We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau De La Messardiere

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chateau De La Messardiere to your Saves list
Chateau De La Messardiere
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Route de Tahiti, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
McAllen, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

1st class property. Everything was wonderful. We had a wedding priced suite so we paid $450 euro for 3 of us. I am usually too tight to stay at these type of properties. Is it worth $600.00 USD per night? Yes it is. They offer free shuttles to town which is nice. Breakfast is included in room price and is excellent. All and all, pricey but very nice.

Room Tip: There is a large spa there, too expensive for my blood. I had a haircut there and blow-dry for a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Debbie

We thank you for your feedback about your Messardière experience.
We are delighted to have you to discover our little world at the top of the hill between sea and sky.
It is great for us to know that for your first stay in Saint-Tropez you enjoyed it.
It was a pleasure to welcome your family and the ceremony was just terrific.
we are looking forward to see you again.
Take care of you
Betty and Letitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    30
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
139
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BUENOS AIRES
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have been several times at Chateau de la Messardiere, the best in Saint Tropez. Is an excellent hotel that began as the wedding present for a couple finishing the 18's or beginning of the 19's.
The location on top of a hill in Route de Tahiti with superb views to the bay of Pampellone where the most important beaches are located. Nice and good size rooms, at least ours, with plenty of light due to big windows. The service is efficient but this time I will not write about the place but about a person. Guest relation manager, very friendly with every visitor, speaking various languages and always with a smile in her face. Every time one meets her at the lobby, asking with that smile and very polite, if you need something, if everything is ok and not to say if ask for something. In most of the cases, your problem is resolved before you finish to ask. Every hotel should have somebody like Beatrice Touron. Everyone calls her Betty. Betty, until our next visit.!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Eva y Alberto,

Thank you so much ! I am very touched by such nice words
We will keep in touch with pleasure, wainting to welcome you again.
I will send you a private mail.
Take care of you !
Sincerely
Betty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As always a fantastic stay with outstanding service. Certainly the best in St Tropez with good food and a beautiful pool and gardens. In particular thank you to Annie in reservations for her attention to detail!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Sir

We really appreciate the remarks about your feeling concerning Chateau de la Messardière and his Team.
We have chance to have such a wonderful land, park and everywhere you find beautiful views and opened spaces.
We look forward to seeing you again with pleasure in your haven of peace.
Sincerely
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We called the chateaux de la messardiere on the 8/06/13 to see if they had any rooms left not very expensive or fancy and we were informed from the reception that they had some rooms for us. At the very same night on that day we arrived at the hotel to book some rooms for a couple of days, we were impressed by the hotel and the welcoming of the doormen. But all that changed as we arrived at the reception desk and we talked with a woman that seemed to be the manager. As they informed us that day they had simple single rooms for us, that lady said they had only suites of 700euro per night!!! We said that we have been told there were still rooms for half the price, that lady insisted that they hadn’t and that they had only this…? and tried very hard to sell it which really bothered us! After that we left without buying any room…just someone has to take into consideration that the lady that is working at night is very rude and annoying and push the costumers away.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear sir

It is a pity that without having stayed in Château de la Messardière you had such a bad experience
The person in charged of the night shift told us that you wanted rooms connected, not far away. So our first category is the "small room" at 360 Euros, in another building, which are not connected.
So, she proposed you the "west indies room" near by the swimming pool at the rate of 720 euros (not suite).You asked to pay 360 Euros for the West indies rooms. It is not used to make such an important upgrade (4 categories)!!! We are sorry that you had the feeling people were rude because they did not give you the price you wanted. In spite of this, we hope you had a wonderful stay in Saint-Tropez.
Best regards
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our grown daughter was living in Brussels for the year of 2012, so in April, my husband and I used that as an excuse to take off on a dream vacation with her. One stop along the way was 2 nights at Chateau DeLaMessadiere. We had our GPS or might never have found it, but what an amazing adventure awaited us. From the first moment of arrival through our entire stay, we were treated to such special service. Our daughter's birthday was the week before, and the concierge very kindly and surprisingly honored her with a chilled bottle of champagne waiting for her in our Jr. suite upon returning from our dinner in St. Tropez. We used the shuttle which was such a convenience. We loved our view, our lovely patio, and our great spacious room. Our daughter was able to lie by the pool and had the benefit of using her computer and phone to indulge in work! The pool---just lovely--with ornate shower and ladders. Lunch by the pool.
Just a beautiful get away from the touristy bustle and a place to relax. The spa/wellness center were perfect. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts there also. Hope one day we can do it again, but if not, our trip was one we still a year later are talking about.

