We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A picture postcard room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ponche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Ponche to your Saves list
Hotel La Ponche
Port des Pecheurs | Gps : Boulevard d'Aumale, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A picture postcard room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked a junior suite in the building across the courtyard from the main hotel, but overlooking the tiny La Ponche beach. The room was large -- we guess 450 square feet -- with a couch and two arm chairs all clad in bright white nubby cotton chenille slip covers placed around a small marble table upon which a vase contained a bunch of white lilies, the scent of which perfumed the room during the three days we were there. There was a large desk on which sat a temperamental little LCD television with cable box, a chair to sit in at the desk and a lovely king bed set in a bright brass bedframe and dressed in Frette sheets and a spread matching the chairs' slipcovers.
A large bathroom with French doors that opened onto a tiny balcony facing the building next door was equipped with a large tub, a walk in shower, double sinks and a heated towel rack (great for drying hand washing).
There was a small half-height refrigerator, some utensils and crockery and a tiny two burner cook top, all of which would have allowed us to picnic in the room on the rotisserie chicken, paella and other offerings sold at the Tuesday/Saturday market in the Place de Lices, except we didn't buy anything.
The weather was perfect when we were there: bright, sunny with cloudless blue skies, just like in Vadim's "And God Created Women," which we had watched shortly before leaving on this trip that I felt that I had been there before; deja vu all over again.
The only drawbacks were finding the place (the streets are picturesquely narrow) but the staff took our car at arrival and parked it until we were ready to leave, so parking is not a problem at all, and, of course the stairs to the room would make handicapped access impossible.

Room Tip: The tiny kitchenette was a plus even if we did not take full advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    0
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
40
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

+++

+ seafront location with a small La Ponche beach in the very center of the old town
+ generally we felt like we were treated as VIP guests at friends home, rather than hotel visitors
+ very nice restaurant with sea view and terrace, rated 3 black spoon-and-fork crosses by Michelin
+ private garage with valet service
+ the room was vey clean and seems to be recently refurbished very tastefully with the use of good materials, including marble floors
+ beautiful paintings on the walls by Jacques Cordier, the late husband of the proprietor of the hotel Simone Duckstein. We saw Mme Duckstein several times and said 'hello', but we did not know who she was unfortunately to appreciate the conversation
+ the hotel claims to have a lot of celebs of the past who have visited the place, including Brigitte Bardot, Georges Pompidou, Louis de Funès, etc. The information is taken from a book which was written about the hotel which we found in the restaurant
+ rather fast Internet

---
- choose your room very carefully, they are few rooms with the so called dome view, the room 16 and 5 have it. These rooms are very dark and you see a small dome above the reception and other hotel walls in 3 or so metres in front of your window.
- some plumbing issues, water did not go away fast
- if you are staying for a long period, consider the distance to the main beach

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is very old, yet charming being so traditional. The hotel reception is energetic and enthusiastic to help. They were very personable, made you feel more like a guest of a home rather than a hotel.

The hotel layout was like a maze but it was made clear with exit signs. To remember how to GET to your room may be a problem if you don't take note! This was quite an adorable excursion.

We booked a standard room overlooking the courtyard. Very traditional traditional room, and immaculately clean. Our room seemed to be serviced 1 1/2 times a day. One full service and every time we returned (which were a few times throughout the day, being in St Tropez, your hotel is always on the way to everywhere), our glasses had been replaced with fresh ones. The maids really do a very thorough and fantastic job.

The one downfall of this room was the bed was like rock. My sleep here was not great as I kept waking up with dead arms. We asked reception if there was anything they could do about this, however they said that all of the beds were like this.

Also note there are no tea/coffee facilities in the room! And when you would like a coffee it is minimum 5 Euros in St Tropez.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs because the town clock bells all night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

It is a small downtown hotel, cozy rooms; top staff, we will be back for sure . It is located in the center of ville, very close to the port.
The only issue,was my car's gps, which over and over was driving me to a restricted area, Anyway the hotel staff picked me up , and drove me to the door. Just get some directions before driving there and you will get just in front of the hotel's door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taradale, Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked Hotel La Ponche as a surprise for my husband, we could only stay one night and wished we had booked more. We stayed in August 2012 before driving to Marseille. Wow!
what an amazing hotel and such a delight to have stayed here. We drove into the old town and found our way to the front door - good directions - thanks. I had already organised a park and the hotel staff were wonderful, unloaded our bags and took care of our car.

From the moment you walked into the foyer you knew that Hotel La Ponche was special. We loved the fresh flowers everywhere Exquisite decor throughout the interior of the hotel..Reception staff very friendly and helpful and we were taken to our room. We had a most beautiful room with a balcony and view to the sea. Plenty of space in the room and the bathroom area was delightful with wonderful amenities and toiletries. It was a pleasure to be staying at Hotel La Ponche. Very comfortable bed and exquisite linen.

We would recommend staying in the old town - well worth it as once you are there you can walk everywhere. We walked around St Tropez - Hotel La Ponche very handy to everywhere in the old town. Loved St Tropez, the shops the big boats moored in the harbour and the overall atmosphere of the area.

We came back to the Hotel and had a drink in the bar - very peaceful and relaxing. We also had dinner that night in the restaurant. Wonderful cuisine in the restaurant and we had a view looking out to the sea. We were inside as they were fully booked - but the room was beautifully decorated - will remember this hotel for a long time. Breakfasts were just as good.

We would recommend to stay at this Hotel - you will never forget the experience. The hotel has 18 rooms so I would suggest booking early so that you don't miss out on staying her. Thankyou Hotel La Ponche for making our stay with you so special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After so many years of same hotel, same room, you would think I would tire of it, but no.
The warmth of the staff, the fabulous location, so close to the harbour.
Wonderful food in the waterside restaurant.
Everything is smart and well polished, beautiful flowers on tables, throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyeres
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Hotel la Ponche is a pretty boutique style hotel, fantastically situated in the old town of Saint Tropez, with views over the bay, and an excellently situated restaurant terrace.

I have eaten here several times on business, and never been disappointed: for Saint Tropez the prices are reasonable, and the service (often dire in Saint Tropez) pretty good.

However, yesterday my wife dared to complain about the overcooked lobster in her lunchtime "papillote de homard" which she could not cut other than with a steak knife. The waiter first returned the plate to the kitchen, whereby it was promptly returned with the message "c'est bon!". Insisting, the waiter then offered her something else, which she accepted, eating a perfectly cooked "tournedos de volaille" instead.
However when the bill came, surprise surprise the supplement for the lobster was still present on the bill.
Querying this, my wife was subjected to a stream of abuse from the owner of the hotel, who accused her (I assume because she is British) of not knowing how lobster should be cooked, and being ignorant, and trying to ause trouble. Obviously this ruined what had been a pretty nice lunch until then.
It is often the case in France that at the end of the season with their coffers full of cash from the summer toursts restaurant service standards are low, but this was over the top. Gordon Ramsey their Chef is not.
So, enjoy the location, the sun, the terrace, the views...and dare to hope for edible food!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabelle-Reception, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Ponche, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Google Translation
Merci pour vos remarques. Nous avons pu éclaircir cette histoire. Vous n'avez pas eu à faire avec la propriétaire qui ne se serait pas permis de vous parler de la sorte. Depuis votre venue, nous avons renouvelé notre personnel et sommes très vigilant à la qualité de la cuisine et au service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Ponche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ponche

Address: Port des Pecheurs | Gps : Boulevard d'Aumale, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Ponche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ponche St Tropez
La Ponche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ponche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.