We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La tarte tropezienne

La tarte tropezienne
420, Avenue des Narcisses, 83310 Saint-Tropez, France
04.94.43.41.20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 235 Restaurants in Saint-Tropez
Price range: $19 - $37
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Le soleil, et la simplicite des vacances. La Tarte Tropezienne est associee au soleil et aux vacances... Elle offre un moment de plaisir simple et authentique, et donne le sentiment d'etre pour quelques instants en vacances, a Saint-Tropez. Retrouvez l'univers de La Tarte Tropezienne sur notre
Recife, PE
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Typical food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Little bistro where you can eat a typical food, the Tarte Tropezienne, it's like a vanilla pie with some chantilly on top. Don't miss it !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    17
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My first food near St Tropez (thanks goodness, not typical) and a real disappointment. To heat your tart yourself in a microwave is not so good and I find plastic knives and forks bad enough on a plane. Not what Provence does best.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“You must try a slice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice bakery which you can find in every street. The eponomous tarte tropezienne is very nice.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chain of bakeries not so great - seek out independents”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This bakery appeared very popular when we walked by, so decided to grab some sandwiches and desserts there for lunch.

I was given the wrong sandwich (ham instead of chicken) and was shocked when the woman put the ham sandwich back in the case after I brought it back 10-15 minutes after leaving and realizing it was the wrong order! She did apologize for giving me the wrong order, but still charged us the difference in price for the right sandwich. Disappointing.

The food: I found the baguette of my sandwich very tough...almost stale, and I think they went a bit overboard with the dijionaise. My boyfriend had the croque-monsieur and found it very average. His chief complaint was that the bread seemed stale, too. We've had much nicer baguette and breads in other places.

The desserts: My boyfriend enjoyed his dessert (claffouti de ceries), but I found mine a bit disappointing (the raspberry crumble tart). The outer edge had a bad burned taste and it was overall pretty dry.

I will never be going back to this chain of bakeries again. I have learned my lesson to ALWAYS find a local, independent baker.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Like the place, nice setting on the place des lices. Place to be to see the fun early in the morning!
Good pastries

  • Visited October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La tarte tropezienne also viewed

Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Gassin, Saint-Tropez
 
Saint-Tropez, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Saint-Raphael, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La tarte tropezienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La tarte tropezienne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.