We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure! Unforgettable experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
6, Boulevard Carnot, 06410 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 01 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 79 Restaurants in Valbonne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $114
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure! Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Being for last 16 years a Zagat member and righting a lot of reviews, I can only say WOW!!!
Excellent service, warmth of the owners, impressive vine list, great atmosphere and unbelievable food and presentation!
It was one of the best culinary experience in my life. I only can say: "I'll be back!"

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    23
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Michelin level without a stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden gem of Valbonne. Together with Clos St Basil they are two best restaurants to visit in Mougins, Grass and Valbonne area. What is amazing neither one nor the other has a Michelin star. This Michelin people they are strange......
Loup Cigalon has a star with a previous owner but we never visited at that time. Now, the new owner who also teach young people in the culinary college in Cagnes sur Mer as I remember. He is alone at the kitchen and his wife is alone to serve a clients and they do it perfectly. Food is extremely good, service is warm, there are couple of sets and also a la carte menu. I recommend to take a bigger menu. it's not huge, portions are not big, and you will taste his main hits. Booking is a must. Not to be missed if you are in the area !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biot, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my husband went to Lou Cigalon for the first time last Thursday, but it will definitely not be the last. Both the food and the service was fantastic and we loved the atmosphere!
Not only was the food delicious - it was also innovative and the presentation beautiful. We found the 3 course menu to be very high quality for a good price and the service nice and personal.
Just go there - you will be happy!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little treasure in the heart of Valbonne Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Big surprises come in little packages and this is what I will say about Lou Cigalon in Valbonne.
A small restaurant with a BIG heart and excellent service. There are not many tables so do reserve..in fact it is a must otherwise you will be disappointed.
Once the menu was handed to me ...I had my Pavlovian reaction and immediately started salivating. There are 2 Menus on offer: Menu Decouverte at 39€ with an either/or selection of mouthwatering suggestions and the Sensation du Marche at 68€ which we chose. We savoured the dishes that were beautifully presented...each dish had little "crumbs/seasonings " to one side to be "taste with your finger" and I did...each and every time she said we could: there was a dusting of cumin with the Lobster, sugared verveine with the refresher sorbet and ginger bread with the Camembert.
Fabulous French cuisine that is neither humble nor over exaggerated. Bring an appetite,sit back and enjoy LaDoucette Pouilly Fussee...you can thank me later!
Check out the website for the menus which they change every 2/3 months...I am so excited,because the change is imminent and so is our return to this enchanting little restaurant with the most charming hostess and chef.
What are you waiting for? Make a reservation for your next trip over.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our 4th visit to this lovely restaurant in Valbonne confirmed its consistently high standard of food and service. The attention to detail and the pride in their work shine out from this most welcoming husband and wife team. Also, their decouverte menu is excellent value and the wine list is reasonably priced (sadly unusual for this standard of restaurant).
PS. I am not sure about outdoor seating arrangements for the summer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Mougins, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Cigalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.