We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!! WOW!!! A must stay for St. Tropez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De La Messardiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau De La Messardiere to your Saves list
Chateau De La Messardiere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Route de Tahiti, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stunning!! WOW!!! A must stay for St. Tropez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

AMAZING!! The staff was amazing, our room was not ready (nor the one we paid for) we stayed one night in a bad room then they moved us to a great room for nights 2 and 3.

Staff was night, and the resort was stunning! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Greg

First thank you for such a pleasant feedback!
It is true that sometimes room may not be suitable to our guest so if we can do something as soon as we can we do it with pleasure. Our purpose is your confort and your happyness.So we are waiting to have the pleasure to welcome you again right now we know your favorites.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    31
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
141
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

St Tropez is a great place to visit but we have found the best month is September when the weather is still warm and the crowds have left. We have visited on 8 occasions and have stayed at the same hotel each time.

Our hotel of choice on each occasion has been the Chateau de la Messardiere. Perched on a hillside overlooking the beautiful bay of St Tropez. You feel cocooned from the hustle and bustle of the town and yet you are only a five minute drive away from the town centre.

A warm welcome, tremendous service and excellent amenities means that this is the hotel of choice if you want to spoil yourself and enjoy some you time. The rooms are well appointed and we tend to stay in the poolside West Indies rooms which have wonderful views.

Food at the hotel is of an excellent standard, from breakfast, through lunch and if it takes your fancy a Michelin starred restaurant for dinner.

There is a regular shuttle bus to and from the town which is handy and if the beautiful poolside isn't your thing there is also a private beach with restaurant that you can try if sand is your thing.

The gardens surrounding the hotel are stunning and a great place to walk and stimulate your senses. An apiary that produces the hotel's honey is also on-site.

We are heading back again this September and each year it just seems to get better and better.

Treat yourself!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest

It is a real pleasure for us to read your feedback about your stay. As you said Saint-Tropez is wonderful also in shoulder season with nice weather and easy going way of life!!!
Château de la Messardière offers tranquility and conviviality.
The West indies room near by the swimming pool are very pleasant with great terrasse and I can understand that you can love this category.
We are waiting to welcome you soon again. Take care of you
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Messardiere for only one night as part of our 8 days tour through Provence and the French Riviera. The Hotel is set in a beautiful landscape and the building is really impressive and very well decorated . The deluxe room we had was really large and comfortable with a huge terrase facing the gardens and the sea. The restaurant is very nice, serving both breakfast and dinner. The service during dinner was impecacle, although portions were tiny "french style" and expensive. The breakfast though was quite poor in selection. Overall, we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Mr Gidigo

We are very happy to have delighted you during your stay and thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very proud to have such a beautiful comment from such a Trip advisor member (since 2009) !!!!!

The Hotel has been right now totaly refurbished and we try every year to give more confort to our guests. Le Château de la Messardière is a little treasure where you can find tranquility and beauty.
So we will be happy to welcome you again in our lovely world!
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The French Riviera is not known for their good manners and politeness with tourist, but this place is different. I stay here 2-3 night every year and had always a good experience, the service is excellent so is the food. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the place is marvelous. The only "con" is that it's a bit outside the town, but the shuttle service is available at any time, also when you go partying till late. One of the best in St.Tropez!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Chris

I wanted first of all to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning your stay. To know your feelings about your stay is important for us in our evolution.
Le Château de la Messardière is already in itself a delight and I am really pleased to see that our team was able to share our friendliness, our quality of service and our good mood.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again among us with the greatest pleasure.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I just returned from 5 amazing nights at the Messardiere with my 2 children and we had a wonderful time thanks to the attentive and knowledgeable staff at the Messardiere. They were kind to everyone at all times and were able to point us in the right direction for restaurants and activities. Nothing was a problem and it was as close to "American style service with a smile" as I have ever seen anywhere in Europe. I would definitely return and would recommend this beautiful estate with a swan pond, trails, heated pool, etc to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Mariam

