We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time's a charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
6, Boulevard Carnot, 06410 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 01 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 restaurants in Valbonne
Price range: $56 - $134
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Valbonne, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2nd time's a charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We returned 4 days ago and took some friends over from the States...did they like Lou Cigalon?
They LOVED IT! Did they enjoy the food? Extremely! Were the plates scraped empty...every one.

In a nutshell this restaurant is a gem,the owners are wonderful and warm people who take pride in what they do and the chef knowsexactly what he is doing with each and every dish.
Grown up playtime for all foodies out there who enjoy different tastes and combinations.

We shall return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    109
    19
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Didn't believe the reviews....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hadn't been a great admirer of reviews before, always a little sceptical, but the rave write ups about Lou Cigalon inspired me to book a table for 2 for a romantic dinner with my better half. We go to a lot of restaurants so our expectation of this tiny venue in a small provincial town was not too high. Couldn't have been more wrong. Rarely do you find a gem like this where the quality of the food is matched by the warmest of welcomes and attention to every detail. The care and enthusiasm shown by the chef and our lovely waitress were second to none. Sensational evening of 6 courses with 3 amuse bouche and then petit fours - 10 courses in all for a stunning 70 Euro + wine. We would go back every day and twice on Sundays if they were open. Do not miss it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Returned and again so wonderful-don't miss it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We returned to Lou Cigalon in Valbonne and will always visit when in the area. Food very special with set menu but flexible if customers are allergic/intolerable to some ingredients. Our first course was a soft boiled egg with truffles and sauce with mushrooms. One of our party is intolerant of mushrooms & substitutions were made...so fine in both preparations. The hostess is a delight and we dearly will await our next trip to this restaurant as one of our favorites!! Make reservations and note the restaurant is air conditioned which is especially important this summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Dishes warm and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beyond our expectations we were absolutely positively surprised.
Starting from the very warm welcome over the great selection of wines through the extremely creative dishes, always made to the point, we had an evening and dining experience which we only got to know in restaurants that have at least one michelin star. According to our experience this is the best place to go for an evening dinner when you are around Opio/Valbonne. Not in any other location in the area you will receive this quality for such an adequate price. Unfortunately we have to leave Valbonne. Otherwise we would come back tomorrow. Please make sure to reserve a table by phone or email in advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I often use tripadvisor to search for restaurants but have very rarely left a review myself. However Lou Cigalon was such a lovely experience that I left feeling inspired to do so. Every part of our meal was excellent, truly inspirational especially considering the chef is on his own the kitchen. His wife covers front of house and delivered the kind of service that was perfect and from our experience quite rare in the south of France. The two of them clearly love what they do and it is apparent from when you first step into the restaurant until you leave. Exceptional! We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Cigalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;