We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location: Rooms a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Armoiries

Save Saved
You added Les Armoiries to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Armoiries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place des Arcades, 6560 Valbonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Valbonne
Corfu, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location: Rooms a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We couldn't have asked for a better location - right on the main square (fine in off season but looks as if it could be very noisy in the high season). We booked for 6 nights based on the information that there were 20 restaurants in the town (there were) and we only had one slightly disappointing dinner. Parking was free in public lots within easy walking distance to the hotel. The desk staff were friendly and made us feel welcome. When we were shown our room we immediately upgraded to a bigger one. The bathroom was good but the room was in need of redecoration including new/clean rugs. The cleaning staff must have been very short as everything higher than 1.5 metres wasn't very clean. Also the 25 watt light bulbs made reading impossible! Overall it didn't meet our expectations.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    38
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
30
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I've stayed at this hotel for a recent business trip. I hadn't been here in years. The rooms vary a bit, so make sure you get one of the larger ones. The hotel is old and hasn't been renovated in some time, but it is very clean, and the location can not be beat. Please note there is no parking specifically for the hotel; it is on the square in Valbonne. You will have to park either in the rear or in the carpark across the street. This is no big deal except when you are arriving or leaving and have to carry or roll your bags.
Breakfast is enjoyable. During most of the year, the roof pops open and you eat in this great environment. When it's too warm, there are tables set up on the promenade and that's almost as nice.
The staff is extremely good. They know the area, and are will do whatever they can to make you happy.
This is really almost more like a B&B than a hotel, so don't expect great luxury, but do expect the basics and a fabulous location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Ageing rooms...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Stayed here last month for 2 nights on the way from Nice to St Tropez via St Paul & Valbonne.

The village is a gem - set out in a grid in the middle ages with loads of neat little shops, restaurants & bars, a good squarewith a busy market & lots to see for at least a day.

The hotel is very central but has no car access - you have to park on the outskirts & wheel your cases in over the cobbles - wakes up the neighbours!

The hotel staff were great, very friendly even helping to explain my wife's vegetarianism to a waiter we were talking to as she passed on her way home. The hotel restaurant has a good reputation, although with so many options to eat out we did not try it.

The only disappoinment was the shaby room. We only had the standard one (didn't know at time of booking there were other types) & could not upgrade due to occupancy levels. They certainly need a refurb.

I would recommend one night to experience Valbonne & move on.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shaby rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

I was in Valbonne for 2 weeks with business and had the pleasure of staying in the Hotel Les Armoiries.

This was a totally different kind of hotel than I am used to staying in. It is situtated right in the town square amoung beautiful restaurants and shops.

The hotel is small and quirky with no two rooms the same. Dont expect modern furniture, everything is old and antique. The rooms are spacious and so are the bathrooms. I had two different rooms on my trip as I left at weekends ,my only tiny problem was that in the second room the shower head was not attached to the wall so I had to kind of sit in the bath with the shower!
The rooms I stayed in both had windows opening out into the town square which was always bustling! Every Friday is market day and the traders start setting up their stands at 5am!!! Every 1st Sunday of the month is antiques market day which is wonderful to wander around for a few hours!!!

Breakfast was a beautiful continental including crossiants, pain au chocolat, cheeses, breads, fruit , boiled egg and yogurts!!!!! There are also beautiful restaurants in the village, we didnt get one bad meal in our two weeks there.

Nice airport was about 20 mins away as was Cannes. Be very careful if using taxis!!!!! Taxis start charging from when you call them, so if you are getting a taxi from Valbonne to Cannes and the taxi is coming out from Cannes there will automatically be nearly 30euro on the meter before you even get in!!!! We got stung by this but of course every country is different!!!!!!!!!

I highly recommend this hotel, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the village and hotel are full of charm and typically French!!!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Having to leave!!!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

We stayed for a week in the Hotel les Armoiries at the end of April. The weather was wonderful, and we used the hotel as a base for exploring the neighbouring villages. We had a car, but during the week there are plenty of buses going to many of the places we liked. The village of Valbonne is charming and atmospheric. We were not terribly impressed with the standard of food or menus in most of the many restaurants, but there is an excellant Turkish restaurant not far from the square. We had a large room on the top floor at the back, which was adequate and quiet, apart from the church bells which chime the hour all through the night.The room was oldfashioned and very clean, and the breakfasts in the room at the end of the top floor were excellant. We found all the staff very friendly and pleasant, and Danny, the owner was extremely helpful.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

Valbonne is an an extremely charming French market village in Cote D'Azur. Les Armoiries is smack in the middle of this village, right on the central square. The village itself has narrow streets and no cars, an inspiration for those who want to walk. There is ample parking just outside the village (about a 300 meter walk). It's a wonderful village, with lots of nightlife. The central sqaure is filled with tables from the local restaurants. For better food, move off the square and down some of the side streets. The square tends to be filled with tourists.

The hotel itself is uninspiring. The management takes the concept of laissez faire to a new dimension. The rooms were adequate. The A/C worked moderately. I asked for and got a quiet room. Having said that, most of the lamps in the room did not work, the elevator hardly worked, and not much else worked. Perhaps the management has had too much wine...who knows.

Valbonne is a romantic place, and I would stay in this hotel again, but if I were taking someone wih me, I would set expectations appropriately.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

IIf you want to stay in the center of Valbonne, which is charming, and walk back from its many lovely restaurants, it is the right choice providing you book a second or third-tier room. Les Armoiries' lowest price rooms are not three-star level. There were many things that didn't work in our second-tier room to which we moved, but they were overcome. Don't expect to drop your suitcases off at the hotel, nor park within sight due to restrictions which preserve the ambiance of the town. There is, however, free underground parking at the Hotel del Ville, at a short walk, and we found space even during a mid-July stay.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Armoiries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Armoiries

Address: Place des Arcades, 6560 Valbonne, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Valbonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Valbonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Armoiries 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Les Armoiries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armoiries Valbonne
Les Armoiries Hotel Valbonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Armoiries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.