We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic last minute lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Escale

L'Escale
9 Quai Jean Jaures, 83990 Saint-Tropez, France
33 0 4 94 97 00 63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 230 restaurants in Saint-Tropez
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic last minute lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ate here in October 2011 and I have been cruising Trip Advisor to try and find the name of the restaurant as we are going back to St Tropez in October 2013 and really want to re-visit this great place. It is really chic with great staff and no pretentious attitudes, we arrived late one afternoon and were seated after a small wait at the bar (without a reservation which was really lucky considering the popularity of the restaurant) although because it was late we could only have the set menu this was no problem, all the food was simply fantastic, we drank bottles of a local very drinkable Rosé and although this may not be the cheapest restaurant we cannot wait to go again this year. Very happy memories created by a great location, cool restaurant, fantastic staff and wonderful food. Can't recommend this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    26
    49
    15
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The most fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have had some our best times inn L'Escale, it might be expensive but so is everywhere else in St Tropez. The music and the atmosphere is heady with dancing on the chairs an absolute must. Teenagers to grannies all join in. The staff are great and manage to be incredibly efficient despite their guests blocking their way. Food is fantastic and the location perfect, right on the main harbour. We also have been there for lunch on a rainy day and the sight of this pristine all white restaurant with sand on the floor cheered us all up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Really Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

St Tropez in November is wonderful, such an unspoilt pretty town. You can park, people are not posing (much) and many places are open. We walked into L'Escale by chance not expecting much more than it would be over pretentious and overpriced. We picked the place because it looked pretty. Well the place was gorgeous inside. The decor was all white, silver and crystal with sand on the floor, good cutlery and real table cloths and napkins. Everywhere was glass and with the boats opposite and blue sky we felt transformed into the summer even though it was about 9 degrees outside. The staff all look gorgeous but they behave gorgeously too and make you feel special. The glass of Sancerre I had was delicious and the tuna dip with fried bread to nibble on was yummy. We decided on the set menu so not to break the bank of Monte Carlo. My oysters were nothing special but not at all bad. The cod was wonderful - a good portion, cooked perfectly with a salt crust and with a small diced ratatouille which was very flavoursome. The saffron potatoes made the whole plate colourful. As I desert I had two little puds, a crème brullee and a raspberry and chocolate pot thingy - gorgeous. I think we came out spending about £60 per head but had 4 glasses of wine and one coffee. I would definitely go again. What I thought would be all show, was indeed a really good show but with superb food. The place made us feel special, bright, romantic and young which is just what you need on a cold November day.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacapri, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Paella, good quality seafood/chicken- rice bland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We decided to stop here for lunch as it had a nice outlook over the water and the yachts of St Tropez. it looked a cut above other restaurants with white tableclothes and nicer decor.
We love paella but always decline to order from many shops that have the big paella pan brewing out the front as often these are frequented by the local flies long before you get there so the safety of that food is always in question to us. So we seek out a made to order paella dish as they offer at L'Escale.
Service was excellent. We ordered the paella- it was freshly made up to order- the chicken was very flavoursome, free range tasting and the seafood was excellent quality and size and amount in the paella. Only disappointing aspect was the rice itself was bland and lacking flavour.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD AND GOOD FUN EVENING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a bad start....when we reserved our table we asked for one along the front row....we didnt get one.....so a bit grumpy to start...but the service was superb as were all our meals and finished up having a great night...doesnt get going until at least 9:30pm.....not cheap but you're in St Tropez not Peterborough.....also, fun to watch what looked like 18 year old Arabs & Eastern Europeans driving by in their Bentley convertibles....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escale also viewed

Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Escale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.