We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Garcons

Les Garcons
18 rue du Poilu, Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
+33 (0) 4 93 76 62 40
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were lucky enough to be served by one of the owners. What a guy! He was friendly and more than happy to translate each menu item in English for us. Their outdoor dining area is lovely - and they were packed - but he was never too busy to make sure we were pleased with everything. I had a Thai-style shrimp appetizer and my friend had mozzarella with tomatoes. I don't remember what my main meal was called, but it was basically a salad with sliced steak. The steak was tender and cooked to perfection (medium). My friend had risotto with scallops and pronounced it the best meal he had all week! For dessert we had apple tarts, served with flaming liqueuer. Gorgeous! It was a special dinner and created a lasting memory. Thank you, Les Garcons!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    105
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kongsberg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Old town charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Exellent service. Wery good food. We eat here twice in july. Beef was perfect and the fondante du choclat is amazing. Be sure you also go up a step the stairs next door, and Get some lovely macrons.. Remember always to buy 4: one to taste, one to Eat, one to share and one to save.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant on a bike ride from nice. The servers were excellent as was the food. One of my favorite meals on my two week visit to France.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh and well presented food in a lovely setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed the food and local wine in this restaurant. Villefrance is an expensive place to be so be prepared for what you will need to pay. The staff tried really hard but it was the quality of the food that made the evening a great experience. One we would recommend based on the standard of food which included great ingredients and presentation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We wanted to eat here our first stay because of all of the great reviews. We had a fabulous meal here and the wait staff was awesome!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Garcons also viewed

Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Villefranche-sur-Mer, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Garcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Garcons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.