We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Aparte

L'Aparte
1 Rue Obscure, 06230 Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
+33 4 93 01 84 88
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $36
Cuisines: Winery, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If you see our menu, download our free app on iPhone laparte
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant has some outside tables and some inside. If you want to sit outside, make sure to make reservations. We had for 21.30 but there were no tables available! We had to wait 20 mins before we could be seated. We had both appetizers and entre. Scallops was great, while fish tartar was a bit bland. For entre neither the lamb rack or duck was cooked to our order, but still tasted good, especially the duck.

All in all it was good food, but with a few negatives. Prices are about 25€ pr entre, which is not expensive for this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    73
    17
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“arrogant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

i cannot comment on the food but i sat down to eat and asked if there was a set menu, i didn't mean to be rude in any way. i was told that the restaurant was shut, even though it was 6 30 on a tuesday evening and had just opened. Maybe they are just becoming arrogant due to the good reviews that they have received. Time for a reality check as pride comes before a fall so they say.THEY COULD HAVE JUST SAID NO!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepettesxm, Gérant at L'Aparte, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Good evening

I'm sorry to read your comment on trip advisor, but it must be a misunderstanding,l'aparte is the terrace situated in the rue obscure, the little courtyard on the right, and not in the street.
Unfortunately, very often few guest have been mistaking too, they seat on their terrace.Our menu is just next their table.
This particular date,on the tuesday 2nd september, we had a technical problem and had to warn our guests to come later from 7.30 pm due to a flood.
Usually we start the service at 7.00 pm, but we open restaurant at 2 or 3 pm., never at 6 h 30.The chief had about 4h implementation.
When custumers comes earlier, we proposed them to drink aperitif until the open kitchen or come back later.
we would be very pleased to welcome you, at the good adress.
sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant and high quality cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Set in a small side street alley, this is a small restaurant with a chef and two servers, one of which is co-owner with the chef. It's a very down to earth restaurant with excellent quality of food. We had dinner the first time on a recommendation and were not disappointed. I have seen past reviews of the two ladies who serve the food as not being very friendly but this was not the case with us. We were dining with two young children and they were attentive to us and our children. My children enjoyed the seasonal menu as much as we did. We returned a second night and had another wonderful meal. The chef is a master. My 9yo daughter recommends the foie gras for starter and pork tenderloin for a second and my son will tell you to order the escargot first and rack of lamb second. I recommend the beef filet, it was perfectly prepared.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, cute dog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wonderfully creative food at a very reasonable price. Dishes are like works of art

Look out for "Capsule" the resident Scottish Terrier who is very friendly and well behaved

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb food and a wall of grass !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Just dined @ L'Aparte based on TripAdvisor recommendations and was not disappointed. My wife and I had three young daughters with us, aged between 5 & 9 years old. Although there was no children's menu on offer (they offered to cook a plain fish & potatoes dish), the main courses showed such artistic prowess that the kids were "fooled" into trying everything that my wife and I ordered for us to share namely : the duck & popcorn, the mixed fish dish, the lamb chops & the mignon de porc.
You also HAVE to order the toblerone tiramisu. I wish I'd ordered some more as my table guests some how managed to,scoff most of it !!
All was cooked beautifully as ordered and served with efficiency which is seldom experienced in some of the other Villefranche eateries.
Only 2 small opportunities for the resto, although it did not detract too much from the overall experience, nor did I deem it necessary to reduce the 'superb' score as some may say it's quite petty; but the dog can be a nuisance sniffing around the tables, especially around daughters whom are quire nervous around dogs.
Secondly we only spoke (in fluent) French when addressing the waitress, but she only ever responded in English, presumably as we spoke to the kids in the same. Seemed a little strange and was the only ever-so-slightly negative comment from my wife. But as mentioned, this will not bother many of you as you're reading this in English :-), although I was brought up to make an effort when abroad.
Overall - would definitely return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Aparte also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Aparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Aparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.