We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent drop-in dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bois dore

Le Bois dore
265 Route Antibes, 06560 Valbonne, France
+33 (0)493122625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 73 Restaurants in Valbonne
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amherst, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent drop-in dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went after being turned away elsewhere and were pleasantly surprised. Very elegant surroundings, attentive service (at least until we wanted the bill, but that seems endemic to France) and most importantly, delicious food. I ordered the mussels gratinee and the steak with port sauce off the carte, husband ordered from the menu marche - Caesar salad and skirt steak. To nit-pick, it's the second time I've ordered mussels prepared the way, the first time they were drowned in butter and I thought "where's the garlic?" And at La Bois they were almost devoid of butter and I thought " where's the garlic and the butter?" - I guess I just really like garlic with my mussels! My steak was cooked perfectly and was served with a plate-lick-worthy Port sauce. The Caesar would have been a meal in itself with a liberal amount of poached chicken and nicely dressed. Skirt steak was delicious but why it was served with sauce tartare was beyond our American sensibilities. Amuse bouche of squash bisque and truffled palmier also yummy. Overall, a very nice experience, we would go back particularly when we could enjoy the lovely terrace!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    59
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Was here for a work function.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Not sure if this is best. Food okay. Service okay. Atmosphere good. Prices high. Location good is staying in Valbonne area. There are better places to have a nice meal. Good for a large group to be accommodated. Would give a second chance I guess to make sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oetrange
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“OK but rather standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The quality is generally OK, but the menu generally lacks originality. The prices are reasonable and the staff quite nice. They have a nice patio.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very pretty setting on the terrasse. Large menu...too large. Our appetizers were good . A sampling of tomatoes with soup , tomatoes with mozzarella , and a pizza sampling was more than sufficient. The main course of cod was mushy and felt as if it had been frozen and reheated.. No no for this part of France . Service was okay. A large table with children running and dancing at 10pm did not help. Half our main course was left but I think the servers could not wait to get home. Better places better meals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely romantic evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We popped along the road to this serene restaurant. Found the staff pleasant and had a beautiful 3 course meal for €28 in a lovely romantic setting overlooking the garden filled with tropical plants and manicured gardens. Well worth the walk. The gazpacho tomato soup the best I have tasted for a long time. Will return as IRS only around the corner.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bois dore also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bois dore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bois dore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.