We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Vence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently returned from a 4 week vacation in Southern France. We spent 3 nights at Auberge des Seigneurs in Vence. The hotel is charming, filled with wonderful art work and photos of artists who have stayed there. Our room was on the third floor and offered spectacular views of the surrounding countryside. The room, though not fancy, was comfortable and spacious.
The restaurant at the hotel is fabulous! We ate there twice and couldn't have been more pleased. We also enjoyed the breakfasts. Our hosts, Sandrine Roti and her mother, were welcoming and extremely accommodating and speak fluent English. We recommend Auberge des Seigneurs enthusiastically!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a most delightful visit from Saturday 9/22 to Wednesday 9/26. Three adults, two lovely rooms. Sandrine and her Mother were helpful and charming. We had dinner on Saturday and Tuesday nights - both dinner were fabulous. It is the perfect French Inn!! We are passing the word to friends and relatives!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last summer and it was a very nice hotel. The owners were very welcoming. We were here to stay the night before our early flight the next morning from Nice airport. We had a beautiful view from our room. The only minor inconvenient thing was that the hotel doesn't have its own parking so we had to park our car in a parking lot a block away. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

One of the most delightful places we've stayed anywhere. Comforable, spotlessly clean, beatuifully decorated rooms and common areas with antiques. Great service. Nice breakfast. Sorry to has missed dinner there (restaurant not open Monday night), as had hear it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteborg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place has a really wonderful feeling and atmosphere, and the personell are extremely friendly, helpful and kind.
Strongly recommend this place to everyone seeking a couple of nights in Vence!
Nothing at all to complain about!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for three days and found the Auberge absolutely charming. The inn is operated by a lovely women and her staff who are very much life a family. Our room on the second floor was large, spotless with beautiful antiques and lovely views out the windows. Breakfasts were in the restaurant's dining room and they were more than adequate. The one diner we had at the auberge was lamb roasted in the dining room's open-pit fire place. The lamb was fabulous.

Vence is an excellent base of operations for visiting the French Riviera. It is close to the coast and other hill towns, and it has numerous sights of its own to visit. A very charming place. Don't forget to visit the Matisse Chapel...It is an unforgettable experience.

Note: there is no elevator to the rooms above the restaurant and the parking lot is a block away from the auberge...They are both minor inconveniences to an overall wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent a very enjoyable wk end here, beautiful location, within easy reach of all the bars and restaurants.
Warm welcome and spotlessly clean.
Planning to return early nxt year.
Efficient bus routes nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.