We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks every box” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bergerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Bergerie to your Saves list
La Bergerie
2431 Route de cagnes | Residence la Bergerie Villa 15, 06140 Vence, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Vence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ticks every box”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this great property, with the most wonderful hosts on 19/7.
I couldn't recommend highly enough, impeccably clean, luxurious fit out, private, quiet and resort like.
An easy drive to Vence, and the old city.
Delicious breakfast served by the pool, overlooking the hills, and homesteads.
The bed was soooo comfortable

Room Tip: I could not fault any part of La Bergerie, However my husbands map skills sent us to many destinati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, KS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is a lot to like about this B&B. The view from the pool area, where breakfast is served, is spectacular. The breakfast is very nice, and Alexandre is happy to have eggs cooked to your specifications, in addition to delicious croissants and baguettes. Alexandre and his father were both pleasant and accommodating, made helpful suggestions about local restaurants, and even made reservations for us. They both seemed very eager to please. I have one caveat: There are big differences among the rooms. Two of them face south and open onto a large deck overlooking the pool, with a great view of the sea in the distance. At least one of them has a very large tub that could accommodate two people at once. The other two rooms face north or east, with considerably less desirable views. The north-facing one also has a shower with no door or curtain, so it is hard to keep from flooding the bathroom floor as you shower. On the other hand, all the rooms have comfortable king size beds, so sleeping is easy. This is a luxurious place. To enjoy it to the fullest, spend the extra money for the best rooms. They are more than worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have the best views and share a large deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We emailed about staying here but someone had just reserved their last room so Alexandre offered the studio instead. The room looks exactly as is in the pictures he emailed but it's not the luxe described in other reviews of the rooms in the house. Firstly, the wifi doesn't work in the studio or even at the pool. We could only get one bar between our three devices (and with an unsteady connection) if sitting on the porch in front of the breakfast area. Secondly, the studio was damp even though it was cold outside. We left the windows open during the day to try and air it out which helped but then we came back to spiders in the room and the frogs at night are so loud even with the windows shut that you can't leave them open all night (and the heater just made the air even worse). Also, the room could have some nicer touches such as toiletries (only hand soap was provided) and shades on all windows to block sunlight. Between the musty smell, loud frogs and no wifi, I definitely would not recommend staying in the studio.
However, the location was really good, great views from terrace and the breakfast was very generous with breads, croissants, strawberries, eggs and ham, teas, etc. Also, Alexandre and his parents were very nice and always checked in to see if they could provide anything else. One of us got sick and they offered us medicine which was very sweet. Overall, I think we would have had a much better experience if we had stayed in the house.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Let's be straight - the accommodation here is right at the top end. Rooms are very large, pool is spectacular, TVs are preposterously big and there's a great view. If you want a taste of living with the super rich of the Cote then this is the place for you.

If you are looking for the personable warmth of a B&B then you may be a little disappointed. The hosts are very efficient and happy to dispense advice, but staying here is very much a business transaction. You pay a (fairly high) amount of money and get service in return. The gated community in which it is located is secure, but feels a little oppressive and certainly not a welcoming ambience. I've stayed in some beautiful b&bs in the past and felt like I've made good friends for the future, sharing cultures and experiences. Those places are rare, and La Bergerie is probably not one. But if you want a taste of how the other half lives then go for it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We are an irish couple in our mid 30s who spent a few beautiful days here in Sept.This place is located on millionaires row! with alarmed gates to get onto the road.Its so private and stunning.You need a car. The views from the pool are breathtaking.Such a quiet and relaxing sunbathing experience. Top class accomodation. Beautiful fluffy towels and bed linen, very french and quaint rooms. Great fresh bread and fruit for breakfast. The host and his dad could not do enough for us. Would highly recommend.I recommend Fly in and out of Nice, hire a car, visit St Paul, Vence, Gourdon and Eze. South of France is expensive but beautiful. Do a week if you have lots of dosh;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a great few days here last month. We've stayed at a bunch of nice places in France, but this is definitely one of the very best. It feels like you're the guest of a casino magnate -- sumptuous rooms with huge flat screen tvs, great views and ohh la la, that pool overlooking the valley. Alexandre Colomb and his father were both super nice and full of tips about the surrounding area. The property is isolated, yet convenient to many interesting towns nearby. We definitely plan on coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

La Bergerie is a private luxury house in a quiet residential area a few kilometers outside Vence. The place is beautyful with lots of romantic details. We stayed for 3 days with our two kids and it was the best part of our vacation. The poll is stunning, the room spacious and carefully decorated, the view over the mountains and the sea is fantastic and the property is so nice and beautyful that you just want to stay there and enjoy every minute.

The family runs this B&B as a small luxury boutique hotel and they are doing a great job. They are nice and friendly and allways ready to make your stay even more comfortable.

At first when we arrived we were a little affald that our kids would make to much noise and disturb the other guests who clearly wanted to profit from the quietness of the place. But they behaved faily well (!) and the family made us all fell very welcome.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Address: 2431 Route de cagnes | Residence la Bergerie Villa 15, 06140 Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
« La Bergerie » entirely renovated in 2012, with an independant access. There is an incredible view of the Mediterranean. The 4 different themes of the rooms will surprise you, with “tnt”, wifi Internet connection, a high-quality and high-comfort beds, a fully equiped bathrooms with toilets,fridge,air conditioning. This place offers privacy and cosiness to its customers, thanks to its peaceful and quiet environment, with swimming-pool , 5 Kms from Saint Paul and 12 Kms from Nice International Airport. "La Bergerie” is at the heart of the main touristic activities and sights of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bergerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.