We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream came through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
6, Boulevard Carnot, 06410 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 01 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A dream came through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Lou Cigalon is a masterpiece. My wife and I spend more than 3 hours with the masterchef and his brilliant waiter yesterday and the food was as close to perfect as it can get. The taste, in many way different from "mainroad" left a very lasting impression. This is certaily a place that we will come back to - again and again. Yesterday we had (almost) the full chef menu, next time we will try out the "standard" - which also is great. We went for the local wine - which we belive one shall do - being in Provence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    22
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in everyway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious and the service was amazing. Much attention was given to details and everything was prepared by the Chef himself. From the entree, main course, dessert to the "mignardise" and caramels by the door. We loved it and will definitly go back next time we come to Valbonne.

I would also like to add that we took out 6 month old son and they did everything to make sure he was happy too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValbonneRavis, Propriétaire at Lou Cigalon, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Google Translation
Lou Cigalon a répondu à votre avis et vous remercie pour vos remarques…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure! Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Being for last 16 years a Zagat member and righting a lot of reviews, I can only say WOW!!!
Excellent service, warmth of the owners, impressive vine list, great atmosphere and unbelievable food and presentation!
It was one of the best culinary experience in my life. I only can say: "I'll be back!"

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Michelin level without a stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden gem of Valbonne. Together with Clos St Basil they are two best restaurants to visit in Mougins, Grass and Valbonne area. What is amazing neither one nor the other has a Michelin star. This Michelin people they are strange......
Loup Cigalon has a star with a previous owner but we never visited at that time. Now, the new owner who also teach young people in the culinary college in Cagnes sur Mer as I remember. He is alone at the kitchen and his wife is alone to serve a clients and they do it perfectly. Food is extremely good, service is warm, there are couple of sets and also a la carte menu. I recommend to take a bigger menu. it's not huge, portions are not big, and you will taste his main hits. Booking is a must. Not to be missed if you are in the area !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biot, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my husband went to Lou Cigalon for the first time last Thursday, but it will definitely not be the last. Both the food and the service was fantastic and we loved the atmosphere!
Not only was the food delicious - it was also innovative and the presentation beautiful. We found the 3 course menu to be very high quality for a good price and the service nice and personal.
Just go there - you will be happy!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Cigalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.