We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place we will always cherish.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Save Saved
You added Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Vence
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A place we will always cherish.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this fabulous hotel (on the recommendation of trip advisor). Although having a 2 star rating we were given the 5 star treatment by the hotel owners. Nothing was too much trouble and our room, which had views of the mountains, was spacious and well appointed. This hotel concentrates on the little things, flowers and fruit in the room, freshly made bed each day and a restaurant to die for.

The quaintness of this hotel is hard to explain, but I am sure that anyone who stays here will feel an atmosphere that one does not get from modern establishments. This hotel is honest in its presentation and one can feel the true history of the region oozing from its walls.

We have travelled throughout the world and this place will certainly forever hold a special place for us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is like a homely heritage hotel. Our room was on the second level and it was spacious, with a view to the mountains. We liked the little table in the room that allowed us to chill out and have a snack. We were also pleasantly surprised to see the room tidied and with a piece of chocolate left for us when we came back after a walk around town! (it was only a few hours ago that we checked in!) 
Bathroom was spacious and clean too. 

The hosts are a jovial elderly couple, and Danielle was so enthusiastic to have us here that she came down immediately to pick up my luggage! A very kind gesture which I have to refuse! (We couldn't bear to make her carry our heavy luggage though!)

The hotel is well placed near to the bus station, about 5-7 min walk away (bus gets us to St Paul de Vence) and there were small cafes around for a breakfast or lunch. As for dinner, we chose to have it at the hotel after seeing great reviews on Tripadvisor. We told Danielle that we wanted roast chicken for dinner about 2hrs in advance so she could prepare it. It was beautifully roasted by Danielle in the restaurant & the chicken was juicy and tender. Definitely worth a try! 

It is not a luxurious place, but definitely recommend for someone who enjoys a homely welcome and who likes to experience the heritage of Vence! 

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights here. Our top floor room, the Modigliani room, was spacious and nicely decorated with Provencal fabrics. Two large windows provided views of the hills above Vence, with an added bonus of a view of the Matisse Chapel. The inn and attached restaurant were charming. The dinner we had was excellent - lamb roasted over the spit in the huge wood burning open oven which is at one end of the dining room. Ample breakfasts were served in the same room every morning. This was one of the nicest places we stayed in our trip to the south of France and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was a lovely little hotel. We stayed 4 nights in a twin room which was spacious, clean and comfortable. Little touches like roses in the room and fresh fruit each day, added to the character. The car park was very close and the hotel provided 10 euros worth of parking each day which was a real help. The only very slight improvement would be more comfortable pillows! It doesn't have any outside space which some people might miss especially in good weather. Great view from the window though. Friendly and welcoming - would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Wonderfully walking town and the hotel is right there. It is still April and we were given the prime room, large and fronting the street. The bathroom is small but updated and clean, the rest of the hotel is gloriously old. The staff/owners are extremely friendly and really want to make your stay wonderful. Their restaurant is very good and full of locals for both lunch and dinner. You park a block away, the hotel validates the parking. Go to the above ground,"farther away lot". It really is not that further and is MUCH easier to park and get in and out. The Tourism Office is just down the street, a stop everyone should make in a new town. Total bill: €266. Two nights, one dinner with wine (Cash only-no cards) . If deciding between Vence and St Paul de Vence, take Vence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed recently with some friends and I instantly fell in love with the building, which has a sense of calm and peace, and is absolutely delightful. Also everything is so clean. That alone would make this an excellent place to stay. But it is the way that we were cared for that made this a very special place. Nothing was too much trouble! As one example alone, Danielle was up at 04.30 on the day that we had to leave, just in order to make us coffee, smile and wave us off at 05.00. The kindness shown to us was heart-warming. And also what magnificent breakfasts; and I once had dinner there and it was as good a meal as I've ever had. I could say much, much more. But I just want to thank everyone, I hope that nothing changes for a long time, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for four nights with some friends to cycle. The owners of the hotel were incredibly welcoming and accommodating to us. We arrived really late at night, they were there to welcome us. They let us use their garage to securely store our bikes. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were superb (lovely fresh croisants, brioche and bread), cereal, fruit, yoghurt, coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc and we were asked to take what we hadn't eaten for our lunch, so as not to waste it!

I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel may be slightly queiter, but I don't think you'd get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vence
#5 Family Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.