We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Location in St Tropez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ponche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Ponche to your Saves list
Hotel La Ponche
Port des Pecheurs | Gps : Boulevard d'Aumale, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Location in St Tropez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We tried several other 4* hotels in St Tropez such as the Pinede and the Yacca before discovering La Ponche, about 15 years ago.....and we're so satisfied we've stayed nowhere else in St Tropez ever since. Its about 50metres from the sea - near enough for a dip in the Med before breakfast, close to the shops, restaurants and galleries for which the town is famous....and actually situated in the old town itself.
The hotel has enormous character - situated overlooking the old fishing port where Brigitte Bardot was filmed in 'And God Created Woman', BB actually used La Ponche as a dressing room! But its not only for the past that La Ponche is notable; it has recently won a major Interior Design Award and original paintings by Jacques Cordier (1937 - 1975), one of the finest artists ever to paint in St Tropez, hangs in every room. The value of any one of these paintings is probably more than most 4* hotels would spend on furnishing an entire room!
La Ponche's location is superb - quiet, but within the busy, atmospheric old town and a 10 minute walk from one of the best beaches in St Tropez 'La Plage de Graniers'. Dozens of restaurants are within a 3 minute walk, and the hotel's own restaurant is one of the best in town.
The standard of service is particularly high - valet parking in the hotel's own secure garage - expert guidance from the Reception staff for any shopping queries; nothing is too much trouble. Its also spotlessly clean and very comfotable.This is all due to the personal attention of the owner Simone Duckstein, who was born in the hotel, and who inherited it from her mother a few years ago.
Its not cheap! But neither is anywhere else in St Tropez. And it doesn't have a pool - but who needs a pool when the Mediterranean is a stone's throw away and some of the world's most famous beaches are at hand? What La Ponche does have is comfort, location and a character which truly represents the very best of St Tropez.

Room Tip: Let the hotel staff park your car either in a free public space, or in the hotels garage (about 150...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    18
    0
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to stay in St Tropez that is close to everything, but hidden away and not glitzy, this has to be the place. My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and quickly learnt that everything St Tropez has to offer is just around one of the many corners in the maze of streets outside the hotel's front door.
The staff here are helpful and friendly, but not intrusive. A good example of this was the night we arrived; we specified a time of about 9:30pm, however, negotiating the hills around St Tropez in the dark took a little longer than we expected. At just after 10:00pm the lady on reception rang us back to make we were not lost.
One area this hotel excels in is cleanliness, I don't think I could have found a speck of dust anywhere in our room if I had tried and the bins seemed to be emptied as soon as we handed our key back in at reception.
The hotel used to be a fisherman's bar many years ago, became a retreat for stars in the 60s and still retains some of the character from that period.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida/Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I never thought I would enjoy St. Tropez. I assumed too much glitz, nothing interesting except for the shopping. I was very wrong and the Hotel La Ponche is right in the middle of the beautiful old town. Service was wonderful. I felt as if I was staying in someone's (very nice) home. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I will echo other reviewers about the fun in trying to find the hotel, but I think that speaks more to the maze that are the streets of St. Tropez than the specific location of the hotel. The beach is small and not the ideal St. Tropez beaches that are 5 miles away, but nice to have in your backyard. My room was spotless and the bathroom/shower were definitely that of a higher end hotel. My room was small, but didn't need more than that. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with any question I had. They recommended a great spa for a massage, arrange a driver to go to and from the beach and everything in between. Easy walk to everything I wanted to see/do in St. Tropez while not be directly on a main street so it was quiet at night. If I am ever lucky enough to find myself in St. Tropez again, I hope to be able to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Super location with a terracevwith a lovely viewvfor dins or brekky. V pricey accomodation but worth it. We had a suite with a road view which was stylish and big. Dinner was super fresh fish and great service (especially so for France where it s usually terrible). Brekky was lovely and at 20 euro only a tad more than the cafes on the harbour.
Cant fault it.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Okay. The rooms can be very small or pretty large. They are all expensive. They meet the cleanliness test. The front desk staff tries hard to please, but not exactly warm. Plus list: great location, reasonably clean, beach access, truly French experience. Negative list: expensive, some rooms are so small even the mice get hunchbacked (okay, this is a joke, but some rooms are very small).

Room Tip: Please find the beach and just go hang out there. It is delightful. Go north of the hotel and then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have just returned from spending several nights at Hotel La Ponche and would highly recommend the hotel for anyone looking to find the perfect spot it St Tropez. The hotel itself is charming and uniquely laid out in an interesting, simple and sophisticated manner. The location is ideal, right in the heart of of the old quarter of the village. We stayed in Room number 1 which was very fairly priced, had a small sitting area with sepearate bedroom and an absolutely amazing terrace which looked down on the interesting courtyard and winding pedestrian way, down to the beach and out across the water. What a beautiful place to rest in the comfortable lounge chairs when not out in the village itself. At night, the lights from the village across the water provided a beautiful view. Everyone at the front desk was wecoming, had a friendly word, and quite helpful. Unfortunately I don't remember her name but I must mention in particular the young woman who helps serve breakfast. She is an extraordinarily friendly individual and we enjoyed conversing with her. She is an asset to the hotel. The style is simple yet upscale and they entire layout almost quirky in an interesting and stylish way. Easy walking distance to absolutely everything. We definitely plan to return next year and hope to book room number one again. I could highly recommend Hotel La Ponche to anyone intending to visit St Tropez

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Ponche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ponche

Address: Port des Pecheurs | Gps : Boulevard d'Aumale, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#9 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Ponche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ponche St Tropez
La Ponche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ponche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.