We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
6, Boulevard Carnot, 06410 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 01 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 restaurants in Valbonne
Price range: $57 - $135
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Biot, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Me and my husband went to Lou Cigalon for the first time last Thursday, but it will definitely not be the last. Both the food and the service was fantastic and we loved the atmosphere!
Not only was the food delicious - it was also innovative and the presentation beautiful. We found the 3 course menu to be very high quality for a good price and the service nice and personal.
Just go there - you will be happy!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    108
    19
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Valbonne, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little treasure in the heart of Valbonne Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Big surprises come in little packages and this is what I will say about Lou Cigalon in Valbonne.
A small restaurant with a BIG heart and excellent service. There are not many tables so do reserve..in fact it is a must otherwise you will be disappointed.
Once the menu was handed to me ...I had my Pavlovian reaction and immediately started salivating. There are 2 Menus on offer: Menu Decouverte at 39€ with an either/or selection of mouthwatering suggestions and the Sensation du Marche at 68€ which we chose. We savoured the dishes that were beautifully presented...each dish had little "crumbs/seasonings " to one side to be "taste with your finger" and I did...each and every time she said we could: there was a dusting of cumin with the Lobster, sugared verveine with the refresher sorbet and ginger bread with the Camembert.
Fabulous French cuisine that is neither humble nor over exaggerated. Bring an appetite,sit back and enjoy LaDoucette Pouilly Fussee...you can thank me later!
Check out the website for the menus which they change every 2/3 months...I am so excited,because the change is imminent and so is our return to this enchanting little restaurant with the most charming hostess and chef.
What are you waiting for? Make a reservation for your next trip over.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our 4th visit to this lovely restaurant in Valbonne confirmed its consistently high standard of food and service. The attention to detail and the pride in their work shine out from this most welcoming husband and wife team. Also, their decouverte menu is excellent value and the wine list is reasonably priced (sadly unusual for this standard of restaurant).
PS. I am not sure about outdoor seating arrangements for the summer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

In this small and cosy restaurant fabulous dished are served. No strange or raw food but classical French cuisine at its best. The service is impeccable and consists of one person: the chef´s wife.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Riviera
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“WOW !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am unable to find a suitable title summarizing last nights’ dining experience at Lou Cigalon which is located in an old 3 story house in the center of Valbonne.
Walking in the front door we immediately stopped as it seemed we were walking into the kitchen. No, it is the entrance to the restaurant where you walk by the Chef Chambaud
working under his shiny copper pans hanging from the ceiling.
He is alone in his kitchen and his wife accompanies the guests to their table. The small dining room is decorated in a fashionable modern Provence style with dim lights, small stone pavement and modern wall paintings giving a very romantic feel. There are only 6 tables which could accommodate up to 20 guests You are in Mrs Chambauds’ dining room and she will take care of you as if you were family.
One should take “guest” literally. Mr & Mrs Chambaud indicated that they chose to limit their number of guests to 10 or 4 tables and have no employees. Beyond that the Chef no longer enjoys cooking. This little secret was shared when I commented on the people without reservations being turned away while 2 of the 6 set tables remained unoccupied.
The restaurant offers only 3 menus (and the “a la carte” is a pick from these menus). The daily menu is posted on a blackboard and updated after the Chef returns from the market, the other two are changed on average every 2 months.
The food … even the word “food” seems inappropriate. Mr Chambaud in his fifties has accumulated a lot of experience before taking over this restaurant and because he enjoys
cooking he is closed 2 days a week while he teaches cooking to youngsters in a neighbouring town school.
Defining his cooking would certainly lead to “gastronomic” but not in the common sense.
It seems as though he starts off choosing a base component and builds up the dish with a number of ingredients such as crystal ginger, candied slice of garlic (looks like an almond), a flavoured herb grown in the Burgundy region, a run of 4 spices on the edge of the plate, … Each mouthful has a different taste according to what you have picked up with your fork.
A festival of taste for the palate.
In summary a meal at Lou Cigalon is like taking a tour in the vast world of cooking. For gourmets only ! And reservations a must.
PS. Mrs Chambaud has only basic knowledge of English but the Menu is in French & English so you will only miss out on the translation of some of the ingredients.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Cigalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.