We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch by all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lou Cigalon

Lou Cigalon
6, Boulevard Carnot, 06410 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 01 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 67 restaurants in Valbonne
Price range: $56 - $134
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Classic French cooking with style. Child of 8 years was given menu tailored for him while keeping all our courses (plus extra homemade marshmellows!!) . Gluten free needs met while keeping in the style and fashion of our multi-course meal. A definite must and on top of it with a charming hostess.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    109
    19
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Most pleasant dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We went there as a family with 5 children for lunch and were most pleasantly surprised by its high level of quality and service. We had the set lunch and each dish were most delicious. Madame was most attentive and the chef even took some time to have a little chat with us. We would love to return again , perhaps without the children as we can imagine it to be avery nice evening venue and even during the winter times, the ambiance was most cosy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in the French Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This restaurant provides the old French atmosphere, the fine attention to details in the cuisine, and the earnest service of the chef's wife who really seems to want the diners to feel as though they are guests in her home. Each dish was perfect. The service was impeccable. Overall, i felt as though the quality of the restaurant really was superior to the quality of the tourists eating there. If you are seeking an authentic old-world Michelin quality meal, this is the place for you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New and keen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This man and wife team have rejuvenated Lou Cigalon, which used to have a Michelin star and they deserve to get a star again based on the service, food and value we have received the last two times we have visited. Fabulous effort, outstanding cuisine and a very warm welcome. Madame speaks excellent English and Monsieur is the jovial occupant of the open kitchen (we liked this) in a small and intimate restaurant at the top of the village which is fortunately air conditioned. Go!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Yes, this was once something else, but now it is something new. The new is an excellent restaurant which deserves to succeed, superb food and at very fair prices, we would expect to pay 50-100% more for this in London or Paris.
They are eager to please and we shall return regularly now we have discovered it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou Cigalon also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Lou Cigalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lou Cigalon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.