We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Lavandes

Les Lavandes
8 rue du Marche, 06140 Vence, France
+33 4 93 32 61 52
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 70 Restaurants in Vence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $38
Cuisines: French, Noodle, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We provide a twist of fench mediterraneen and thai food prepared from fresh items cooked "a la minute" in a charming provencale historique city
Vence, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Great Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was brilliant as always. It is a husband and wife team so we always arrive early so as not to be waiting too long. Its worth the wait however if you do arrive at peak time! Kids meals are fantastic as are adults!! Very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for kind people like you who appreciate our food, our style and make it known by writing such a kind review. Hope to see you again somedays. Best regards, Yours Robert and Siriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    93
    22
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, met expectations....! Try it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice little restaurant in the square facing the Town Hall in the old part of Vence. Well worth finding. The menu states before you eat that this is a family run restaurant with just a husband and wife so there may be a delay.

Now that you know that you can decide to stay or move on to somewhere else. Yes there was a bit of a wait but nothing really to worry about. Relax, have a nice glass of chilled wine and take in the atmosphere.

The food is beautifuly prepared, and worth the small wait. The owner is rushing about making sure that people are looked after and drinks and being served.

An American couple next to us seemed to be tutting a lot wanting immediate service. If thats want you want, you read the first page of the menu saying that there could have been a wait for food, so you cannot sit there afterwards and start tutting! They should have gone somewhere else.

Great little place and I will be back !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you so much to appreciate our restaurant, our food and our style despit the little delay that go together. I'm very happy to see that customers can understand that fresh food and small familly run-restaurant can be valuable. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Hope to see you again some days. Your faithfully, Robert and Siriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very special small restaurant - You have to go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We came late to Vence - flight delayed for 5 hours and the only think we needed was a nice meal and a class of wine. Les Lavandes was still open :) - our luck.
Food was just excellent - home made from the buttom - using only the very best raw material. Unsual polite service.
The rating is so well deserved. Went back two days later eating outdoor. Still the same service despite the restaurant was fully booked. Okey - we was told that we were very welcome - 9.20pm - but we should expect a bit of waiting time. Every minutes was worth it - so please do not complain than home made food takes time to make :) - will be back before we leave

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for a so sweet review about our restaurant. It was a pleasure to receive you as well as it will be again if by accident your steps bring you back to Vence. Your faithfully Robert and Siriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on our last night in Vence and glad we chose this restaurant. Very quaint interior with approx 8 tables so booking would be advisable in high season. The night we went there were 4 tables occupied and found the service impeccable. The flavours came through in all the dishes we had and it is clear the husband and wife team that run this place have high standards. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so happy to read again such a review that show us that we are appreciate for the food we serve as much as the service we enjoy to give to our most loved customers. Thank you again and best wishes from Robert and Siriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Top Choice in Vence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent five nights in Vence and opted for dinner here two nights in a row. Great service from Robert, attentive with the right pace. The food was inventive and delicious. Whether you opt for prixe fixe (~$109) with house wine or off the menu ($141), you will be delighted with the fine food at a reasonable price. The fish soup with parmesan was unique appetizer. I had sea bream one evening, and the other shrimp---both delicious with an artful presentation style. My husband loved his chicken dish with risotto a bit more than his beef tenderloin choice. Had a decent Rose house wine that was refreshing and a half bottle of red wine from Provence the other evening. --The restaurant is small , so one evening we enjoyed a conversation with a German couple at the table next to us. Recommend a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert T, Owner at Les Lavandes, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you so much for this sweet review. It always makes us happy to know that our dear customers have been enjoying their visit at our restaurant. You are all the most welcome. Your faithfully, Robert and Siriya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Lavandes also viewed

Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Les Lavandes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Lavandes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.