We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect lunch place at Valbonne market day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire

Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire
4 Rue Eugene Giraud, 06560 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 13 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Valbonne
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect lunch place at Valbonne market day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Impressed by this small restaurant in a quiet street in Valbonne. We came 14 people without a reservation, and they managed without any problems. Appreciated the free welcome drink. The food was great, especially the Risotto is highly recommended. Thank you for a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Madam, Sir,
thank you very much for your compliments. I want everybody satisfied at the Cadran Solaire and I try to do my best :)
best regards
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New proprietor this year and still high quality and good value dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were shocked at first to find that Guy (former owner) has now retired, but thought we'd give it a go as we'd had many an enjoyable evening here previously. We were made very welcome with a complimentary aperitif and hors d'oevres, and then enjoyed the 3 course menu at 30 euros. It was very good food and service. Only slight worry is that we were one of only two tables occupied on a Friday night - hope it gets the custom as the season picks up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
bonjour Madame,
thank you very much for your nice comment. It will help for having people coming at my restaurant.
best regards , see you soon
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fresh, beautifully-cooked and well-presented food, great service, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food was delicious - a short 3-course set menu for 30 euros offered sufficient choice to ensure we all got what we liked...salade lyonnaise, foie de veau, tripes, rognons and dorade and for the veggies there was the most beautiful tomato tart, pronounced melt-in-your-mouth and tomatoes how they used to taste...and for all of us a fabulous sabayon to end. We had the house rose to drink and so it all came to around 30 gbp a head. Madame was very attentive without being overly so...she brought some amuse-gueules while Pa and I waited for the rest of the group, then tiny little cherries in kirsch to finish and we never had to wait for plates to be taken away or the next course to arrive.
I would definitely go back and hope to do so in the summer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
bonjour Mme, Monsieur,

I thank you very much forr your comment and I am very happy you spent a good time at the restaurant.
best regards
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Small but intimate dinner experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I ate here three times when staying in Valbonne. That about exhausted the menu choices for me. The menu is short but provides pleasing dining choices. Wine list is sufficient for the menu.

The dorade fish choice, pepper steak were enjoyed by diners in my party.

Both locals and tourists were frequenting the restaurant which I think demonstrated the appeal of the meal and price the restaurant offers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Gérant at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Madam, Mister,
than you very much for your compliments.
it is very kind of you to have taken some of your time for writing.
Hope to see you again.
best regards
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This small restaurant offers everything we look for: great food, marvellous ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you discover a restaurant such as this where they get all the essential components right, it's hard to imagine how others go so wrong. The food is excellent, the service and ambience are equally good. We are looking forward to our next visit to Valbonne and to this great little restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Madam, Sir,
thank you very much for your compliments.
I will be very happy to welcome you again in my restaurant.
my best regards
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.