We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
6, Boulevard Carnot, 06410 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 01 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 restaurants in Valbonne
Price range: $57 - $135
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I often use tripadvisor to search for restaurants but have very rarely left a review myself. However Lou Cigalon was such a lovely experience that I left feeling inspired to do so. Every part of our meal was excellent, truly inspirational especially considering the chef is on his own the kitchen. His wife covers front of house and delivered the kind of service that was perfect and from our experience quite rare in the south of France. The two of them clearly love what they do and it is apparent from when you first step into the restaurant until you leave. Exceptional! We will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Lou Cigalon answered in your opinion...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    107
    19
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We fortunately found Lou Cigalon on trip advisor and what a amazing experience it was. The husband and wife team created one of the finest meals that you could wish for in a very nice setting. The menu was excellent and the combination of ingredients and flavours along with true French presentation made it an unforgettable experience. Their service was very friendly and we understood from our conversation that this was a love of theirs not a job. It truly shows, magnificent. Thankyou for such an amazing evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream came through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lou Cigalon is a masterpiece. My wife and I spend more than 3 hours with the masterchef and his brilliant waiter yesterday and the food was as close to perfect as it can get. The taste, in many way different from "mainroad" left a very lasting impression. This is certaily a place that we will come back to - again and again. Yesterday we had (almost) the full chef menu, next time we will try out the "standard" - which also is great. We went for the local wine - which we belive one shall do - being in Provence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in everyway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious and the service was amazing. Much attention was given to details and everything was prepared by the Chef himself. From the entree, main course, dessert to the "mignardise" and caramels by the door. We loved it and will definitly go back next time we come to Valbonne.

I would also like to add that we took out 6 month old son and they did everything to make sure he was happy too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure! Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Being for last 16 years a Zagat member and righting a lot of reviews, I can only say WOW!!!
Excellent service, warmth of the owners, impressive vine list, great atmosphere and unbelievable food and presentation!
It was one of the best culinary experience in my life. I only can say: "I'll be back!"

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Cigalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.