We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in a quiet place in St Tropez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dune

Hotel Dune
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dune to your Saves list
Hotel Dune
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin Bonnaventure, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Nice stay in a quiet place in St Tropez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my wife have spent 2 weeks in Dune hotel and we appreciated a lot this hotel for its quiteness, nice design and the feeling of beeing home. Its a such a nice small hotel that we didnt want to leave ...The friendly staff, which speaks different languages and always ready to help at any time. It is the second time as we come to this hotel and this year they have changed the pool area, and we found it really fantastic. We loved to spend an afternoon by the pool. According to the restaurant it was really delicious and the dinner with the candles on the pool was so romantic. All the staff makes a really great job! We are definitely coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    8
    0
    5
See reviews for
6
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is expensive but then not overly so for St Tropez. The public areas of the hotel are immaculately kept and this is complimented by excellent service from all the staff. The reception staff were outstanding in giving us recommendations to fantastic restaurants and arranging transport for us , the transport drivers were friendly , professional and efficient and the breakfast staff were very accommodating of any requests .

Our room had a private balcony, bath and shower and desk area- sounds reasonable ? However the actual bedroom could only just fit the bed and there was no room to walk around the end of the bed- I had to crawl over the bed to get to the bathroom , which was sandwiched between the bedroom and entrance area that contained the desk etc. Overall the room area would have been sufficient , but the design of the total space was poor, resulting in an extremely cramped sleeping area. Still given that we had the balcony and only used the bedroom to sleep ,this was not a big issue for us but others may be put off by this.
The issue that really puzzled me was all the nickel and diming , which I believe is unnecessary given the price you are paying for a room. A nespresso coffee machine is located in each room but you are charged 5 Euro per pod. I would have thought this could be included in the room price!!!. The same applies for beach towels- these are charged at 7 Euro each , but yet pool towells are not charged for. These petty charges were more of an annoyance than anything else- unnecessary in my view and detracted from what was otherwise a wonderful stay.

At first I thought that the breakfast at 30 Euro was expensive , but if you had to have the same in St Tropez , you would be hard pressed to eat as well. We were readily supplied with additional cappuccinos ,honey, croissants etc with a simple smile and " of course". Ten out of ten in this area.

The hotel has its own on site , secure parking but is a 30 Euro transfer each way from anywhere in St Tropez. This is the standard rate and we chose this option rather than share the driving after dinner and wine. As mentioned already- great transport staff and a stylish transfer!!

Drinks prices were what you would expect from a five star hotel.

All in all it is the staff that make this hotel work and I think their efforts are detracted from by some of the petty pricing policies of management which are an annoyance!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very pretty boutique hotel located on the outskirts of St Tropez. And there is nothing of substance to fault this place. Herve and his team ( large number of Russian Staff) offer a perfect welcome and are totally professional in the way they go about their work. The rooms are nicely decorated and have been well thought out in a practical sense. The main lounge and the pool area are typically Provençal and the pool area is surrounded by plenty of foliage. The overall feel is calm and quiet exuberance. Perfect for me. If you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the main roads then this is the place in St Tropez. Forget the likes of La Reserve and Villa Marie or The Muse where you are always made to feel that you are lucky to be staying with them. Instead go for a more family feel at the Dune. If you are up to it the Port is a 15 minute relaxed stroll and this gets you round the traffic queues that are a perpetual nightmare in St Tropez (and the crazy prices of taxis).
Yes the prices are expensive in world terms but by St Tropez standards represent good value for what this place offers. Remember the hotels in St Trop make their money in only 4 months and have to exist in one of the most excessively taxing countries in the world

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the corridor are better as balconies overlook one another
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our son as it was of few places available last minute for relatively reasonable price for St Tropez, but getting there we were told we need to pay 100 extra for our son that was sharing bed with us and we didn't get any extra towels for him either. Breakfest for 3 or us was not included either while my son have hardly eaten at all. 30 Eur each. So slowly but surely prices steered to come out of range. For every little think we have asked for. It seemed to me money has no value and prices are just invented out of blue based on individual customer pocket evaluation. However the place is beautiful, rooms nice and clean, 2 great swimming pools and restaurant with extremely limited offer. We wanted to stay mostly in hotel to relax as its very relaxing atmosphere but it was difficult to chose something to eat. Breakfest however is quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel just a short walk/drive away from St. Tropez center. The staff were extremely welcoming and accommodating. We stayed in a room with a terrace. Everything in the room was as expected for a five star hotel except for the towels. They could be larger and a little more plush but I'm also picky about my towels. Other than that, the property is beautiful and peaceful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to St. Tropez. Looking forward to returning to stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We normally stay at La Reserve, Villa Marie or The Muse, and thought we would try Dune. Unfortunately it is not in the same class as any off the above, and really is like a 3 star. Some off the problems we had were, at breakfast if you ask for extra items ie: honey or extra croissants, you are given them by fairly miserable staff, and if you ask for extra they will bring you a small croissant rather then a few. We only had lunch once at the hotel and it was very normal. You have to pay 11 euros for a can off diet coke or iced tea from the mini bar. The bedroom air conditioning is very good, but extremely noisy. The bathroom that we had was something that I would expect at a 1 or 2 star hotel, and they seem to want to keep you very short on body wash and shampoo. The wifi is always going off, but in the main lounge it works well. If you want to go and use the pool you have to go and sign for towels at the front desk, or if your going to the beach, they charge you a fortune!
Over all it could be a very good hotel, but really needs money spent, and friendlier serving staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Dune, the service was very good and friendly. The location of the hotel is good, a close drive from all the beaches and the town centre. I loved the bathroom and the products that were provided. Our room, on the other hand, was extremely tiny for 2 people. We would definitely recommend booking a bigger room instead.

We would come back to the Hotel Dune for our next stay but would book a deluxe room with a terrace next time, which other reviewers seem to love!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dune

Address: Chemin Bonnaventure, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Dune 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Provencal Hotel St-Tropez
Le Mas Provencal St Tropez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dune, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.