We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa St Maxime

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St-Paul-de-Vence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa St Maxime
Save
You added Villa St Maxime to your Saves list
390 Route de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent a wonderful 5 days here recently. Prior to our arrival I had been communicating with Ann frequently via email and she was incredibly helpful. Our flight arrived in Nice too late for the bus so they organised a cab to pick us up.
The hotel is small but lovely. We stayed 2 nights in Room 5 , which was fine, but the last 3 nights we were able to upgrade to Room 3 with a fantastic view of the old town and the sea and a wonderful balcony. I could see the sea from our bed - it was lovely.
The whole atmosphere at the Villa is so lovely, from the fabulous breakfasts - champagne included - to pre-dinner drinks on the balcony ( all free) and post-dinner drinks (again included) The hosts, John and Ann, are very convivial and charming and it was a pleasure spending time there.
Little touches, like free calls to UK, and US landlines, and the honesty bar where you can help yourself to drinks - make this a very special place.
We didn't have a car so walked to the town which only took 10 minutes - although it was a bit steep and you have to cross the main road - but easily doable. The bus service is very reliable and the bus stop is right outside the hotel.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
121
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Our reservation was handled efficiently and all communications between the time of our booking and arrival were courteous, prompt and efficient. The welcome was warm and hospitality generous, the hotel and the treatment are exceptional - comfortable, spotless and an art in itself. It enjoys beautiful views of Saint Paul, is airy, clean and clearly well-maintained. The hosts, Anne and John are very friendly (but not intrusive), supportive and very helpful. All we need is an opportunity or excuse to return

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This review is long overdue due to holidays and moving after our last trip to France. We stayed at John and Ann's beautiful Villa St. Maxime for the second time last September. On that trip we decided to start our trip on the Cote D'Azur and this is the best place to recover from long trip and it's a great base of operations. John and Anne are wonderful hosts. John has some great stories and he will admit that some of them may actually be true.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We spent 5 nights here in mid-May, and can only agree with the wonderful reviews. The location is excellent, it is just outside of (claustrophobic) St-Paul and a good base for touring the French Riviera. Our room (Max5) was relatively small - no sitting area / not much of a view - but there was plenty of room in the living area, spread out over 3 levels, with sofas and an ample supply of art books and guide books. We look forward to coming back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had stayed at the Villa St Maxime with friends some years ago. This year I returned with my husband. It was just as lovely and perfect as I remember it. This time we stayed in the St Maxime suite and our room and sitting area were immaculate with views over the countryside from every window. The interior of the villa is so lovely with different personal touches. John and Ann are wonderful hosts and are always so helpful and informative about the area, it makes the holiday so much better. Champagne on the terrace in the evening as the sun goes down and breakfast sitting on the terrace overlooking the hills, what more could you want.
Thanks to Laura who served breakfast and Tilly who serviced our room.
The villa is very close to St paul de Vence, which is just as described in the guide books and the town of Vence itself is approx 7 mins by local bus, and has a lovely old enclosed historic part of town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This small hotel deserves all the praise it gets. Charming hosts, perfectly positioned, beautifully decorated and maintained, what more could anyone want. Lots of small touches that made us feel very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We were treated so warmly by Ann and John the owners of the hotel. It truly has the feeling of someone's home. The setting is wonderful, the views beautiful, the rooms clean, large and well equipped. Ann and John were very helpful with restaurant suggestions and places to see in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa St Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St Maxime

Address: 390 Route de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa St. Maxime was designed and built as an intimate, luxury Hotel - Villa d'Hotes. The Villa is a short walk from the village of St Paul and also the famous Maeght Foundation. The Villa is very much a modern work of art itself: it is constructed of albinic Provencal stone sculpted in bold sweeping lines. The Villa enjoys an airy modern feel, while retaining a comfortable and intimate ambience, with great views of the village and the sea. The suites and rooms have luxury appointments, ensuite facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa St Maxime Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
Hotel St Maxime
St Maxime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa St Maxime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.