We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical ambience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or to your Saves list
Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or
Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Vence
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Historical ambience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner at this cosy place. It has a medieval feel, and they barbeque in the fireplace in the diningroom. Unforunately we were not able to choose this since the fireplace was "closed for the evening". The food is good "homemade style", the food is cheap, and the service very polite and friendly. Average place all in all, nothing for the gourmet seekers.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Auberge for three nights and absolutely loved our time there. Our rooms was huge with a small table and chairs as well as a huge armoire and two very comfortable chairs. There was another armoire in the hallway between the water closet and the bathroom. Sandrine and her husband were friendly, helpful and very good at what they do. It seems they do just about everything themselves - welcome guests, answer questions, clean, cook, as well as raise three (I think there were three) young children and take care of a dog and a cat. I was in awe.

We ate at the restaurant twice - very good food and fabulously cozy atmosphere with a fireplace and food cooked on the spit.

We also loved Vence. It is tourist town, but is real as well. It is big enough that it has real shops, with things people use in daily life, as well as things that for tourists. It is big enough to offer diversity and a lively atmosphere. And it is full of wonderfully small twisty street. My only regret is we missed the Matisse chapel - it was closed when we went our first day, and then somehow we forgot all about it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a lovely weekend staying here.The hotel is part of the medieval town wall and our room had a super view across to the mountains beyond. Sandrine and and her family made us so welcome, we felt we were staying with friends. We really appreciated the fresh fruit in the room and excellent breakfast. We also had a lovely evening meal here - cooked on the spit in the restaurant (we had the lamb - delicious!!) Recommend parking in the underground multi storey car park in the centre of town - Sandrine gave us a voucher which covered most of the cost of parking there the whole weekend.

We had some lovely walks down to St Paul de Vence (about 5 miles return) and up the mountain to the cross on the top (about 12 miles, steep in parts - spectacular views back across to the coast) take a picnic and enjoy!! We found the blue "cartes de Randonnee" maps excellent for this. Some people parked at the top and walked across to the summit - much easier!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the best view, the rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I can't say enough about this wonderful inn...it is family owned, they speak English, the place is just lovely, I was able to pick my room, I took the one with the wonderful red and yellow french country spread and drapes with a wonder wood table and hi-back chairs, I opened my shutters and WOW..what a view of yhe mountain and homes tucked in and the street below where all life just happens....they have a awesome restaurant and loved my breakfast every morning...so central, located near everyhting, a great town....we went looking for the l'onge store to fire up the iPad or get a sim card we could not find it a elderly French lady who did not speak English walked us blocks to the front door...see they are nice in the country....one of the most pretty towns beside Eze...oh! And the price is right...I will be returning....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We spent one night in Auberge des Seigneurs in late August and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The lack of facillities such as air conditioning and lift were far outweighed by the splendid service, friendly atmosphere and ambience. We will certainly return again.
Splendid value for money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

A Medieval town and a medieval Auberge; Auberge des Seigneurs has a timeless feel as if it has remained unchanged since it was built in the Middle Ages. It is exactly what we English imagine an Auberge to be; full of character, lots of wood and stone with that essential (without meaning to be patronising) 'rustic charm'.

Our room on the top floor was very large with a shower room, sitting area and a small dining table and chairs. Fresh fruit appeared every day. The whole Auberge was spotlessly clean throughout, and the servicing of the rooms was no exception; it was also done promptly, efficiently and early in the mornings. The Armoires in the room were superb items of furniture - huge and beautifully carved.

Breakfast was the typical French Continental with excellent ingredients; great croissants, fresh crusty bread and excellent coffee. The Auberge has a restaurant - the terrace has probably the best view of any in Vence across the valley to the Matisse Chapel - but we didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.

Sandrine and her family were really friendly and helpful, providing lots of help and advice prior to our arrival which was much appreciated. We had originally planned to hire a car and she had reserved a parking place for us for the duration of our stay - this was more significant than may at first seem given the paucity of parking in the area.

All in all, a great stay in a wonderful, typical Auberge and we have absolute pleasure in recommending it unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We took an afternoon TGV from Avignon to Cagnes-sur-Mer's station where a taxi-driver friend of Sandrine's met and drove us to Vence on Saturday. Our goal was to attend the 10 AM Mass held in the Matisse Chapelle du Rosaire on Sunday. Sandrine informed us she would be serving dinner outside on the Terrace and we were welcome to join the crowd. We did and it was extraordinary. Sunday morning after a wonderful breakfast ,we walked to the Chapel and celebrated Mass (there were English hand-outs). We give high "marks" to the Auberge, especially our room with a view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or

Address: Place du Frene, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vence
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vence
#5 Family Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seigneurs Et Du Lion d`Or Hotel Vence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge des Seigneurs et du Lion d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.