We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot Gourmand Clovis

Bistrot Gourmand Clovis
21 Grand Rue, 06140 Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
04-93-58-87-04
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Bistrot Gourmand Clovis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My sister had highly recommended this Michelin Star restaurant to me, having dined there last year while attending the Nice Jazz Festival. On Friday 21st June,Midsummer's evening, not realising how hectic the Nice traffic would be , we set off driving to Tourette Sur Loup , expecting a half hour drive. However, the traffic was hectic and we got lost! Two hours twenty minutes later we eventually arrived! Luckily we had set off early, hoping to spend some time walking around this beautiful medieval village but it was dark when we arrived.
We were well rewarded for our journey and had a fantastic meal. It is a small intimate restaurant and the owner Julien greeted us at the door and showed us to our table. The menu was brought to us on an easel which was set on top of the table. The very charming waitress explained the menu to us in English. Basically there are three starter and three main course options, usually one vegetarian, one fish and one beef or pork.
Two of us opted for the courgette starter and two for the swordfish. All beautifully cooked and presented and the Parmesan ice cream and hazelnuts with the courgette dish were amazing. All four chose the Iberian pork main course which was excellent. Clean plates all round! Three tasty desserts and a delightful cheeseboard followed by coffee and truffles. Wine delicious too. Julien was so friendly and chatted to us for ages ,such a pleasant man. He reminded me of our very own Irish chef, Nevin Maguire, very unassuming and genuine.
It was a memorable evening and next time we will make sure we go really early so we can explore the beautiful surroundings. We were amazed to discover that there are three Michelin star restaurants in the village.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    66
    23
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a really wonderful 5 course taster menu at Clovis last night. The head chef / owner was welcoming and charming - patiently explaining the menu before making our choices and also on their arrival at the table. All the dishes were beautifully presented and consisted of local, fresh produce put together really imaginatively. Everything was delicious. It's the best place to eat in the village and deserves its Michelin star.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Intimate restaurant with innovative cookingj”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Julien Bousseau well deserves his Michelin star with his inventive cooking combined with excellent service in an intimate restaurant. Tourrettes sur Loup on an out-of-season Saturday evening was completely empty so the buzz in his full restaurant was very welcome. The menu is €42 for three courses or €50 with cheese. The asparagus starter with green asparagus, oeuf mollet and an asparagus mousse was excellent. The trio of pork was enhanced with onion marinaded with vinegar, red wine and sugar to give a sweet-sour tang and the pea puree was lifted with a touch of wasabi. Cheese and puddings were good but not so memorable. Wines by the glass recommended by Julien were well chosen and good value at €6-€7,
Julien spends much time front of house and was very informative about his dishes. For €115 for two we felt we had an excellent value meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Negras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The place was recommended to us, but we where very disappointed. The waitress was very arrogant and cool. The beef was so tough, you could not eat it, the cook came to our table and only said, that nobody complained until that day. In a restaurant like this I would at least expect a new piece of meat. The serving where very small, not enough to be only half satisfied and the price was absolutely ridiculous expensive. This restaurant does definitely do not deserve to be mentioned in any gourmet guide.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tiny, passionate, Michelin-starred”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Clovis is a tiny treasure within a magical medieval hill-town. The menu is very small -- under 10, with a key ingredient prepared two ways for the appetizer, another down two ways for the main, etc. The wine list is thoughtfully chosen and fairly priced, and the Chef waits tables. It's a small, romantic place (perhaps 20 covers) and well worth the trip if you're in the area. Go early (or stay late) to stroll the streets of Tourettes -- a memorable evening!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Gourmand Clovis also viewed

Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, Alpes Maritimes
 

Been to Bistrot Gourmand Clovis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot Gourmand Clovis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.