We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This small restaurant offers everything we look for: great food, marvellous ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire

Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire
4 Rue Eugene Giraud, 06560 Valbonne, France
+33 4 93 12 13 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 73 Restaurants in Valbonne
Price range: $24 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Belfast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This small restaurant offers everything we look for: great food, marvellous ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you discover a restaurant such as this where they get all the essential components right, it's hard to imagine how others go so wrong. The food is excellent, the service and ambience are equally good. We are looking forward to our next visit to Valbonne and to this great little restaurant

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Madam, Sir,
thank you very much for your compliments.
I will be very happy to welcome you again in my restaurant.
my best regards
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wandered through Valbonne with my wife and decided to give this restaurant a try. Great decision. The food was excellent, with generous portions, and by no means overpriced. What made this restaurant stand out for us, however, was the delightful atmosphere created by the truly charming front-of-house lady. We were made to feel really welcome as special guests. I did not find out her name, but shall do so when I next return, which I certainly shall later in the year on my return to the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valérie M, Propriétaire at Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Madam, Sir,
thank you very much for your compliments . it talks to my heart.
I will be very happy to welcome you again into my restaurant
My best regards
Valérie. yes , this is my name :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Valbonne and the Cadran Solaire was our favourite restaurant. Food excellent,
service second to none.A real gem!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valbonne, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Let all stress fall away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Cadran Solaire is part of the South of France's staple diet! It has been a wonderfully welcoming, thoroughly reliable haven for us for the last 16 years. Guy (the proprietor), Veronique and Tracey have kept lots of favourites on the menu whilst introducing new recipes year on year and keeping their prices totally reasonable. In the winter, it is wonderfully cosy inside and, in the Summer, everyone sits outside just a few paces away from the main square of Valbonne. This is our favourite restaurant in this gorgeous of all Alpes Maritimes villages and we have certainly tried a few! Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent no-nonsense good value food, lovely people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We have been eating here regularly for 16 years and it never fails. Simple straight forward food, well done is the order of the day. Have the duck with honey starter would be a top tip, but everything will be good. It is down a side street, past the toy shop, but worth walking 50 yards away from the main square.
Go, go now.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire also viewed

Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Valbonne, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Le Cadran Solaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.