We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White 1921

White 1921
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White 1921 to your Saves list
White 1921
Place des Lices, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France (Formerly Hotel La Maison Blanche)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
B
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Just spent the evening and definitely as good as La Maison Blanche before. Great maitre d hotel and loved the waitresses especially Pauline. Both hostesses very attentive, fully recommend and will go again tomorrow. Great atmosphere, recommend the bruschetta together with a Chateau Les Marres Prestige

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    5
    3
    7
See reviews for
5
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I can not judge the hotel, the "renewed" bar was dissapointing. Each year we used to spend nice time at the Bar. This year unfortunately the atmosphere was not there, though the cocktails and the service was good, (except for the manager with the horse tail wearing the same suit every day, caught him helping customers with a cigarette in his hand), the magic was gone. Previous DJ was better.
Such a pity. Pool bar at the Byblos will be a better address to go.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

La "Maison Blanche" was the best bar in Saint Tropez, LVMH manage to turn it in something completely tasteless. First of all the decoration is dull. The manager is arrogant and not polite.
The place lost all is vibe . They did not catch the Saint Tropez spirit at all. They have a door man at the entrance who really put you off going there.... and reject all man wearing Havaianas even is they look chic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Have been going to Maison Blanche bar for eight seasons . One of the best bars on the planet
Summer commences and I visited the new White 1921 with excitement , after LVMH purchased the hotel and bar for the first of what I expected to be many viists this Summer .

I have never been received like this in my life and am super suprised as LVMH in Courchaval with Cheval Blanc is great .

The rude , arrogant Italian Maitre D with the pony tail seems to believe that he is the attraction .

He told me when I asked why he kept my wife and I and twenty other possible guests waiting outside while he had a cigarette " if you dont like it find another bar " then dropped glasses on my wifes foot and did not apologise .

Get rid of this ponytailed fool and get back to serving st trop regulers and the New White 21 will be great and be even better then MB .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent a long weekend at White1921 (I believe it has recently been bought over, renamed and refurbished) in June 2012.
It was quite simply the best hotel experience we have ever had in St Tropez (my partner & I have more than 25yrs exp between us so we've seen a few horrors in our time!)
We booked at the last minute so there was only a smaller room available, however, we had everything we needed. It was clean, fresh and everything seemed brand new. Their attention to detail is/was fantastic.
The staff couldn't do enough for us. They were incredibly friendly and welcoming and made us feel very much at home.
They made sure we were aware, at the time of booking, that the hotel bar would be open until 1am and so there would be loud music until that time. We had a room to the rear so really were not bothered by the music and I saw that they took the greatest of care to make sure the door of the hotel stayed closed at all times to minimize any disturbance.
It was an absolute pleasure to have our breakfast outside in the bar/garden area which is closed to the public before 8pm.
As for the location - you really are at the center of everything.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the property will definitely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed w/ our 3 kids, for 6 nights, in room 1 and 7.
Everything has been excellent, the location, the breakfast , the ladies who serve it, too.
In other words, we will be back to this hotel w/o any kind of doubt on 2012.

Of course it is important to mention that all our family loves the music, and also we enjoy having dinner and walk in town.

We feel like live in our own house.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I highly recommend this property, perfect for a solo traveller. The rooms were neat and clean. The staff was extremely gracious, helpful, friendly and I felt quite at home and comfortable. Travelling alone i was a bit nervous but this staff made me feel completely safe and accountable for my whereabouts. The scene is really fun and festive and nice to just walk out into the party! Perfect location-shopping, great restaurants and clubs. I did not have a car but was able to walk to a nearby private beach. Truly a top notch experience and i look forward to staying here again--a very special spot. One note, it is not a full-service hotel-boutique, small property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White 1921? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White 1921

Address: Place des Lices, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France (Formerly Hotel La Maison Blanche)
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mansion from the beginning of the 20th century, situated in St Tropez, Place des Lices, is entirely redecorated in a minimal romantic spirit. The first design hotel in St Tropezwith a totally contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your White 1921 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White 1921, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.