We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas de Pierre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mas de Pierre Hotel to your Saves list
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route des Serres, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here last summer and it is true it is not a hotel for children but they are more than welcome. We did not experience the negative looks, even when the baby was crying. And the staff could not do enough to help us, switching to English whenever we wanted even though we tried to speak French to them. The only reason I did not rate this hotel as five stars is the road to the hotel which scared me a lot. It is quite narrow and everyone drives very quickly on it so you cannot walk anywhere. The staff are happy to drive you where you like for free but even then my heart was always in my mouth going round bends. If you could lift this hotel and gorgeous grounds and put it on a slightly wider road I'd be re-booking without question this year.

Room Tip: All the buildings seem to face the pool so there probably isn't a bad room to be in. You just ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    79
    28
    17
    5
See reviews for
37
183
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are looking a peaceful setting and somewhere to get away from it all this is the place for you. If you want bars cafes galore it is not.
The hotel sits at the top of a hill with tranquil views of the countryside.
We arrived at the nearest train station- Cagnes sur Mer and the concierge kindly collected us.
Our room was beautifully furnished in a shabby chic style very clean with both bath and seperate powerful shower. We were fortunate the weather was mild enough to sit out on the balcony .Tea and coffee making facilities would have added to our enjoyment.
Contrary to other reports we found the staff to be extremely helpful and welcoming.Both dinner and breakfast were very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Wonderful Hugh gardens with objects of art, greenhouses and herb gardens all creating a very welcoming atmosphere that we have not experienced in the same way anywhere else. Rooms are in Provençal warm style. Staff is better than at many other nice hotels in France. They have natural charm, warmth and are still professional. Food and wine were uncomplicated but very good. The grilled white fish was among the best we ever had. The only downside with the hotel is that it is not by the sea. However it is very close to the Nice airport (15-20 min by taxi).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing stay at Le Mas de Pierre over the weekend. The hotel is beautiful, decorated in a French country-villa style, in a magnificent setting. We had a beautiful large room with a balcony overlooking Provence. There is a lovely lounge / bar area that's decorated like a grand living room, with a fireplace, leather wing-back chairs, books... Etc. We ended two of our nights curled up with books in front of the fire place with wine or tea. The service was exceptional and very friendly. Check in was easy and friendly, and every request of ours was met with a smile. The hotel offers a drop off and pick up service in town that was easy to use. I generally prefer to stay in hotels that are right in town, but I didn't feel disadvantaged at all... In fact, we loved it even more because the setting was so romantic and quiet, and it is an easy walk into town if one prefers (we did it once). We highly recommend this hotel, and will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a wonderful albeit brief stay at this charming hotel about 1.5 km from the old village. Great rooms and grounds, and the view from our room towards Provence were magical.

The staff were very courteous and efficient and most pleasant to us on every occasion. This hotel is not for people looking for cheap stays with children, it is more suited to couples young and old who will appreciate the romance and the ambiance of the place.

Nous reviendrons bientot !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow what a location, stunning gardens complete with the waft of lavender and lovely poolside location. Indeed the rooms are clean and reasonably appointed, certainly on the small side but understood as its a new build imitation (well finished though). So these are the good bits! But wow, the staff are non attentive, verging on rude with more than a wave of arrogance! This really spoiled our experience. The hotel accepts children which is super, but its not the place for them! There truly is nothing for them and at the pool any noise is met with negative glances. The menu is good but very small and outrageously expensive! But you are stuck there literally so options are limited. For anyone staying longer than 3 nights, the menu becomes dull quickly. But on plus side, Sunday brunch is lovely!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is designed grate. It's perfect furnished end decorated. I was with my family for seven days. On the first day, I saw that the child have no entertainment except in the outdoor pool. You need to look at what the weather is before you leave, because there is no indoor pool. In this hotel you fill that your rented vacation house. But the service is very poor, especially in the restaurant. These people don't know what they are doing there.
A word of advice do not take breakfast because it is very poor for the price. Maybe now everyone can enter in the Relais & Chateaux. But, the location is perfect.
The last, I like Le Mas de Pierre, but the service in the restaurant is terrible.

Room Tip: Do not take breakfast because it is very poor for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas de Pierre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Pierre Hotel

Address: Route des Serres, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#3 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#4 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Mas de Pierre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Mas de Pierre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas De Pierre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas de Pierre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.