We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maeght Foundation

Maeght Foundation
623, chemin des Gardettes | 06570, St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

If you happen to be in the South of France this is a must do ...not to be missed.
Foundation Maeght, has a collection of modern art, that is not to be believed! Miro, Calder, Chagall, Picasso, Matisse, Moore, Giacometti... Not just one or two but countless works of art, in the most beautiful surroundings.
The Maeght Foundation is a museum of modern art situated in Saint-Paul de Vence in the south of France. Founded in 1964 it houses paintings, sculptures, collages, ceramics and all forms of modern art. The collection includes works by many important 20th century artist.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Save your money and go straight to the Village”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was extremely disappointed in the Maeght Foundation, the dated building (architecture) and the total lack of interesting art inside the building. Your money and time are better spend going directly into Saint Paul de Vence. And I found the staff unfriendly. They have some nerve charging 15€ entrance.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No women artists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fabulously well-curated exhibition of the conflict between art, its purpose and philosophy (Les Aventures de la Verité) with some great paintings and sculptures from legendary artists. Made modern art exciting. However, not a single female artist was included which is pretty outrageous. Also very expensive to get in (15 Euros I think). So I have marked down the attraction. Worth though spending a couple of hours at least looking in depth at the art and the nonsense that the curator has written - at times felt the description of the conflict preceeded selection of the art work and anything (though great) was thrown in. Did it make sense? I don't know.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you know you'll love the art on display”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The day I visited, this very expensive museum was showing no art of interest to me. Before you go, find out what's on exhibit to be sure you want to pay the steep price of admission. I suggest you pass on coffee in the cafe. The lovely garden was the highlight for us. We also enjoyed looking at art books in the library, but then that's possible in most public libraries.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice collection; insanely overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The collection is wonderful and takes the visitor inside and out. Admission is so overpriced and they ask you pay 5E extra to take photos! I think it is too pricey to take young children.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maeght Foundation also viewed

St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
St-Paul-de-Vence, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Maeght Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maeght Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.