Room Tip: We loved our Jr. Suite because it had a small private patio, large room, and ample seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations clients at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you so much to have taken time to make such nice comments. Everybody will appreciate because it is a source of enthusiasm and motivation.
The Messardière Team is always discreet, at your disposal to please you and to take care of you.
We are happy that your family spent lovely moments with us and we are waiting to welcome you again with pleasure.
Sincerely,
Béatrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This amazing hotel has a commanding position at the top of a hill with sea views in several directions. More like a very grand private residence than a hotel, it is a stunning example of beautiful Italianate architecture. We visited the restaurant and sat at a table overlooking the bay and were treated to a wonderful meal with very attentive service. The fish dishes were intricate and very well designed, cooked and presented. The desert was excellent too. This is a special occasion and memorable restaurant that leaves you wanting to return. Save up first though! It is worth it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
messardiere, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau De La Messardiere, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
We appreciate your beautiful comments about your Messardière experience. We are very pleased that you had been able to feel the real atmosphere and spirit of this place.
To a beautiful decor join a warm, elegant service and a fine and generous cuisine.
The Messardière Teams thank you because beyond a satisfaction for us it is also a real encouragement.
We hope to welcome you in the future to delight you once again.
Best Regards
Béatrice
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were originally booked at another property in St. Tropez and received a call that the hotel was closing for the owner's wedding. We were re-booked at Chateau De La Messardiere and feel extremely fortunate for this turn of events. From the moment you arrivem the valet whisks your car away you feel as though you have stepped into another universe where everyone exists just to make your stay an oasis of calm. The rooms are beautiful with modern conveniences like automatic window shades, lighting and integrated technology. The pool area is magnificent, with sweeping views of the Bay of Pampelonne. But what sets the Le Messardiere apart was their attention to service. From the valet, to the front desk staff, to the concierge, everyone was helpful and warm. The 24 hour shuttle service to town and the beach is a thoughtful and convenient service. This hotel is not necessarily for the St. Tropez party set, but is an elegant and refined choice for those with discerning travel tastes.

Room Tip: Some standard rooms overlook the parking area. Upgrade to a junior suite for panoramic views of Pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau De La Messardiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Messardiere

Address: 2 Route de Tahiti, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau De La Messardiere 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Château de la Messardière offers magnificent panoramic views over the Bay of Saint-Tropez, vineyards of Ramatuelle & beaches of Pampelonne. Just 3 minutes from the Sea & Saint-Tropez town centre, this authentic 19th-century castle, bordered by 25-acre grounds, is an exceptional vacation choice. Spa of 465m2, featuring products by Valmont and Cinq Mondes, combined with a fitness room and pool, jacuzzi, steam baths.118 rooms have balconies or terrace. The hotel's gourmet ‘Les Trois Saisons’ restaurant specializes in refined Southern-style cuisine. « La Terrasse » restaurant serves a range of sunny dishes and light cuisine by the poolside. More Mediterranean delights lie just few minutes away, with Tropezina beach plus the stunning, unspoiled landscapes of the Bay of Saint-Tropez and sparkling Var coast. A show of exclusive designer boutiques and luxury yachts awaits you in Saint-Tropez, coupled with all the charm of this authentic village and its Provençal market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau De La Messardiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Messardiere Hotel St-Tropez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau De La Messardiere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.