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As a senior couple we found the property ideal for a month stay. With two bedrooms and two baths the extra room over time was appreciated even though we didn't have guests. Likewise the fully outfitted kitchen, including a washing machine, enabled us to really settle in. That everything is of a very good standard reinforced our decision to stay there. (A month would be a long time to have such regrets.) Also, prior to booking, any questions about what to expect were handily dealt with by the owner, then more practical info upon arrival by the manager. Both suggested using Jean-Frederick's taxi service to meet us upon Nice airport arrival and departure. I agree, and wouldn't economize by training or busing unless you 'know the ropes'. Another point regarding our age and this apartment is that its shallow riser staircase is an advantage- not the case in all apartments, so check; and, at no time did we feel vulnerable in the apartment, or walking about Villefranche. Since we were car-less for a month we often made the short walk down the street to the bus stops, soon forgetting about the schedules as bus 100's into Nice or towards Monaco are just so frequent; they're also comparably clean with courteous drivers, offering the best deal along the Cote d'Azur at one Euro per trip.
At the end of a 'hard' touristic day it certainly felt good returning to Villefranche, and to the beautiful view of it from Eclat de Couleur.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: that it exceeded expectations
Liked least: took us awhile to figure out heating
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 7, 2012
We were delighted that our guests from North America found the apartment 'to be ideal for a month's stay' in Jan / Feb '12. We are particularly pleased that they found 'everything of a good standard', the stairs to be an easy climb to the first floor and that they felt safe in Villefranche. Eamon & Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CarolynMi...
Hudson, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A most wonderful apartment in beautiful Villefranche Sur Mer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had the absolute most fabulous time on the gorgeous French Riviera and in Villefranche Sur Mer! This location is center to the Riviera and we found it to be the most charming little town with easy access by train or bus to the other seaports. Villefranche has many stone steps and inclines that lead down from this apartment to the waterside. I was concerned because I have a disc issue in my back and a muscle condition in my left leg. But the walk down was never a problem since the stairs are wide and the inclines slope gently in several areas. The stairs up to the apartment are also easy to navigate even with larger luggage. When you enter the apartment you will be so excited to see how lovely it is with a beautiful view of the bay from the main room and its adjoining terrace! There is a dining table where meals and snacks can be enjoyed while you take in the gorgeous sights of birds, boats, the moonlight glistening on the water at night and the glorious morning sun! This apartment is very clean, comfortable and very tastefully furnished. The bed and linens were super comfy and the bathrooms very roomy, with a tub and shower in the master. Lots of closet space and a nice TV with good reception on English stations are a real plus.The kitchen is well equipped and there are towels and beach items provided. The bakeries, shops, and restaurants are very easy to get to and the beach as well, though a little bit longer a walk. Eamon and Eileen provide a large selection of guides, maps, and recommendations for your stay. They also have a wonderful apartment manager and driver to assist your arrival and departure. We also were able to visit their other apartment next door and though smaller, it is lovely as well. We appreciated all of Eamon's help when booking the apartment. These owners really maintain their rental units well and obviously care about their clients comfort! Our favorite excursion was to beautiful Monaco! Take the city bus tour once there and spend some time up by the Palais Princier. We also loved going by bus to neighboring St. Jean Cap Ferrat. Do not miss the tour of the Villa Ephrussi de Rothschild and its gardens! Absolutely a paradise! We did not have a bad meal at any of the restaurants on our stay! All of the merchants in Villefranche were extremely friendly and helpful. And "Maria's" baguettes are the best with fresh butter and jam! (down the first hill from the apartment) We had a very fun, relaxing and exciting stay here even in the cooler October air. We can't wait to return!!!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The clean, fresh, apartment and warm, friendly welcome!
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CaymanLov...
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful Setting in Beautiful Villefranche-sur-Mer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of three enjoyed five wonderful nights in VSM at Eclat de Couleur. The harborview was a real treat in the morning, noon, and evening. The town was wonderful to explore, the waterfront and the Hotel Du Ville was amazing. The apartment was very comfortable and well-equipped. We enjoyed sipping wine on the veranda each evening. We enjoyed the walk down through the Viellle Ville to the beach and back everyday--a good way to burn off the creme brullee and profiteroles calories. Enjoy the cafe scene on the beach at La Voile Bleu (large, delicious, salades nicoise) Don't miss the delicious food at Cafe Cosmo on the waterfront just in front of Eglise St. Pierre. A visit to the Villa Rothschild is a wonderful morning or afternoon triop--we walked there and took the bus back. Manager Sue and driver Jean Frederique were very friendly and helpful. No need for a car, as you can get what you need in a short walk or even quick bus trip (only 1 Euro). A truly magical place where we hope soon to return!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2011
We are delighted that this US family enjoyed their stay in 'Eclat de Couleur' particularly the views from the terrace which is an ideal place to relax over a glass of wine and that they found Sue to be welcoming and helpful. Eamon and Eileen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,158
/ Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Eamon
Speaks English
Listed since : Jun 2010
Calendar Updated: 9 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing