We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Bastide!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide des Salins Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Bastide des Salins Hotel to your Saves list
La Bastide des Salins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route des Salins, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the Bastide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Such a beautiful hotel, very serene yet stylish. Everyone seemed very friendly and I would return. I only stayed there with a friend for one night so I'm not too sure of the proximity of the hotel to the centre of St Tropez, it was low season and we decided to eat in the hotel that evening.

The gardens are amazing and so is the pool. The rooms are designed in a chic French style.

  • Liked — The idylic surroundings.
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was perfect!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto, ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

I have read a few bad reviews about this place and honestly don't know what could have gone wrong for those people, though perhaps it did and things have since changed. It was one leg of our honeymoon and I can say it was exceptional! Very serene with one of the most beautiful gardens we'd seen outiside of the big chateaux. The owner was very nice and the pool was great (though we spent all our time at the beach nearby). Only complaint is that the room was a bit hot due to weak AC, but that's no big deal as European rooms typically don't even have it. I would heartily recommend this property to anybody. As for the distance from town, it's a little bit far but that's what gives it the serene feeling! If you want to stay in town then do it, but that's a different kind of holiday. It's a 4 minute drive to town and there's a big accessible parking garage that charges 4.5 euro for the evening. No big deal. For the price it's as close as you'll get to the centre, anyway.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2005

The hotel itself was attractive and relatively clean (althogh our room smelt quite damp and there was an infestation of ants). The owner was the most unfriendly person I had ever had the misfortune of meeting. She didn't smile or act in a polite manner from the moment we arrived. Despite paying 380 euros a night to stay in her hotel she avoided eye contact with me and pretended not to speak english until she told me (in perfect english) to keep the volume of my voice to low as I was talking too loudly by the pool! when three noisy children jumped in the pool screaming she merely looked the other way (they were not english). Her staff were all young and fairly inexperienced but at least they were friendly. Warning - The hotel has a deal with a seasonal cab firm and gets comission for calling them (it cost 25 euro's to get into town, 50 euro round trip!). So if you are staying there you should use an independent company and call them yourself. There was no food other than breakfast (18 euro's each for a few croissants and bread) and reception closed at 8pm. The owner really ruined the holiday for us with her attitude, in fact we actively spent time away from the hotel as we couldn't face her cold stare! If she sold it to someone else, anyone else! then I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, OWNER at La Bastide des Salins Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2006
I just would like to mention that I love the English. My son-in-law is English and I consider him as my own son.

Concerning the booking of Cab, this is a absolutly free service we grant to our customer.
We do note take in any way a pourcentage and are not reponsible for the fee they charge.

Of course, they will be allways people complainning.
I do my best so my guest spend a lovely time in my place and most of the time I succeed regarding of the number of people who come back again and again.

Best Regards
Liliane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

An absolutely amazing Hotel , a few minutes outside of the town , set in amazing Provence parkland , offering a peaceful break from the hectic fun of St Tropez . Wonderful room and a garden from paradise . You wake up in dreamland every day ,you could not be made more welcome .

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

This hotel was one huge disappointment. We booked through
FranceHotelReservation who refused to refund our money, despite it being our honeymoon and having cost us over £600. The hotel swimming pool was green and filthy, the grounds looked like the grass hadn't been cut for months, the room was supposed to the honeymoon suit, but had huge damp patches on the walls and ceiling, the bathroom looked tired and chipped and the owner, although very friendly, was more intersted in her dog than the hotel. It was out of town and expensive for what it was.
we would not recommend the hotel nor the website through which we booked.
The Hotel La Tartane just up the road is a complete contrast and we would throughly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide des Salins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Salins Hotel

Address: Route des Salins, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bastide des Salins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your La Bastide des Salins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide des Salins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.