We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for launching walking tour of Vence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Victoire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Victoire to your Saves list
La Victoire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4, place du Grand Jardin, 06140 Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Vence
College Station
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for launching walking tour of Vence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you're following the Michelin Green Guide to the French Riviera, the recommended walking tour of Vence's old town begins at the front door of this hotel, which is located just outside the Petra Gateway through the old town walls. If your purpose is to explore the old buildings, narrow roads and hidden squares of this ancient town, this is the place to stay. It's also close to a wide selection of restaurants.
My room was small but clean and efficiently laid out. I was on my own so there was sufficient space for my open suitcase. However, a second person's suitcase would not have fitted so conveniently. The bed was particularly comfortable and, although my room faced the street, with the window closed I was not bothered by any outside noise. Breakfast was standard French, with wonderful fresh bread (on a Sunday morning!) together with a few extras.
The staff were very firendly and helpful. As soon as I made my reservation several weeks ahead of time, they sent me a welcoming e-mail and, in response to my request, they gave me careful driving instructions to reach their hotel from the Nice Cote d'Azur airport. When I arrived, the man at the desk took me personally to my room and gave me detailed instructions (in good English) about the TV, air conditioning, etc. Then and the next morning he was very helpful in every way.
A couple of cautionary notes for those who care about such things. The hotel lobby is one floor above street level. To get there, you must climb a narrow curving (indoor) starcase. Once you reach the lobby, there is an elevator to take you to the upper floors.
Also, if you arrive by car you need to be aware that immediately after you pass the hotel, the road becomes narrow and one-way leading away from the hotel. That means that, if you do as I did and only notice the hotel after you have passed it, then you are treated to a one-way journey though the whole town, after which you are faced with an assortment of signs directing you to other towns but no sign telling you how to get back to where you were on the other side of Vence. It took me 30 minutes, many kilometers and three stops for instructions before I got back to where I could try it ll again.
Be sure that as you drive along avenue de la resistance towards the hotel, keep your eyes open for the widening at the square, place du Grand-Jardin. Immediately before the square on your right you will see a turn off to the Grand-Jardin underground car park. Take it and park; the hotel is just across the street from, but 20 meters beyond, the car park entrance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavictoire, Gérant at La Victoire, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on this website after your visit to the Hotel La Victoire Vence.
Driven by the constant search for satisfaction, feedback from our hosts are definitely the basis of our work.
We are therefore delighted to express the satisfaction you after your visit, it encourages us to maintain our current methods not without further reflection to improve benefits and services we offer.
In fact, our goal everyday is to provide a quality service to our customers and anticipate their needs as much as possible.
Your comments motivate us to continue our efforts to ensure that your next visit with us is - at least to the height of the last one.
Looking forward the pleasure to welcoming you again in our house, please accept our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
92
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A nice and clean hotel, friendly staff and located in the heart of Vence. Our room was small, but in total we were very satisfied with the staff and service. Hotel is right next to the main square. Breakfast was average. Warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Victoire some time ago but I forgot to review it at the time so am making up for that now. The Victoire is located right in the centre of Vence and overlooks the main square and the beautiful old medieval town. There is a large underground car park below the square which is staffed and monitored 24hrs and you can get discount parking with a ticket obtained from the hotel reception. The entrance to the hotel is up a flight of stairs which for us is no problem but might be an issue if your older or have problems walking etc. I don't see this as in any way a detriment to the hotel, I'm just mentioning it so people are forewarned.

The owners of the hotel, Nathaly and Pierre are a lovely couple, very warm and welcoming and always helpful if you need advice about the area, places to eat, things to see etc and of course they speak perfect English so no worries if your French is not up to par. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and as far as I am aware all have air-conditioning. The windows are double glazed so noise from the bustling streets outside is kept to a minimum.

All in all I cannot really fault this hotel. We have stayed in many places throughout France and wider Europe and this is probably one of our favorite hotels so far. It's kind of hard to put into words but it just has "that feel" about it? Others who have stayed there will know what I mean and I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking to stay in Vence for a few nights. We will certainly be back there in 2013 and hopefully at the Victoire, if it's not booked up by then of course.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the corner of the hotel which I think was on the third floor. It's a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Vence was a last minute detour on our vacation and the La Victoire coudn't have been a better choice. Located across the street from the walled city and parking, it couldn't have been easier to visit Vence. Nathalie greeted us, showed us to our room and helped with whatever was needed (which wasn't much). Overnight parking was 3 euro with the hotel discount - so don't forget to ask. The rooms are small, but modern and clean. The internet works just how you want it - fast and one log in for our entire stay. But the location is key. It's just steps to tons of restaurants and a very nice boulangerie/pâtisserie right across the street. Vence is a beautiful little town and the La Victoire suits it to a tee!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

A very warm welcome in a great location. Right in the middle of the village. Car parking very handy and a great discount when you get a ticket from hotel reception. This is as it is described a Boutique Hotel, so although very basic it had a tv, aircon, and free wifi. The room was spotless, fresh towels and a most comfortable bed. We would definately return and although out stay was only one night we would stay again. Friendly, helpful staff recommending great restaurants and place which are more expensived aimed at tourists. Go on book it, fab place. Vence is an amazing village and a must see. Steeped in history.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and basic but as describe this is a boutique hotel. Still a wonderful hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We wholeheartedly recommend this hotel for its excellent locationand most helpful owners and hotel staff. Pierre and Natalie went out of their way to help us after our car broke down leaving us stranded for 5 days. After our previous experience at an earlier hotel this was a wonderful stay. The hotel is recently modernised and the rooms are air conditioned and completely quiet.It is ideally placed looking onto the lively market square and just a few steps outside the pedestrianised old walled town of Vence with its narrow winding streets, its gushing fountains, its famous chapel designed by Matisse,and its many restaurants. We made many delightful excursions into the countryside and nearby hill towns. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: As this hotel is in a traditional Vence town house the rooms are not enormous but they are perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You simply must try this quaint hotel. It is run by husband and wife, Pierre & Nathaly. They are friendly, helpful and speak great English! Their hotel rooms are of typical European size (adequate room, small shower, nice bidet) and clean, clean, clean. We were impressed by their "green" initiatives and their love of Guns 'n Roses. HAHA

The hotel is right on Le Grande Jardin. We watched children play, old French men trying to outdo each other in Bocce ball, and couples walk arm in arm. It was magical. We had a corner room so we could see the gates into the Old City. It was delighful. We will definitely stay here again if we are fortunate enough to come to Provence.

We felt like family. Thank you, Nathalie and Pierre!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Victoire

Address: 4, place du Grand Jardin, 06140 Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Victoire 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 air condition bedrooms - double glazed windows - new renovated hotel in the center of town, next to the historical town of Vence. Airport transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Victoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Victoire Vence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.