We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in the hart of la Cote D'Azur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toile Blanche

Save Saved
You added Toile Blanche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Toile Blanche
826, chemin de Pounchouniere, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome place in the hart of la Cote D'Azur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just had the best holiday ever ... If you are looking to not to be disturbed and you want to be in a magical place (and yet not far from Nice , Monaco, Antibes,Cannes...) surrounded by honest and such friendly and loving owners , go to Toile Blanche ! With a warm welcome of the daughter in law Caroline you enter the hotel with a smile . Then you have the art every where present in the house , made by the famous "Leroy Brothers" (who are the sons of the family ) . And then the restaurant which was absolutely amazing. Again the family is involved in doing the kitchen themselves . We stayed like every night and enjoyed the terrace, Piko the parrot, the pool, the good wines .... and not to forget the amazing food !! A good advice about Toile Blanche , book and go out there !! You won't regret it !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    6
    13
    4
See reviews for
8
82
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just north of the Med, a short drive from Nice and cradled in the hills that crown the Cote D’Azur is a secret I’d rather not share. Why? Because it’s so refreshing, so beautiful, so relaxing that I’d like to keep it to myself. However, I can’t. If this review helps just one person enjoy what my wife and I have experienced during our two Toile Blanche stays, it’s worth revealing the region’s legend in the making.
Sure, in the South of France, there are bigger venues in which to stay, glitzier bars where you can drink and restaurant menus crowded with far more dishes. However, there are few places with Toile Blanche’s commitment to comfort and understated elegance. It’s style without pretension.
First, the atmosphere. If you don’t appreciate art (and if not, why bother visiting Saint Paul De Vence, mecca to famous artists such as Picasso, Renoir, Chagall?), you’ll be blind to one of Toile Blanche’s major draws. A family of world-renowned artists, the Leroy Brothers, runs this boutique hotel/restaurant. They strive to ensure that their establishment is as impressive as their artwork. Samples of the brothers’ creations, and that of their esteemed grandfather, Raymond Leroy, grace the contemporary architecture with a unique personality. Also, the brothers are always on the premises, creating amazing food, concocting killer cocktails and chatting with guests. I couldn’t imagine Damian Hirst or the Chapman Boys running down to the garden to gather mint for our hand-made mojitos.
The rooms themselves are exquisite. Each has a view of the hills that redefines the word ‘breath-taking’. The beds are massive and comfortable, and the bathrooms generously supplied with prestigious Clarins products.
Now, the food. My wife and I are unashamed foodies. We know what constitutes a good meal, having sampled dishes from some of the world’s most respected chefs. What we ate at Toile Blanche pushed the standards of quality, in the right direction.
We started with large portions of squid so tender that chewing was superfluous. Ribboned courgettes, cucumber and chunks of Granny Smith apples decorated, but didn’t over-power, the seafood. All sat above a light yogurt dressing. As appetizing as it was attractive.
My main was a tasty and tender medallion of pork. It was the type of meat you chew 30 times, not for health reasons, but because you want to make it last longer. A celery and nut jus complimented the dish.
Kathryn’s meal, cod in a bouillabaisse sauce with fennel, was spectacular. The generous portion of fish floated on a sauce that was so delicious, so memorable that I soaked it all up with an entire loaf of fresh bread.
Dessert was my wife’s favourite. It was a combination I’ve never before had the pleasure of trying … cumquats and olive oil accompanied by a taste treat reminiscent of a deconstructed biscuit and marmalade.
What’s the downside of Toile Blanche? That depends on what you’re looking for. Cheap? Forget it, not here. Demand dictates price, and this hotel/restaurant is, understandably, VERY popular with locals and visitors.
Need table and bar staff who wait around for a snap of the fingers so they can serve. Then you’d be at the wrong place? The Leroy clan – three brothers, mom, dad and daughter-in-law, Caroline – work hard to ensure Toile Blanche runs with precision. Therefore, during the high season, when we visit, their hanging-about time is zero. That’s not to the service struggles. Somehow, they pull it off, with aplomb.
Oh, and if you want free coffee and tea in the morning, sign up for a Waitrose loyalty card (this applies to the UK; don’t know what the rest of the world has). Morning beverages are served with fresh fruit, cheese and baked-goods breakfast on the veranda overlooking the pool.

Ok, this review is almost as long as our stays. I’ll finish by saying that my favorite thing about Toile Blanche is that it is owned by interesting people who care about, and know what, they’re doing. This explains why legions of loyal patrons are delighted to visit year-on-end, and even consider Toile Blanche their home in southern France.

Room Tip: The only bad room is no room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 5 days at the Toile Blanche in early June and loved it. Caroline, daughter-in-law of the owner, Danny, was absolutely delightful and couldn't have made us feel more welcome. It was more like a home from home than a hotel and the garden/pool area was lovely and very relaxing. The breakfasts on the terrace were simple but delicious, with freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit and croissants. There was no chef at the time we were there which was the only negative as we would have enjoyed eating there in the evening. It is a strenuous 20 minute walk up a steep road into St Paul-not for the faint-hearted and an expensive taxi ride back-18-20 Euros for a 5 minute trip! We would certainly stay there again but only if the chef was in residence.
The bedroom was lovely, with a terrace to sit on and enjoy the peace and views. Well worth a stay.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

An idyllic getaway, full of modern charm. A homely, family run, cool oasis in the Cote d'Azur. The art, the pool, the food, the owners... all really very good indeed.

We will definitely be back should we be in the area, and would highly recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace. The view with a cool drink, during sunset is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed for a week - we had holidayed in Nice many times but this was our first experience in the Alpes Maritimes. We found the hotel and location excellent, the famille Leroy gracious and interesting hosts. Thanks to Caroline and all the family - we shall visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in July 2012 and had a fantastic time - I can't fault it

-very friendly hosts, charming and helpful
-wonderful room with good views over pool.
-nice pool
-short walk into St Paul de Vence, though be warned its steep and not that pretty up a dusty track.
-delicious supper.

The whole atmosphere was perfect - a boutique hotel with a friendly feel. I would recommend to anyone wanting a weekend break, especially as a short drive from Nice. The lack of facilities might limit you to 2 nights, but do visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Paul-de-Vence, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel on the recommendation of our friends. I have to say, it far exceeded even their glowing description. The service is the best we have ever experienced - run by a family (3 brothers and their wife/sister-in-law) of contemporary artists, they could not have made us feel more welcome. They opened the restaurant for us to dine out of season and the food was some of the best we have eaten, surpassing even the best of local restaurants. It was so beautifully presented it was almost too good to eat - trully works of art!

The room was perfectly suited to our needs. Each of the rooms is unique in its own way. We were in Room 1 which was lovely - large room and beautiful bathroom with a rain shower over the bath, and views of the garden and swimming pool, looking out to the hills.

Our stay could not have been more relaxing and we cannot speak highly enough of Toile Blanche. Perfectly situated to visit all of the Cote D'Azur.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toile Blanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toile Blanche

Address: 826, chemin de Pounchouniere, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1890 and renovated in 2003, Toile Blanche is located on one of the hills surrounding the picturesque village of St Paul. Pure lines, warm colours, old elements left intact, lighting and fabrics all perfectly illustrate how contemporary trends can be integrated in old manor house to create a luxury boutique hotel. Art is an important part of this chic retreat's make up and can be viewed throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Toile Blanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toile Blanche Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toile Blanche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.