We are so delight to know that you and your children had a great experience at Château de la Messardière!
Smilling, listening to our guests to make them enjoy their stay with a nice and professionnal service is our priority.
Then to make you appreciate, discover the way of life of the Château and of the south of France is an other one. It is an easy going way. So, we are very happy to have shared all this with you and your family.
We do hope to welcome you again with real pleasure. Take care of you
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our month long honeymoon. Seven months later we're still talking about it. Saint Tropez is a magical place and Chateau De La Messardiere was perfectly fitting. The views, the decor, the breakfast, the staff--it was all perfect. We were personally greeted and congratulated on our recent nuptials, and even upgraded as a nice surprise. There is a shuttle that will take you to and from town which is very nice to have. It allows a fun night at Le Qaui...you either know what I'm talking about or you will soon find out! Thank you, Chateau, for making our experience so memorable!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Jonny
Thank you so much for your nice feedback concerning your stay in 2013.

We were glad to help you for your credit card . We usually try to be helpfull for everybody because our priority is to take care of our guests even beyond the ambit of the hotel.

We are delighted to know that our staff managed to enchant you. For our pleasure, you are right now Messardière addicts and St Tropez addicts too!!!
Take care of you waiting to welcome you soon.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in early October 2013 on my honeymoon. It was the off season in St. Tropez but the town was very busy with Les Voiles de St. Tropez (which is an amazing thing to witness if you like classic yachts or generally observing obscene amounts of wealth.)

First off, please know that St. Tropez and the South of France is extremely expensive, even by European standards. So if you are going to the South of France, prepare yourself for a staggering credit card bill when you get home. If you are OK with that, you NEED to stay at this hotel. It is undoubtedly worth the money.

The Chateau exudes a grandiose, old world charm with a fairytale twist provided by beautiful art and detailed ironwork all over the hotel. The property sits on a hilltop about a 5-10 minute drive above the town of St. Tropez with sweeping views of the old town, surrounding lands, and beaches. There is an "on-demand" shuttle to the town which we never had to wait more than 10 minutes and will take you to the town (and will also take you to the beach when it is 'in season' I believe). The staff is incredible. My credit card was stolen in Spain and I had American Express forward a new one ahead to St. Tropez - the staff tracked the package ofr me providing periodic updates and presented it to me on arrival. Both the concierge and general manager made personal introductions upon arrival as well. The breakfast is exquisite with an array of choices that were appealing to my wife who is gluten-intolerant.

St. Tropez was our favorite stop during our one month tour through Spain, France and Italy for our honeymoon. This exquisite hotel was a big factor in our falling in love with St. Tropez and we will make it back at some point in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty M, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Jonny
Thank you so much for your nice feedback concerning your stay in 2013.

We were glad to help you for your credit card . We usually try to be helpfull for everybody because our priority is to take care of our guests even beyond the ambit of the hotel.

We are delighted to know that our staff managed to enchant you. For our pleasure, you are right now Messardière addicts and St Tropez addicts too!!!
Take care of you waiting to welcome you soon.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau De La Messardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Messardiere

Address: 2 Route de Tahiti, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De La Messardiere 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de la Messardière offers magnificent panoramic views over the Bay of Saint-Tropez, vineyards of Ramatuelle & beaches of Pampelonne. Just 3 minutes from the Sea & Saint-Tropez town centre, this authentic 19th-century castle, bordered by 25-acre grounds, is an exceptional vacation choice. Spa of 465m2, featuring products by Valmont and Cinq Mondes, combined with a fitness room and pool, jacuzzi, steam baths.118 rooms have balconies or terrace. The hotel's gourmet ‘Les Trois Saisons’ restaurant specializes in refined Southern-style cuisine. « La Terrasse » restaurant serves a range of sunny dishes and light cuisine by the poolside. More Mediterranean delights lie just few minutes away, with Tropezina beach plus the stunning, unspoiled landscapes of the Bay of Saint-Tropez and sparkling Var coast. A show of exclusive designer boutiques and luxury yachts awaits you in Saint-Tropez, coupled with all the charm of this authentic village and its Provençal market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau De La Messardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Messardiere Hotel St-Tropez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De La Messardiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.