We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Pretty Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ville medieval

Ville medieval
Place du Peyra, 06140 Vence, France
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Vence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Dorset UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Such a Pretty Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Well worth the trip if staying on the coast. I simply love it, from the unique shops to the beautiful & authentic medieval section to its location between hills where a gentle day's walk is appreciated for the exercise & atmosphere. Vence called us back a second time when we stayed on the seafront, luring us to come again for a day of history. Perhaps it was our advantage and perhaps (some may say) the wrong time to visit but we went on a Monday the second time and most of the shops were closed. If you want a quiet time for the day, go on Monday. Otherwise, the village is a beautiful blending of school children, foreign visitors and special events (such as the television filming that was being done on our first visit). I told my partner that if I considered going to this part of France again, I would certainly look at Vence for accommodation...a special place this is and one that gets into your mind & won't let go.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth making the trip on public transport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We travelled by bus-train-bus from Antibes to Vence, and it was well worth it. Vence is a beautiful medieval town, and once through the old gate Porte du Peyra, the selection of shops and restaurants was fun to explore. The views from just outside the walled town are simply stunning. Look out for Les Agapes for a good place to lunch.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Once you find parking- a nice town to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It is necessary to find a place for your car- good luck on the street or in the free lot.

There is a pay lot with few instructions how to pay- confusing.

Definitely worth a stroll and a stop for a drink- you can look at all the other tourists.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Although very touristy it still maintains its charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very well maintained and very clean medieval village (which however is older than this with some elements of the town dating back to around the 2nd century AD) with an abundance of shops and restaurants. It was pretty busy in June so I would expect it to be very busy in high season. Parking can be a bit tricky.
Market days as follows: Flowers every morning except Monday in Place du Grand Jardin. 
Fruit and vegetables every morning except Monday in Place Surian. Clothes market every Tuesday and Friday in the Old Town. Antiques: all day Wednesdays in Place du Grand Jardin
This was a favourite place to stay for Monet, Picasso, Matisse and Chagall, I think this says it all.
If you are going to visit villages in the region put this one on the list.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small, easy to explore, delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This is a great day trip from Nice. Take the Lignes d'Azur bus (400) from beside the Meridien hotel. It's a bargain at 1.50 Euros. It's a short walk from the Vence bus depot, past the market (Place du Grand Jardin). Pick up a free map from the Tourist bureau on the way and enjoy. Great restaurants on site, too

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ville medieval also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Antibes, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ville medieval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ville medieval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.