We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay - rain or shine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa St Maxime

Save Saved
You added Villa St Maxime to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa St Maxime
390 Route de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
July / August Special
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Leesburg, va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must stay - rain or shine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from our late May 2013 trip to France. Everywhere in France the weather was unusually rainy and chilly - thus one should assume we had a less than enjoyable time. Not so! We stayed at Villa St. Maxime in St. Paul de Vence. Ann and John are wonderful owner/hosts and the property is charming - rain or shine! Villa St. Maxime is a small bed and breakfast attracting an eclectic friendly group of guests who gather each evening for cocktails and chat about the days events. The property is very clean and all rooms are a good value especially for the Cote d'Azure. Views from the terrace are beautiful and weather permitting breakfast and cocktails are served on the terrace. Be sure to watch and then participate in the ceremony "Chevalier du Champagne Sabre" opening a champagne bottle with a sabre - great fun and if successful you'll come home with a certificate!

Room Tip: Room with sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
114
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have stayed in 5 star hotels that were no where near as good as the Villa. Had the Villa suite that was truly magnificent decorated beautifully by Ann who has great taste.
John and Ann are great hosts with champagne breakfast if you want (my wife and I don't like champagne) on the terrace with the most wonderful views. Evening aperitifs in lounge or terrace are part of the deal and help guests get to know one another.
If there is a downside to the villa it's the steep drive from the road to the main gate. If you arrive by bus with a big case, be aware but you will be glad you made the effort when you get there. We will return here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Any one. Speak to Ann to find the theme in each room and make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to the South of France to celebrate my husband's birthday. Staying at Villa St. Maxime was the highlight of our trip. Ann and John are the perfect hosts, they are professional, helpful , friendly and welcoming. On the day of my husband's birthday they left roses and a lovely bottle of Rose for us to enjoy. They went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and well taken care of, including the wonderful drinks on the gorgeous terrace each night with the other guests and Ann and John. The breakfast each morning again on the terrace is delicious with views of St. Paul de Vence that are incredible.
We stayed in the St. Maxime Suite which is spacious and beautifully appointed. Actually the entire property is gorgeous and beautifully decorated and landscaped.
We can not wait to return for our next celebration to Villa St. Maxime.

Room Tip: The St. Maxime Suite is gorgeous with beautiful views and is so spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Villa St Maxim. John is a wonderful host. Villa has the best location for exploring the area and in the evening to be able to walk 5 minutes to the magical Saint-Paul Vence was a trite. John recommended restaurants to us and made a booking on or behalf. Our room was wonderful, very clean, bright and comfortable with amazing views of the sea and valley. Villa is beautifully furnished and original sculptures are on display both in the house and in the very well maintained garden. It seems that owners have thought about every possible need they guests might have. We were offered free wine, we enjoyed chatting with John and when we returned in the evening, after a meal, there was mineral water available next to the house entrance so we could take it with us to the room. I cannot imagine wanting to stay elsewhere when visiting Saint-Paul de Vence again.

Room Tip: We stayed at No 2 and it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our 4th time in St Paul de Vence and we finally were able to get a room at Villa St Maxime...and we will never stay anywhere else again!!! Ann and John are the most welcoming accommodating hosts and make you feel welcome immediately. As a matter of fact, Ann was helping me long before we even arrived by making dinner reservations and helping me with logistics. Our room was wonderful...had a little ante room with a mini fridge and our bed was super comfortable. Bonus was the little patio that led right to the backyard and pool area. We loved the views of the nearby town - it is so close you can walk to it in 5 minutes time. The breakfasts are amazing - eggs to order, bottomless mimosas and pastries...also, every day in the afternoon, guests gather for happy hour and the wine flows freely (and for free!). Another added bonus is Free parking !!! Don't hesitate...book it now!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights on our honeymoon, before traveling to other regions. The villa was lovely, clean, quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the SeaView Suite. It was well appointed, with a comfortable bed, a place to make coffee, and a lovely terrace with a magnificent view. As honeymooners, we were a little bit in our own world, and found the location to be a wonderful base for our daily trips to other beautiful towns and villages, such as Eze and Tourettes Sur Loup. We spent a wonderful day in Nice taking a cooking class which included a trip to the market. Ann and John were very helpful, and Ann went out of her way to make dinner reservations at a couple of very nice places in the area. She even put beautiful fresh flowers in our room to celebrate our honeymoon. My husband and I are foodies, and we were in the right place to indulge. It was wonderful because despite all of the rich food and wonderful bread and pastries of the region, I managed to lose a couple of pounds by the end of the trip because of all the walking we did. Of course, It is without question that we would recommend this lovely villa to anyone who wants to relax, unwind, and forget about work for awhile.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were clean, and well maintained. We felt complete respepect for our privacy and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I visited VSM one weekend in October 2012. We arrived very late on the Friday night and Ann was most accommodating with our lateness. Our first night was spent in a bedroom downstairs, which was well appointed but did not have a view. We moved to one of the upstairs bedrooms for the next 2 nights; the view of the see and the village was amazing. The room had also a big balcony with table and chairs. A very generous breakfast was served on the terrace in the morning. The village is only a 10 min walk away (thought 5 min are alongside a busy road) and has many excellent restaurants; we ate in the village every night after the (free) copious aperitif at the villa (it was great for be joined by Ann and John during that aperitif). We were busy touring during the day, which is a bit of a shame in a sense as we did not get to try the pool, which must be 18-20 m long. Wish we had stayed a couple more days!
The only slight issue we had was the lack of channels on the TV.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a see view (the one in the middle, No 6 I believe, is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa St Maxime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St Maxime

Address: 390 Route de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa St. Maxime was designed and built as an intimate, luxury Hotel - Villa d'Hotes. The Villa is a short walk from the village of St Paul and also the famous Maeght Foundation. The Villa is very much a modern work of art itself: it is constructed of albinic Provencal stone sculpted in bold sweeping lines. The Villa enjoys an airy modern feel, while retaining a comfortable and intimate ambience, with great views of the village and the sea. The suites and rooms have luxury appointments, ensuite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Villa St Maxime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa St Maxime Hotel St-Paul-De-Vence
Hotel St Maxime
St Maxime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa St Maxime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.